The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2019, 08:32 AM
h3xlay h3xlay is offline
Registered User
h3xlay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021138
h3xlay Reputation: 10
Sad h115i pro fans can not be controlled

Hello,
So i have recently purchased Maximus XI hero and re-built everything there and only problem i encounter is that fans can not be controlled from iCUE software.

Setup is like this:
  • Pump is connected to AIO_Pump
  • Fans are connected to splitter and splitter to pump
  • USB Controller is connected to USB_E12

Everything shows up in iCUE, pump can be controlled however fans can not be, one is stuck at 1150ish rpm (max speed, -10% fans), one is stuck at 700ish rpm... any solutions?

P.S I know this has beed several times, but i've read every of them and still unable to make it work

P.S 2 Previously i had z370 gaming pro carbon and it was working just fine with same setup

P.S 3 I have tried to connect AIO to CPU_FAN, but it's same...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:02 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,410
POST ID # = 1021140
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Swap the fans on the H115i fan connectors or just unplug and re-plug them. Most of the time this is a bad read on the tachometer wire, but we'll see. MB header for the for H115i is irrelevant. As long as the device is showing in iCUE, you should have control.

700 rpm is more likely the proper speed for the current temp and it is the maxed out one that is stuck. That would be reason to swap the two connectors. What happens? Does Fan 1 stay maxed out? Or does the other one now max out?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:14 AM
h3xlay h3xlay is offline
Registered User
h3xlay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021144
h3xlay Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Swap the fans on the H115i fan connectors or just unplug and re-plug them. Most of the time this is a bad read on the tachometer wire, but we'll see. MB header for the for H115i is irrelevant. As long as the device is showing in iCUE, you should have control.

700 rpm is more likely the proper speed for the current temp and it is the maxed out one that is stuck. That would be reason to swap the two connectors. What happens? Does Fan 1 stay maxed out? Or does the other one now max out?
I did swap it on splitter, but always #2 fan is maxed out and #1 is on 700
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:17 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,410
POST ID # = 1021145
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Possible the PWM or tach pin on that connector has broken, is damaged, etc. The immediate quick fix is to take a 2 way PWM splitter (that's 1x4 pin and 1x3 pin) and run it from the one working header. You can contact Corsair support and theoretically RMA the cooler, although I am not sure I would for this issue. There is no real reason to need/use independent control over the two fans. You generally always run them the same speed. I would see if this make it usable again and save the more tedious full replacement for a larger issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:19 AM
h3xlay h3xlay is offline
Registered User
h3xlay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021146
h3xlay Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Possible the PWM or tach pin on that connector has broken, is damaged, etc. The immediate quick fix is to take a 2 way PWM splitter (that's 1x4 pin and 1x3 pin) and run it from the one working header. You can contact Corsair support and theoretically RMA the cooler, although I am not sure I would for this issue. There is no real reason to need/use independent control over the two fans. You generally always run them the same speed. I would see if this make it usable again and save the more tedious full replacement for a larger issue.
I don't live in US, so i can't really RMA for any of reason so, if i can fix it without it, would be fine
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2019, 09:45 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,410
POST ID # = 1021150
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Any PWM splitter should work from the one functioning header, presumably the 700 rpm one. In a disaster state, you can move the fans to the motherboard for speed/power and use whatever BIOS options are available for control. That usually results in extra fan speed changes since you can'tr access coolant temp as a control variable, but it does work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:12 AM
h3xlay h3xlay is offline
Registered User
h3xlay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021153
h3xlay Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Any PWM splitter should work from the one functioning header, presumably the 700 rpm one. In a disaster state, you can move the fans to the motherboard for speed/power and use whatever BIOS options are available for control. That usually results in extra fan speed changes since you can'tr access coolant temp as a control variable, but it does work.
Very strange thing is... i just tested with a game and fan bumped to 1200 rpm, well, to be specific it was like my previous fan curve was somehow saved, because it followed my fan curve before re-installing windows... maybe i am wrong about curve thing, but it definitely bumped to 1200 rpm as water temp got higher and my previous curve (i know that for sure) was based on water temp... Well, it still can not be controlled tho, but as long as one fan is at max and one just bumps on right time... i guess not that bad? also temps were similar, 1-2c higher maybe, can't say
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-13-2019, 10:16 AM
h3xlay h3xlay is offline
Registered User
h3xlay's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1021154
h3xlay Reputation: 10
Default

Just went and Custom preset with 100% fan speed is working on #1 fan... however Extreme, Balance, Quiet does not do anything... on #2 fan nothing works, it is just 100%
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2019, 04:54 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,410
POST ID # = 1021186
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You may not get an immediate fan speed change between the 3 presets at lower coolant temperatures. The steepness of the curve is more evident later. Regardless, if you are trying to determine if you have fan control, use the two fixed options in any custom curve. Take note if Fixed RPM does not work, but Fixed % does. That probably tells you which wire is the break in the circuit.

However, if does seem clear Fan connector #2 has an issue. It's probably a bend in the wire near the connector head any you might get a response if you jiggle it. I don't consider that a fix and I do recommend getting a cheap 2 way PWM splitter to run off Fan 1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.