The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2019, 04:43 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,457
POST ID # = 1018725
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default iCUE v3.20.80 Patch Notes

Hi everyone,

Sorry I did not get a chance to publish the 3.19 Patch notes. However. I have combined them with the 3.20.80 Patch Notes. Please see below:

iCUE v3.20.80 Patch Notes:
  • Resolved flickering of Hydro Series Platinum coolers on certain AMD Platforms*

  • Changed DPI color from Cyan to Capri for all mice for consistency

  • Resolved issue with layers not appearing under Lighting Effects for Dark Core/SE

  • Resolved an issue with Lighting Node Pro, Vengeance RGB PRO, Dominator RGB DRAM, and Commander Pro not appearing after system wake from sleep

  • Enhanced the status indicator to show wireless status while iCUE is enabled for K57 RGB Wireless

  • Resolved an issue with applying EQ presets, Mic Settings, and Surround Sound for ST100

  • Resolved an issue with Lighting Effects improperly playing on ST100

  • Resolved an issue with RGB DRAM detection on certain AMD chipsets (X399 and X570)

  • Resolved an issue with Lighting Effects improperly playing on ST100

  • Audio driver has been updated to resolve certain issues with audio distortion

  • Resolved an issue with Notifications for DRAM not properly displaying the LED color across all devices

  • Resolved an issue with DRAM lighting playback after system wake from sleep on certain platforms

  • Resolved an issue with DRAM losing sensor assignments

  • Rainbow Channel has been added as a lighting effect for HW Playback for fans and strips. This is the default effect for LL fans that many have asked for

  • Clarified pairing message for Slipstream Wireless Mice

  • Resolved an issue with Korean layouts for certain keyboards

  • GameSDK now supports Blair Witch game by Bloober Team

  • Resolved various other minor bugs and issues
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue

Last edited by Corsair James; 09-19-2019 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2019, 04:54 PM
Andeeh Andeeh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1018727
Andeeh Reputation: 10
Default

No mention if the CPU issues in this thread have been fixed or not?: https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=189897

Guess it's up to us to test it......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2019, 05:34 PM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1018732
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

I've just tested Hitman 2 with the just released 3.20.80 and the stuttering has gone, at least in the quick testing I've just done. Perhaps others can verify it's fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2019, 06:06 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,343
POST ID # = 1018737
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

It appears to have been fixed. I just finished 10 consecutive runs of Time Spy 12 (CPU only) and the scores are fantastically precise. Quitting iCUE gets you another token 50-75 points, but that is normal for any monitoring software and benchmarks. This is dramatically different than the -30% and fluctuating scores on 3.19. Looks like it's good to go, although we have to talk about this Capri vs Cyan thing. Nobody likes being blindsided like that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2019, 06:51 PM
rascaluk rascaluk is offline
Registered User
rascaluk's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1018750
rascaluk Reputation: 10
Default

"Resolved various other minor bugs and issues" - wow, bit of an understatement. Why has the widely discussed CPU/Interrupt issue not been explicitly called out as fixed, nor any comment from Corsair been added to that thread to say so. Even when there's good news, they don't communicate it properly. That said, great to see it resolved...think I'll hold off installing 3.20 for a few days though...no faith in these releases anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2019, 07:27 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,457
POST ID # = 1018756
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andeeh View Post
No mention if the CPU issues in this thread have been fixed or not?: https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=189897

Guess it's up to us to test it......
The only CPU issue we see is when DRAM has software lighting enabled. This does cause the CPU usage to increase. To resolve this, we've done two things:

1.) We deployed a new driver to control DRAM lighting in iCUE v3.19. This will pave the way to manage the lighting on the modules to be much more efficient.

2.) We are currently working on a new firmware for Vengeance RGB PRO and Dominator RGB to take advantage of this new driver. Once we are ready to deploy, we should be able to significantly reduce the CPU overhead.

In the meantime, if users feel their CPU usage is too high (avg 10-20% depending on CPU), then we recommend to disable software control for DRAM until our new driver is ready.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2019, 07:57 PM
cars10 cars10 is offline
Registered User
cars10's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 67
POST ID # = 1018766
cars10 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andeeh View Post
No mention if the CPU issues in this thread have been fixed or not?: https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=189897

Guess it's up to us to test it......
lol, must have been one of the "minor" bugs and issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The only CPU issue we see

only? this was a huge issue which caused many of us TONS of time, stress, and windows reinstalls

I don't get how you're taking this so lightly. The absolute LEAST you can do is mention it in the patch notes so people still out of the loop don't have to go digging through the forums
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2019, 07:58 PM
Aliti_308 Aliti_308 is offline
Registered User
Aliti_308's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 82
POST ID # = 1018767
Aliti_308 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the update guys.

On this one:

*Resolved an issue with Lighting Effects improperly playing on ST100

Are there any specific details on this one? Since the second last update, not sure what version number it was, my ST 100 stopped all lighting affects when iCue was not running in the background.

It would randomly trigger lightning affects when opening and closing certain applications but then turn off completely. Lighting affects would only work when iCue ran in the back ground.

Would this fix resolve that issue?


I won't know for another 12 hours :)

Cheers

Last edited by Aliti_308; 09-19-2019 at 08:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-19-2019, 07:59 PM
Aliti_308 Aliti_308 is offline
Registered User
Aliti_308's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 82
POST ID # = 1018768
Aliti_308 Reputation: 10
Default

Also...


*Rainbow Channel has been added as a lighting effect for HW Playback for fans and strips. This is the default effect for LL fans that many have asked for



Is this the unicorn barf rainbow affect? Please say yes :)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-19-2019, 09:24 PM
Robbie_Jardine Robbie_Jardine is offline
Registered User
Robbie_Jardine's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 1018779
Robbie_Jardine Reputation: 10
Default

As soon as this patch was installed my CPU issue was resolved and now Core 1 is back to its normal speed and overall speed is no longer spiking at 4.90GHz on my Core i9-9900K
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-19-2019, 10:16 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
I Fight For The Users
Dicehunter's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 441
POST ID # = 1018782
Dicehunter Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The only CPU issue we see is when DRAM has software lighting enabled.
Not to sound ungrateful about the update as it did resolve the issue but there's a 14 page thread about the CPU issue, Many turned off the DRAM lighting control option and still had it including myself, I had to downgrade to an older version of iCUE to remedy it.
__________________

Last edited by Dicehunter; 09-19-2019 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-20-2019, 12:46 AM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1018793
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The only CPU issue we see is when DRAM has software lighting enabled. This does cause the CPU usage to increase. To resolve this, we've done two things:

1.) We deployed a new driver to control DRAM lighting in iCUE v3.19. This will pave the way to manage the lighting on the modules to be much more efficient.

2.) We are currently working on a new firmware for Vengeance RGB PRO and Dominator RGB to take advantage of this new driver. Once we are ready to deploy, we should be able to significantly reduce the CPU overhead.

In the meantime, if users feel their CPU usage is too high (avg 10-20% depending on CPU), then we recommend to disable software control for DRAM until our new driver is ready.
I only have the Corsair Vengeance LED memory but still got the stuttering.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-20-2019, 11:36 AM
thestu thestu is offline
Registered User
thestu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 1018838
thestu Reputation: 25
Default

Rainbow Channel has been added as a lighting effect for HW Playback for fans and strips. This is the default effect for LL fans that many have asked for

Yeah!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-20-2019, 03:53 PM
BlaiseP's Avatar
BlaiseP BlaiseP is offline
Registered User
BlaiseP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 193
POST ID # = 1018854
BlaiseP Reputation: 35
Default

Thanks for updating James and yes, my "CPU0 pinned at 100%" is resolved and the CPU clocks down as expected.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-20-2019, 10:11 PM
xJ3ST3R xJ3ST3R is offline
Registered User
xJ3ST3R's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1018876
xJ3ST3R Reputation: 10
Default

Great patch! Thanks for the diligent efforts to resolve the issues many of us reported.

I did my own testing and can confirm a lot of the issues that I personally saw are now resolved!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.