The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2019, 04:41 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022255
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Services and or ICue is freezing my PC every 10 minutes.

Corsair Services and or ICue is freezing my PC every 10 minutes.

When does this happen
-------------------------------------
-When I am play CSGO

CPU usage is around 20-30% when this happens (100% on 1 core)
GPU usage is around 30-50%

Seems to happen a lot more if ICue is open but even when closed (Corsair service still throws errors and freezes my PC)

What Happens
------------------------
- CPU spikes on all 8 cores (Appears to be deadlocking)
- PCI Express Root Port Crashes, causing GPU to do bad things (WHEA errors are most common when CPU based errors are happening)
- ALL USB devices disconnect and reconnect - Takes 5 seconds (Play a competitive shooter and not having mouse or keyboard for 5 seconds is TILTING)
- Game crashes some times


System
-------------

Ryzen 3700x
RTX 2070 Super
CORSAIR VENGEANCE RGB PRO 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz
ASUS x570 Prime PRO
Commander Pro
Hydro Series™ H150i PRO RGB 360mm Liquid CPU Cooler
RM850x, 850 Watt, Fully Modular Power Supply
6 LL120 mm Fans


Logs
-------

CorsairLink4.Module.ProDevices.Common.Exceptions.ProDeviceException: No response ---> System.TimeoutException: Operation timed out.

What I Think is happening
---------------------------------------

It appears that the Corsair Service losses connection to the commander pro (Ryzen 3 polling rates could be to blame) and fails hard and does NOT properly catch exceptions and crashes Corsair services and deadlocks the CPU, which causes all kinds of issues.

THIS MAKES MY GAMING COMPUTER 100% UNUSABLE.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2019, 04:50 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,566
POST ID # = 1022256
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You've left off what version of the software you are running.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2019, 06:28 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022264
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default

Software Version
--------------------------

CORSAIR iCUE v3.21.88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2019, 07:01 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,566
POST ID # = 1022271
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

OK. That condition was widely reported on 3.19.xx, but not since and obviously there are other Ryzen 3000 series users out there. Try a repair installation from the Settings menu. Hopefully this is not a resurgence.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2019, 07:47 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022275
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default

I have done that many times with no success. This issue has been happening since I completed the build about 7 weeks ago.

Will try again tonight by removing the software completely then doing a fresh install.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2019, 12:17 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,804
POST ID # = 1022287
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You wouldn't happen to be running any other monitoring tools, specifically HWInfo, would you? Have you ever run HWInfo and installed the persistent driver?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2019, 01:41 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022320
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default

I do now in effort to debug this issue but this was happening before.

Completely uninstalled and reinstalled Corsair software and this problem is still here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2019, 05:10 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022579
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default

I'm not sure anymore this is an actual Corsair Software issue and now thinking its a Corsair Hardware issue.

I have completely uninstalled ICue and all Corsair software and the problem continues.

Running fans and cooler with defaults.

It appears that the commander pro is still disconnecting in moments of high cpu load while gaming. This in turn is causing issues with the device manager that appears to be causing the freezing and hanging due to the commander pro hardware issues.

*Also the usb ports on the commander pro do not work.

Last edited by Gilgamensch; 10-28-2019 at 05:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2019, 09:47 PM
deno1000 deno1000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1022599
deno1000 Reputation: 10
Default

I have same problem PC freeze every 10min...I instal 3.15.101 version and again freeze..I think this is firmware problem not software..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2019, 02:31 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022638
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default

I may have found the under lying issue, need to test more under heavy load.

I used a port monitor to verify that it was the Commander Pro disconnecting that was the issue and not just a symptom. (As my entire system would become unstable when this happened)


ROOT CAUSE
-----------------------

https://support.microsoft.com/en-ph/...-devices-conne

All my usb devices were under 1 root hub (That's why when the commander pro became unstable it would crash the root hub all devices under it)

My guess is that the Commander Pro drivers dont play nicely if it is not the solo device under the Root Hub as for the reasons mentioned in the Microsoft link.

Why are multiple USB devices getting tossed under the same Root Hub? I have no idea. If I had to guess i would say it is a chip-set driver issue. More specifically a USB driver issue.

*I will test more tonight as I was able to get the Commander Pro under it's own Root Hub
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-29-2019, 02:34 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,804
POST ID # = 1022640
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilgamensch View Post
I may have found the under lying issue, need to test more under heavy load.

I used a port monitor to verify that it was the Commander Pro disconnecting that was the issue and not just a symptom. (As my entire system would become unstable when this happened)


ROOT CAUSE
-----------------------

https://support.microsoft.com/en-ph/...-devices-conne

All my usb devices were under 1 root hub (That's why when the commander pro became unstable it would crash the root hub all devices under it)

My guess is that the Commander Pro drivers dont play nicely if it is not the solo device under the Root Hub as for the reasons mentioned in the Microsoft link.

Why are multiple USB devices getting tossed under the same Root Hub? I have no idea. If I had to guess i would say it is a chip-set driver issue. More specifically a USB driver issue.

*I will test more tonight as I was able to get the Commander Pro under it's own Root Hub
This is quite intriguing. Unfortunately, the link to Microsoft support is truncated. is there any way that you can post the portion of the URL after en-ph?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-29-2019, 02:46 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022642
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default

/help/968132/usb-devices-may-stop-functioning-correctly-when-multiple-devices-conne
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-30-2019, 12:55 PM
Gilgamensch Gilgamensch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 1022712
Gilgamensch Reputation: 10
Default Commander PRO still crashing

Ok, so after more testing the commander pro is still disconnecting but now it is just the commander pro disconnecting because it is the only device under that USB Root Hub.

The problem is 100% confirmed with the Commander Pro!

The device is responsive 99% of the time so this leads me to think this is a driver issue and not a hardware issue.

Not sure what the next steps are
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-06-2019, 03:07 PM
ShadyPyro ShadyPyro is offline
Registered User
ShadyPyro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1023254
ShadyPyro Reputation: 10
Default

its 10000% an issue with asus prime pro x570 and commander pro. I have the same issue. I have replaced the commander pro twice and the mobo once. The issue is also present in safe mode with nothing else on.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-07-2019, 05:52 AM
MrMetzka MrMetzka is offline
Registered User
MrMetzka's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1023303
MrMetzka Reputation: 10
Default

It may actually be the Asus Prime X570-Pro. I have this motherboard too and am experiencing random disconnects and reconnects with the Commander Pro, even after replacing the Commander Pro. When this happens, every device in that hub also goes offline and online.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.