The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2015, 10:40 AM
ThermaL-C ThermaL-C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 807233
ThermaL-C Reputation: 10
Default displaying wrong colors at times

I started having an issue where certain keys would change color on the keyboard to something they aren't set to, and it wouldn't show up on the utility engine. Sometimes the lights change to what they should be, sometimes they flicker to a different color. The color depends on the color they are set as.


The error keys are B, H, Y, 6, F6 and Page Up


Does this mean it's broken or is it a software/firmware problem? Both of them are up to date and I've already tried uninstalling the USB drivers from my computer and installing them again.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-17-2015, 12:52 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,305
POST ID # = 807297
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

do you have 16.8 mill colors enabled?
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-17-2015, 01:13 PM
ThermaL-C ThermaL-C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 807309
ThermaL-C Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zheren159 View Post
do you have 16.8 mill colors enabled?
No that's disabled cause I don't like the flicker
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-17-2015, 01:56 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,305
POST ID # = 807324
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThermaL-C View Post
No that's disabled cause I don't like the flicker
try clearing those keys and setting them to red again. If they still change colors i would contact Corsair Support and ask them to help you with a hard firmware flash.

whats odd is their all in a line and not randomly spread out.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-17-2015, 02:35 PM
ThermaL-C ThermaL-C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 807338
ThermaL-C Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zheren159 View Post
try clearing those keys and setting them to red again. If they still change colors i would contact Corsair Support and ask them to help you with a hard firmware flash.

whats odd is their all in a line and not randomly spread out.
The thing is, the same keys go across all profiles I have. I will contact support now.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-17-2015, 04:42 PM
MadIce MadIce is offline
Registered User
MadIce's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
POST ID # = 807378
MadIce Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThermaL-C View Post
The thing is, the same keys go across all profiles I have. I will contact support now.
That's a good idea.

I had the same problem with my K95 RGB. I sent it back and got a replacement. And now that replacement has the same issue. Different keys, though. I'm now waiting for the second replacement.

To make sure it is a hardware problem, create a new profile. Make all keys white. Do not use any other colors or effects. Save it to the device memory and make it the default profile.

You can then clearly see which keys have the problem. In time you will get more. If you tap the keys or shake the keyboard gently, some keys may or may not change their color.

It has been discussed before and we think it is a problem with bad soldering of the LEDs.

BTW: It doesn't matter if you have 16.8 million colors enabled or not. If it is a hardware problem then it will show up in both modes.

Last edited by MadIce; 09-17-2015 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-10-2016, 04:16 PM
frosted_fire frosted_fire is offline
Registered User
frosted_fire's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 841706
frosted_fire Reputation: 10
Default

Has there been any update on this? I can see the green LED of the RGB flickering, when it is set to only red. Is this a hardware issue?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-17-2016, 04:10 PM
sticker86 sticker86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 842905
sticker86 Reputation: 10
Default

I just posted a new thread with the same exact problem and same keys ! So the solution is to rma it? Do they offer 1 for 1 or we gotta wait.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-29-2016, 01:17 PM
frosted_fire frosted_fire is offline
Registered User
frosted_fire's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 844607
frosted_fire Reputation: 10
Default

I sent my keyboard back as well, will see what the outcome is
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-01-2016, 10:09 PM
tonioV tonioV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 845166
tonioV Reputation: 10
Default

for me its strike 3 for corsair, 3 keyboards all with thisproblem, 2 k70 rgb and 1 strafe rgb

too bad couse i really like the products but its just stupid who they can get the lights right without any problems
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-02-2016, 12:55 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,305
POST ID # = 845232
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonioV View Post
for me its strike 3 for corsair, 3 keyboards all with thisproblem, 2 k70 rgb and 1 strafe rgb

too bad couse i really like the products but its just stupid who they can get the lights right without any problems
its caused by a corrupted firmware, its not a hardware defect.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-03-2016, 12:16 AM
tonioV tonioV is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 845292
tonioV Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zheren159 View Post
its caused by a corrupted firmware, its not a hardware defect.
i have tried the hard reset in all of them without luck, any more suggestions? i still have 1 that presented this problem like 3 days ago and haven't returned it yet, all of them have the same problem like 2 months after purchase

1st edit: can i ask if you have a specific step by step i have followed all the steps and looks like the firmware was well updated, or maybe a different firmaware file to the one support sent me.

2nd edit: i just rescued my k70 a few minutes ago, the problem, at least for my unit, is dirt inside the keyboard, i assume it gets inside by the gaps in the spacebar and other exposed holes and cause an electrical problem, y removed the spacebar and blowed inside the gap between the plate and the circuit board and the problem went away, now all colors look like as they should

Last edited by tonioV; 04-03-2016 at 01:46 AM. Reason: adding
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-02-2016, 09:25 PM
crooked windows crooked windows is offline
Registered User
crooked windows's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: inside my case
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 873985
crooked windows Reputation: 10
Default f6 Page Up / 6 Y H B 1(keypad) http://forum.corsair.com/v3/images/smilies/

Keys : f6, Page Up, /, 6,Y,H,B and the 1 key on the number pad all display goofy colors to the rest as follows.: RED emits LIME (chosen from upper row of samples) LIME >LIME, BLUE >BLUE, YELLOW>YELLOW, PURPLE>BLUER , ORANGE>YELLOW , PINK>LILAC
I turned the KB on its face to get the serial numbers and when I sat it back up it was OK. I checked thru the software, changed the color profiles around and did a reboot, back to normal. since then it has gone duff again due to poor manufacturing and no QC it looks like. My 10 yo MS keyboard is still going and I have gone back to that. Nearly 300 dollars and was looking at buying their new low profile version lmao. they won't get another chance if this doesn't get fixed.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-04-2016, 02:09 PM
Corsair Henry's Avatar
Corsair Henry Corsair Henry is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Henry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,403
POST ID # = 874240
Corsair Henry Reputation: 14
Default

If you are having the wrong color LED displayed, first try creating a completely new profile. If that doesn't fix the issue, call into tech support we will assist you through a hard reset. This should fix it most of the time but if it doesn't it may need to be replaced.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-07-2016, 11:23 PM
deadrizen deadrizen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 874655
deadrizen Reputation: 10
Default

Hey my keyboard is having the same issue!
What is the fix?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
lighting, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.