The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2004, 07:28 AM
Korban182 Korban182 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 138468
Korban182 Reputation: 10
Default New XMS4000

Hi, I have a intel motherboard which forms part of the new system I have built "D875PBZLK Bonanza 875P "Canterwood" (Socket 478)" To start with I had installed a matched pair of 256mb XMS3200 DDR400 which work great I have to say. I wanted to fill the remaining two slots on the motherboard with two of the same to bring the total RAM up to 1024mb. However after picking up and buying the wrong speed units XMS4000 500Mhz can I install these will they lower thier speed to 400mhz to match the maxium the Intel board will support, do I risk damaging the RAM and/or the board by trying?

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:01 AM
CandyKid's Avatar
CandyKid CandyKid is offline
Registered User
CandyKid's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Duplex?
Posts: 4,595
POST ID # = 138478
CandyKid Reputation: 10
Default

Welcome to the forums, Korban182!

Yes, they'll underclock to match the 200MHz frequency.

However, they might not run very well with the other two modules... make sure you match them in slots 1/3 and 2/4 and you'll probably have to make sure the BIOS settings are 3-4-4-8.

PLUR
CK
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-19-2004, 09:19 AM
Korban182 Korban182 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 138482
Korban182 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks alot for your reply CK thats good news. Saves an arguement with the retailer. As long as I am not causing any damage thats good.

I have the first pair already set at slots 1/3 so I will put the new set in at 2/4 as you have suggested. Its the BIOS setting you have described which I do not understand does the "3-4-4-8" refer to latency? If so what does it mean by setting it up like this?

Thanks again

Korban
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-19-2004, 01:08 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 138537
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Use this as a refernece:
SDRAM CAS Latency:3T
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 4T
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 4T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 8T
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-20-2004, 11:00 AM
Korban182 Korban182 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 138745
Korban182 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks a lot for the help

Korban
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.