The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:18 PM
Nick754 Nick754 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 138186
Nick754 Reputation: 10
Question Best 2 gigs memory for MSI K8N Neo Platinum ?

I am about to buy a new motherboard, a Socket 754 based MSI K8N Neo Platinum. I would like to put 2 gigabytes of memory on this MB, but am not sure which Corsair memory modules I should use. I checked the MSI web site for compatible memory modules, but their documentation is a little old and doesn't show any tested Corsair chips that would give me this much memory. Which would be the safest memory modules for this purpose?
Would the Corsair TWIN2048-3200 2 X 1024MB BLACK TWINX be what I'm looking for? (I am planning on putting an AMD 3200+ CPU on this motherboard.) If I want to plan ahead and possibly put a faster CPU on this board (or overclock it) would this still be o.k., or should I use another memory modules?

Thanks in advance!

Nick
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-18-2004, 03:56 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 138326
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yes Twinx2048-3200 will be what you want to get with a socket 754 MB and just install them in slots 1-3 and set the Dim Voltage to 2.7 Volts and you should be good to go!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-18-2004, 04:50 PM
Nick754 Nick754 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 138349
Nick754 Reputation: 10
Default re: Best 2 gigs memory for MSI K8N Neo Platinum ?

Thanks RamGuy! That's what I'll go ahead and order.

Nick
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-18-2004, 05:24 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 138354
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

And just to be sure this is the socket 754 MB right? If so then your set! And please let me know if you have any questions!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-18-2004, 06:15 PM
Nick754 Nick754 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 138372
Nick754 Reputation: 10
Default re: Best 2 gigs memory for MSI K8N Neo Platinum ?

Yes, it is a socket 754 MB and processor.

Thanks again for your help!

Nick
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-21-2004, 07:54 PM
gbreezer80 gbreezer80 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 138928
gbreezer80 Reputation: 10
Default Can't set RAM voltage to 2.7!

You cannot change the voltage on the k8n neo as the ramguy suggests to 2.7. Only option in the bios is 2.5 or 3.0. I am having probs with my twinx 10243200c2 on this board - very unstable. I think the Corsair RAM sucks for this board!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:25 PM
Nick754 Nick754 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 138931
Nick754 Reputation: 10
Woah! re: Best 2 gigs memory for MSI K8N Neo Platinum ?

Thanks for the warning gbreezer80! The PDF manual for the motherboard that I downloaded from the MSI web site only mentioned that you can change the voltage, but didn't give any details.

The devil is certainly in the details!!!

Fortunately, I haven't placed my order yet as I'm still spec'ing out a few last items for my new system (trying to find a rackmount case with five 5.25" drive bays, at least two of which are horizontal).

Ram Guy, what say you to this?

Nick
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-21-2004, 10:18 PM
Nick754 Nick754 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 138939
Nick754 Reputation: 10
Question re:: Best 2 gigs memory for MSI K8N Neo Platinum ?

A follow-up to gbreezer80...

I have been browsing the http://forum.msi.com.tw threads on what memory works (and doesn't) with the MSI K8N Neo Platinum Motherboard and one of the posters mentioned specifically that he was running at the following settings: 2.7 volts 230 fst 4 HT 1:1 @ 1T 2.5-3-3-6. Now he was talking about different memory modules (and overclocking), but it does seem that you can run this mobo's memory at 2.7 volts... or am I missing something?

Nick
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-22-2004, 01:56 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 138964
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/printarticle.html?i=2036
http://www.hexus.net/content/reviews...lld19JRD03NzY=
They state:
DRAM Voltage Auto, 2.5V to 2.85V in 0.05V increments

Hexus even has a screenshot of it at 2.75v. Even scanned the msi forums, and it's safe to say that the above info is correct. I don't think gbreezer80 knows what he speaks of, or at the least is misinformed.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-22-2004, 02:16 PM
gbreezer80 gbreezer80 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 139002
gbreezer80 Reputation: 10
Default I'm wrong!

Thanks to Wired, you can set the voltage to 2.7 and other increments. The thing you do want to do if you have two sticks is to put them in slots 1 & 3. Slots 1&2 causes problems - at least in my setup with an AMD64 3000 w/Twinx10243200c2
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:43 AM
Nick754 Nick754 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 139088
Nick754 Reputation: 10
Thumbs up re: Best 2 gigs memory for MSI K8N Neo Platinum ? re Best 2

Thanks for the links to the two articles Wired!

Nick
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:03 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 139097
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

This is buried in the CPU white papers from AMD and I am sorry but as far as I know it's not public for some reason or at least it's not easy to find!
With 2 modules you should use slots 1-3 and if you fill all three slots DDR266 or DDR333 is suggested depending on the layout! I think this is really on the MB makers to make sure they clarify this in their manual as they can deviate from the reference design and if so they might alter the spec for memory configurations!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-23-2004, 01:10 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 139124
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Very interesting Ram Guy! I say we throw CK into the sea of white papers to find it, he likes that kind of stuff! :)

No problemo guys!
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)

Last edited by Wired; 08-23-2004 at 01:48 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-23-2004, 01:19 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 139133
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That sounds kool, but he may not think so! LOL!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.