The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2004, 04:20 PM
EverclearBoy EverclearBoy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 132668
EverclearBoy Reputation: 10
Default What Can I use?

I am looking into getting this..

Asus - Asus K8V VIA K8T800 chipset/ AMD Athlon64 support/ AGP8X 5 PCI/SATA-RAID/USB 2.0
Athlon 64 3000+

What sort of Corsair RAM will run on this? I would like to get something in the XMS Series.. no more lower then PC3200 in speed.. ideally PC4000 or more.. I play Battlefield 1942 and it seems that the faster that speed the faster the map loads.. Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-19-2004, 05:38 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 132701
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

From what I have seen, the PC3200XL would be the best for your needs. The AMDs still make good use of the low latency RAM. And, even though the XL is only guaranteed to run at 200mhz at the tight timings, it will run much faster than that in my experience. You won't be able to go all the way to your goal of 250mhz at the super tight timings but, I have heard of some users getting 250mhz on tighter timings than the PC4000 is able to at the same speeds.

And, I have seen VERY FEW (if any) AMD based boards that will run 250mhz anyways. I'm thinking you will have the best performance, especially for gaming with the XL RAM.

Mike.

EDIT: I consulted a knowledgeable AMD user and he reminded me of a very important fact to keep in mind. Since your MOBO is a single channel MOBO, 2 DIMMs place more load on the chipset than 1 DIMM. This is important because this also adds latency to the system. If you use 2 DIMMs as opposed to 1 DIMM, even if you use the low latency RAM, you will likely have to reduce the timings somewhat. All in all, you might actually get the best performance from 1 1024mb DIMM of PC3200 than with any combo of 2 DIMMs due to less chipset load and less latency. However, you won't get anywhere near 250mhz.

Last edited by Yellowbeard; 07-19-2004 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-18-2004, 01:06 PM
EverclearBoy EverclearBoy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 138277
EverclearBoy Reputation: 10
Default So?

Ok so what would be a good AMD 64/ASUS Motherboard/Processor Combo to get if I wanna be able to use Corsair PC3200..preferrably PC4000 (or better) making use of Dual Channel memory as well? Looking at all the Processor types gets dizzying.

Last edited by EverclearBoy; 08-18-2004 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:17 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 138304
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

The AMD 64 MOBOs are not dual channel. Only the 939 based boards are true dual channel. And, I have absolutely no idea how far the 939s will OC so you may or may not get full usage of the PC4000. I'd suggest the PC3200XL with the ASUS 939 board if you want dual channel and fast.

Mike.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:54 PM
EverclearBoy EverclearBoy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 138316
EverclearBoy Reputation: 10
Default

What's faster then on something like a map load time? Dual Channel memory or going from PC3200 to PC4000?

I definitely want a AMD 64 3000 for sure as well as using Corsair RAM But want it priced reasonable Mobo-wise 200 or less thanks for the help too!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-18-2004, 03:59 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 138329
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

AMD 64 has not proven to over clock like the Intel platform, so I would go with Twinx1024-3200XL memory as they would be more versatile with the settings!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-18-2004, 04:02 PM
EverclearBoy EverclearBoy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 138331
EverclearBoy Reputation: 10
Default

What about in regards to "nForce" ?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-18-2004, 05:29 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 138357
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY
AMD 64 has not proven to over clock like the Intel platform, so I would go with Twinx1024-3200XL memory as they would be more versatile with the settings!
This applies to both the Nforce and VIA based AMD 64 platforms.

Mike.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.