The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:48 AM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 262616
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default Asus A8N SLi Deluxe, which memory?....

Hi guys, im running a AMD Athlon X2 4400+ with the Asus A8N SLi Deluxe M'Board, ive found some memory but im wondering which one would be best and also how much of it. Im a 3d animator/special effects so i do alot of rendering and video editing. The memory is the TWINX2048-3200C2, the TWINX2048-3200PT or the TWINX2048-3200PRO. I would be looking to use either a single pair (2gb) or 2 pairs (4gb), any help would be great! thanks - Adam
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-19-2006, 06:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 262689
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would stick with One Twinx2048-3500LL set of modules for best performance!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:43 PM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 262708
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Ram Guy, nice to meet you. Currently i can only get hold of the 3 types of memory i stated above, Which of those three would be best? thanks - Adam
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:51 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,193
POST ID # = 262709
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

TWINX2048-3200C2 would outperform the other two models mentioned, which are identical in performance to each other.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-19-2006, 08:07 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 262713
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would agree Twinx2048-3200C2 would be the best choice!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-20-2006, 04:41 AM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 262751
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default

OK guys your input is much appreciated, will 2 pairs of Twinx2048-3200C2 work with my m'board? also if i was able to get hold of some Twinx2048-3500LL how much better is it to the Twinx2048-3200C2? and is the Twinx2048-3500LL the same thing as Twinx2048-3500LLPRO?, thanks - Adam
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-20-2006, 06:35 PM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 262841
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default

any ideas guys? i only have a few days left to get it, im in a terrible rush. thanks! - Adam
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-20-2006, 08:23 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 262858
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would not suggest more than one set of modules for best performance. And if you plan on over clocking I would suggest you go with Twinx2048-3500LL hands down!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 09-25-2006 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-22-2006, 05:29 PM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 263031
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default

OK guys ive made a mistake its the TWINX2048-3200PT i can get hold of and not the TWINX2048-3200C2, whats the difference anyway? also how come you suggested the TWINX2048-3200C2 over the TWINX2048-3200PRO which is more expensive. thankyou - Adam
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-22-2006, 05:37 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 263034
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Cas 3-3-3-8 for XMS3200 and Cas 2-3-3-6 for XMS3200C2 is the difference.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-22-2006, 06:22 PM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 263050
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for that Ram Guy great stuff! one last question, Twinx2048-3200C2 is $266 and Twinx2048-3500LLPRO is $326, is it worth the extra dollars for the Twinx2048-3500LLPRO considering that i wont be overclocking. thankyou! - Adam
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-22-2006, 06:46 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 263057
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

If you do not plan one over clocking then maybe not, but the perfomance difference is about 2-6% depending on the make and model of MB and CPU that you will have and the PSU you will use.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-23-2006, 02:00 PM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 263113
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the help Ram Guy, ive gone for the TWINX2048-3200C2PRO only a few more dollars for the cool LED'S :).
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-25-2006, 05:29 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 263268
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Please let us know how you make out!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-30-2006, 06:43 AM
xXPuntoXx xXPuntoXx is offline
Registered User
xXPuntoXx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 263773
xXPuntoXx Reputation: 10
Default

Hi again Ram Guy, my memory should be here tomorrow, my current memory runs at 3-3-3-8 (512x2), to get my new memory working will i need to change anything in the bios? id just like to know in advance so i can crack on with installing it. thanks! - Adam
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.