The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2017, 03:10 PM
ca6 ca6 is offline
Registered User
ca6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 891397
ca6 Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Link affects HDD performance

I've had issues with my file storage hard drive in my system for quite a while.
USB drives were fine, the two SSDs seemed to work ok as well (NVMe 950 Pro and 2.5" SATA 850 Evo). Hard Drive speeds always seemed to take too long, and after some investigation and contact with HGST I had the drive replaced.

I've now received a replacement, and I realized that the new drive behaved the same. Running HD Tune, the Read Transfer Speed would jump between all down to less than 1MB/s up to 170MB/s, giving a final average speed of 70-80MB/s.

After rebooting the computer in safe mode, running HD Tune I got proper results, so I rebooted the computer with my usual settings, and started to close programs down to find the culprit.

Turned out that quiting Corsair Link solved the issue. When I did the test, I was running 4.3.0.154, but I've now updated and I have the same issue with the latest version 4.5.0.55

This is the graph with Corsair Link running:


This is the graph after closing down Corsair Link



These is the spec of my computer:

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 10 Home (x64) Build 14393.693 (RS1)

Processor Name:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz

Motherboard Model:
ASRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac

Video Card:
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1070 Gaming OC

RAM:
2x16 GB PC4-19200 DDR4 SDRAM Kingston KHX2400C14D4/16G

NVMe/(S)ATA/ATAPI Drives:
Samsung SSD 950 PRO 256GB
Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
HGST HDN724040ALE640

I'm not sure what's relevant otherwise, but I'm running a Corsair H100i v2 CPU Cooling setup, and a Corsair RM650i PSU, which makes it nice to be able to run Corsair Link for monitoring, but for now I'm turning it off.

I'm not actually expecting this to be resolved but maybe someone else runs into the same problems, I couldn't find any information about this prior to my post.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-15-2017, 03:39 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 891400
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea It could either be CL4 writing to it's log file or the drive SMART polling

Use the settings panel to disable the log file and see what happens.

The only way I can think of to stop CL4 doing the SMART polling is to rename C:\Program Files (x86)\CorsairLink4\cpuidsdl.dll, but this would also mean all the motherboard + CPU information will also be missing, but you could do this just for the test.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:19 AM
ca6 ca6 is offline
Registered User
ca6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 891438
ca6 Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, I realized that It was logging by default but unfortunately turning logging off did not change matters.

Maybe I'll do some further testing when I'm back home tonight.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-16-2017, 06:51 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 891460
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Do other utilities cause the same effect?

If you close down CL4 and run my SIV utility it will poll the SMART information every 10 seconds and you could check what effect this has. You could also set a per drive Minimum SMART interval so the drive get's polled less often. The Polled Count also get's reported on the [Disk Status] panel so you could check is there is a corrolation.

Quote:
Attached Images
File Type: png Minimum SMART.png (99.1 KB, 738 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 02-22-2017 at 08:32 AM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #5  
Old 02-17-2017, 05:47 AM
ca6 ca6 is offline
Registered User
ca6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 891601
ca6 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm running HD Sentinel at the moment to keep an eye on my drives, i assume that polling SMART info, but that doesn't seem to affect performance?

I'll try your strategy this weekend, thanks for trying to help :)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-17-2017, 06:15 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 891606
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

I don't know what the HD Sentinel polling rate is and it may be slow enough as not to be noticeable. I know SIV is at least 10 seconds and I think CL4 (CPUID SDK) is every 5 seconds.

Which driver/service are you using? The SIV [SMART Drives] panel reports this.

It's also possible that if you run two utilities that poll the SMART data that the issue will more then twice as bad.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-22-2017, 07:47 AM
ca6 ca6 is offline
Registered User
ca6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 892288
ca6 Reputation: 10
Default

I downloaded SIV (Your link didn't work btw) and I saw a performance dip, although not as bad as the one I get with C-Link. I also realized that Seagates Dashboard-app for backups also does a pretty hard SMART polling, which also causes a performance hit.

Never looked for which driver/service I use.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-22-2017, 08:36 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,148
POST ID # = 892290
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea set a longer minimum SMART time

Quote:
Originally Posted by ca6 View Post
I downloaded SIV (Your link didn't work btw) and I saw a performance dip.
It looks like to forgot to past the actual URL in, now fixed.

If you want a smaller dip then just set a longer minimum SMART time.

In general it seems SMART polling is going to cause this and all that can be done is to poll less often.

Last edited by red-ray; 02-22-2017 at 11:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #9  
Old 02-22-2017, 09:01 AM
ca6 ca6 is offline
Registered User
ca6's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 892292
ca6 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm going to go with no dip :) Corsair Link remains uninstalled for now.
Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.