The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-30-2014, 04:32 AM
GDT78 GDT78 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 738874
GDT78 Reputation: 10
Default

In fact, my brand new h100i had 1.05 firmware. I'm going to send it back to Corsair today.
At this point, when I'll get the new h100i from RMA should I stay with 1.05 or should I try to upgrade to 1.07 again?
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 10-30-2014, 07:19 AM
palqo palqo is offline
Registered User
palqo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 738896
palqo Reputation: 10
Default

I'd say pray for 1.07 :) and if you have 1.05, just keep it. As far as I know and saw comments on the internet, manual upgrade to 1.07 always failed. Or at least users with success don't come to the forums to notify others, it's the ones with failed upgrades that come to complain. But when I was searching to update to 1.07 some half year ago, I found only threads discouraging to update, since manual upgrades always failed and only factory installed units with 1.07 existed. Also as far as I remember 1.07 didn't have any significant improvements worth having (I think only the rattling noise it sometimes does was fixed). This is all that I remember from half a year ago, I didn't re-verify it.

I knew about the problems of Link before I was buying it. But since I consider myself an advanced user, I thought I'll be able to handle it and the complaints throughout the internet are just inexperienced users. I've been troubleshooting windows and hardware problems 15 years and when I don't have a problem, some friend always comes with something I've never seen, so I'm also a trouble magnet. But I've never seen anything like the Link software. It's behavior is really inconsistent and unpredictable between versions and even throughout the life of the same version. I've had readings and functions appearing and disappearing so many times and in so many ways, I've lost track of it and never was there a version where all of them worked. It's really a pity that several years after the release, it's still not working properly, since the potential and added value are really big.
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 10-30-2014, 07:45 AM
GDT78 GDT78 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 738905
GDT78 Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, I'll pray for a factory installed 1.07... I'll let you know what will happen when my RMA unit will get home.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 11-04-2014, 04:20 PM
Vondreth Vondreth is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 739947
Vondreth Reputation: 10
Default

I had my H100i upgraded to firmware 1.07 a while ago and I used software 2.5.xxxx without any real problem. But that was on windows 7 x64 ultimate.
Now on my (fresh installed) windows 8.1 pro x64 with mediaplayer, I installed the latest software (atm. 2.7.5361).
Now the H100i Temp (degrees), MSI Motherboard fan 0 (that's the power MB access point for the CPU cooler), Intel Core i7-3930K Temp icons are flashing red.! < This didn't happen with the old software. :(
Also, because of all the errors Corsair Link generates, windows 8.1 is quite unstable now and it even causes crashes (BSOD's).! Kinda strange imho.

For the responsible Corsair people:
Any idea / ETA when there will be a software update so everything will work as it should with the H100i on windows 7/8/8.1?
I think it has to do something with the usb drivers.

Last edited by Vondreth; 11-04-2014 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 11-05-2014, 03:31 PM
palqo palqo is offline
Registered User
palqo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 740188
palqo Reputation: 10
Default

That's interesting, 2.5 is actually non-existent anymore. All the available links point to a corsair website with removed file. 2.4 is the only available option for upgrade. If you have it, could you make it available somewhere?

Regarding the latest version, the situation is same in my case. Flapping readings between actual and zero. Version 2.7.5339 didn't have this problem.
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 11-05-2014, 06:15 PM
stephanj stephanj is offline
Registered User
stephanj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 740228
stephanj Reputation: 10
Default I can confirm that the latest link software is the problem

Hi i bought a h80i last week which had the 1.05 firmware in it
and after installing the latest link software 2.7.5361 i had the problems with red flashing gauges.

so i tried several versions and the 2.7.5339 worked without a problem.
after that i did the firmware upgrade to 1.07 and my unit was gone no readings at all. Then i started fiddeling with the usb header and finally my device was recognized again and i put it back to firmware 1.05 conclusion is that the latest link software is causing the red flashes with the gauges and not the 1.07 firmware.
I am using windows 7 enterprise 64 bit.

Last edited by stephanj; 11-05-2014 at 06:22 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 11-06-2014, 04:36 PM
palqo palqo is offline
Registered User
palqo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 740404
palqo Reputation: 10
Default

I'm happy you were able to fix your unit, but could you also tell everyone here with dead units that have no fix, what you did to make the software recognize the unresponding unit? Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 11-06-2014, 05:50 PM
stephanj stephanj is offline
Registered User
stephanj's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 740412
stephanj Reputation: 10
Default h80i rediscovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by palqo View Post
I'm happy you were able to fix your unit, but could you also tell everyone here with dead units that have no fix, what you did to make the software recognize the unresponding unit? Thank you.
well my unit was connected to the internal usb header so i took a standard micro usb cable and connected it to an external usb port of my machine
but first you have to remove all of your usb devices in the hardware settings so that they can be discovered again when you startup again and by starting up you first let the usb cable from the hydro system out of the usb port also make sure you have removed the link software because you don't need that to have the system recognize the device. once your system is started up and the usb devices have been rediscovered plug in the hydro usb cable in a usb port on the back or front of your machine and pray it discovers the bugger.
if it is discovered you should have a hid (human interface device) in your hardware list which holds 1b1c in the hardware id as long as that entry is not in your list the device is not recognized by your system.

hope this helps
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 11-08-2014, 12:14 PM
palqo palqo is offline
Registered User
palqo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 740724
palqo Reputation: 10
Default

Didn't work in my case. Thanks for the tip though, I didn't think of that.
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 11-26-2014, 11:19 AM
gronemng gronemng is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 743741
gronemng Reputation: 10
Default

So... i am getting a new h100i my other one fail, the pump stop working
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=134736

i upgrade it as soon as i bought it, no problem in the process , but could that be the doom of my h100i? upgrading the firmware??

i am getting a new one, should i upgrade it or leave the default firmware?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.