The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2020, 12:19 PM
cohenfive cohenfive is offline
Registered User
cohenfive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1056112
cohenfive Reputation: 10
Default Question on PSU Testing Results

We are finishing a pc build and pc won't boot up. Trying to figure out what is issue. We bought a psu tester from amazon and all the voltages tested ok, but the 'pg' or power good indicator showed 80ms versus a 'standard' of 100-500. We are not sure whether that result shows anything of concern about the psu. We are using a Corsair rm750 80 plus gold psu.

So is 80ms indicative of a bad psu, or is faster than 100ms ok?

Thanks...we are trying to figure out which parts need to be returned, thinking most likely culprit is a bad mb, not psu.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-01-2020, 12:52 PM
TerminalFrost TerminalFrost is offline
Registered User
TerminalFrost's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1056115
TerminalFrost Reputation: 10
Default

When you say "Won't boot" do you mean no power at all? You might have the front panel power button plugged in to the wrong pins on the motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-01-2020, 01:01 PM
cohenfive cohenfive is offline
Registered User
cohenfive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1056117
cohenfive Reputation: 10
Default

We've tried that, not the issue. Likely a bad mb, but tested the psu in the process and got the 80ms result which is out of spec.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-01-2020, 01:13 PM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 404
POST ID # = 1056119
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

For what i've seen here, lots of corsair PSUs (and most likely other brands too) pass the self test faster.
It shouldn't bother the motherboard since not all PSUs do have a self test..
So yea it's out of spec, but i'd say it's not likely to be the cause of the boot failure.

Even if it's not corsair related, you could still describe the issue, may ring a bell to someone.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-01-2020, 03:20 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,276
POST ID # = 1056129
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cohenfive View Post
We've tried that, not the issue. Likely a bad mb, but tested the psu in the process and got the 80ms result which is out of spec.
So the PC powers up? It just doesn't POST?

Remember: You have three stages: Power, POST and boot.

Also would help if you listed all of your parts.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-02-2020, 12:40 AM
cohenfive cohenfive is offline
Registered User
cohenfive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1056164
cohenfive Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry, I wasn't clear. When we turn the power on, there is a cosmetic rbg light on the back of the mb that lights up, nothing else. No activity of any kind. So it does not post and does not boot. But the psu tester indicated that it is working fine, just faster to stabilize than spec (80ms)...which was why I asked the question. But it sounds as if that is ok.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-02-2020, 12:45 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,276
POST ID # = 1056165
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Ok. So the PSU is providing +5VSB to the motherboard, but pressing the power button on the case (or on the board itself, or shorting the two power on pins) actually allows the PC to power up.

Have you tried just the motherboard and CPU (with CPU cooler) with no RAM, cards, drives, etc. outside of the case?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-02-2020, 12:47 AM
cohenfive cohenfive is offline
Registered User
cohenfive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1056166
cohenfive Reputation: 10
Default

That's tomorrow's chore as we take apart the pc. My son did the 'hot wire' test and it failed to do anything.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-02-2020, 11:17 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games™
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 354
POST ID # = 1056262
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

I assume the motherboard power cables are all hooked up including the EPS12V close to the CPU.
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games™ - Legendary of the Only Way to Play™

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-02-2020, 11:36 PM
cohenfive cohenfive is offline
Registered User
cohenfive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1056263
cohenfive Reputation: 10
Default

Yes they are..or were. MB is getting replaced.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-11-2020, 10:02 AM
pull pull is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1057218
pull Reputation: 10
Default power good 8 ms

Buenas tardes, me gustaría saber si funcionó la fuente RM750 correctamente con esos 80 ms de arranque, hemos adquirido una RM750 recientemente y tuvimos problemas con la placa base (cambio en garantía) y la fuente de alimentación da en el test esos 80 ms.
Gracias.

Quote:
Good afternoon,

I would like to know if the RM750 power supply worked correctly with those 80ms of boot, we have recently acquired an RM750 and we have had problems with the motherboard (changed in warranty) and the power supply gives in the test that 80 ms.

Thanks.

Last edited by jonnyguru; 08-12-2020 at 11:49 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 08-11-2020, 10:35 AM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 404
POST ID # = 1057219
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

Normalmente eso no causa problemas. En fuentes baratisimas, no hay ningun circuito de control para dar este señal y este pin esta conectado directamente al +5V (en efecto 0ms delay)..

Quote:
Usually that doesn't cause problems. In very cheap sources, there is no control circuit to give this signal and this pin is connected directly to the + 5V (in effect 0ms delay).

Last edited by jonnyguru; 08-12-2020 at 11:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-12-2020, 07:56 AM
pull pull is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1057333
pull Reputation: 10
Default

Pues eso, la RM750 no es una fuente baratisima precisamente, se supone que un valor normal debe ser superior a los100 ms, desconOCZo si es un valor anormal en general pero normal en esta fuente de alimentación.

Quote:
Well that, the RM750 is not a very cheap PSU precisely, but it is assumed that a normal value greater than 100 ms should be present. I do not know if it is an abnormal value in general but normal in this power source.

Last edited by jonnyguru; 08-12-2020 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-12-2020, 09:21 AM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 404
POST ID # = 1057349
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

sisi, lo que digo es que normalmente, no importa mucho si estas un poco debajo de los 100ms.
Es una pregunta que se ve mucho y casi todo el tiempo gente encuentra valores de 70 - 80ms

Quote:
yeah, what I'm saying is that normally, it doesn't matter much if you're a little under 100ms.
It is a question that is seen a lot and almost all the time people find values of 70 - 80ms

Last edited by jonnyguru; 08-12-2020 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-12-2020, 11:53 AM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,276
POST ID # = 1057367
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pull View Post
Buenas tardes, me gustaría saber si funcionó la fuente RM750 correctamente con esos 80 ms de arranque, hemos adquirido una RM750 recientemente y tuvimos problemas con la placa base (cambio en garantía) y la fuente de alimentación da en el test esos 80 ms.
Gracias.
You said the motherboard was changed under warranty or the PSU was changed under warranty? Did this same PSU work with the previous motherboard (or vise versa)?

Or have you even tried the PSU with the motherboard? You said you "tested the PSU" to see 80ms, but did you actually TRY to use it?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.