Corsair Community

Did AX860 ruin my SATA drives?

train_rider

First off, I'm happy to join you folks. I am putting together my first PC in nearly ten years back when I was a college freshman. I have to say, pc building is so much easier nowadays and holy crap... cable management in cases these days is fantastic. Also I'm happy Corsair is a major player in the enthusiast market now. Ten years ago, the only Corsair product I had was RAM, now half the price of my PC is Corsair products. I'm especially happy Corsair has added some much needed refinement to the pc case market (Looking back at all those hideous alien pc cases from a decade ago makes me shudder).

Enough of the brown nosing. I guess I'm a bit rusty these days and I'm having some issues with my new build. Specifically, I seem to be having issues with two of my SATA devices (Optical drive and SSD). I suspect that the power supply may have fried them.

These are my build components:

• Gigabyte Z97X-SLI mobo
  • i7-4790k cpu
  • Corsair AX860 modular psu
  • MSI GTX 970 gaming 4g video card
  • Corsair vengeance pro (2 x 8 gb) DDR3 ram
  • 2 Crucial MX100 (512 GB and 128 GB) ssds
  • Pioneer BDR-2209 optical drive
  • Corsair Carbide 500r case

I initially connected my cpu, ram, videocard, 512gb ssd and optical drive to the mobo and psu and was able to POST successfully. At that time, I didn't bother going into the bios to check device status since I still had additional peripherals to connect for my build. What I do know for certain is that my optical drive was working upon initial POST. The drive LED came on and I was able to eject the tray and insert a Windows 7 install disk which loaded up fine. I don't know if the 512gb SSD was ever working since like I said, I didn't check status in the bios and I didn't attempt to install the OS at the time.

I shut off after first POST and connected additional peripherals, then tried to reboot. That's when I ran into my first problem.

Problem #1 (Resolved???)