The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2013, 01:53 PM
Darkwing Darkwing is offline
Registered User
Darkwing's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 94
POST ID # = 638327
Darkwing Reputation: 10
Default FW v. 1.05

I am not really keen on updating with this software that constantly stops working. Should I take the gamble or wait for the updated software to be released?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-07-2013, 03:29 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,332
POST ID # = 638472
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

Go to the Corsair LINK 2 root folder and right click> run as admin Sierra2.Bootloader.exe

Does it crash? If it doesn't you can choose to update the FW or not.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:11 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 638515
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Depends darkwing, if your unit is running fine then there is no need to update the FW. ONLY if your haveing trouble.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:43 AM
carpenj carpenj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
POST ID # = 638541
carpenj Reputation: 10
Default

What is the correct process for doing this? Does anything need to be uninstalled, other than deleting any profiles and rebooting first? I'm going to need to do it, and will probably do so this afternoon.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-08-2013, 05:42 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,332
POST ID # = 638727
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

The process for updating the FW is on the sticky.

Quote:
Note: Before you do this update please delete any saved Profiles and load the default profile and reboot the system and let the Link software stand running for at least 1 whole Minuit before you proceed with the Update.
The Cooler will also have to be connected to the included Link USB Dongle and cannot be updated when connected to the Corsair Link Commander.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-08-2013, 08:18 AM
carpenj carpenj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 68
POST ID # = 638763
carpenj Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
The process for updating the FW is on the sticky.
I saw that, just wanted to be sure there wasn't anything else I needed to know. Last time I did a FW update, my unit got bricked due to something not mentioned in the sticky so I'm paranoid now haha.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-09-2013, 05:00 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,332
POST ID # = 638966
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 124
Default

If there was any other important things that needed to be noted it would have been in the sticky.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-11-2013, 12:46 PM
remotehugger remotehugger is offline
Registered User
remotehugger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 639348
remotehugger Reputation: 10
Default

I just flashed the new FW about 10 minutes ago - No problems at all - I extracted the FW zip to my desktop - deleted any saved profiles and clicked restore defaults - rebooted - opened CL and let it run for about 2 minutes - clicked update FW - navigated to the FW file on my desktop - opened it - and flashed away ! Everything works as it did before the flash -
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-11-2013, 03:08 PM
apacheizm23 apacheizm23 is offline
Registered User
apacheizm23's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 64
POST ID # = 639380
apacheizm23 Reputation: 10
Default

If you got a new unit why are you flashing it.. U just said it yourself that you bricked it for flashing. I guess allot of us tech people just love tinkering around with things even if its not broken.

By the way I've decided to purchase 2 Corsair Force Series 120 GiG SSD GT I made up my mind.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.