The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2019, 03:25 AM
exclusivemuppet exclusivemuppet is offline
Registered User
exclusivemuppet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019930
exclusivemuppet Reputation: 10
Default Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master XMP profile BSOD

Hi All,

I was wondering if you could help me in diagnose a problem I am having with my new build. I am experiencing BSOD's on a regular basis with the memory's XMP profile enabled.

Some of the Stop Codes I am getting are:
  • System Service Exception
  • KMOD EXCEPTION NOT HANDLED
  • CRITICAL STRUCTURE CORRUPTION

The timing of the memory is in spec with the documentation on the Corsair website, link below
https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/Catego...tab-tech-specs

It is worth noting that the even though the part number is the same the DRAM manufacturer (Hynix and Samsung) is different on each 2x 8GB pair. I have tried multiple configurations of the memory such as the list below but I continue to get BSOD's when the XMP is enabled.
  • 1x 8GB Samsung(Slots 1) both DIMMS
  • 1x 8GB Hynix(Slots 1)both DIMMS
  • 1x 8GB Samsung(Slots 2)
  • 1x 8GB Hynix(Slots 2)
  • 2x 8GB Samsung(Slots 2/4)
  • 2x 8GB Hynix(Slots 2/4)
  • 4 x8GB Samsung (Slots 2/4) + Hynix (Slots 1/3) and the other way around

I'm just about to pull out the rest of my hair as my memory is stuck at 2133Mhz in order to keep the system stable. Anyone have any suggestion on a resolution?


System Spec
Motherboard - Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master (Bios F6)
CPU - AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
GPU - Nvidia RTX 2070 Super
Memory - 4x Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 8 GB (CMW16GX4M2C3200C16W)
Storage 1 - Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500 GB M.2 NVMe
Storage 2 - Intel 660p 1TB M.2-2280 NVMe
PSU - Corsair AX1000
Latest AMD chipset drivers installed
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-02-2019, 08:56 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 193
POST ID # = 1020025
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by exclusivemuppet View Post
Hi All,

I was wondering if you could help me in diagnose a problem I am having with my new build. I am experiencing BSOD's on a regular basis with the memory's XMP profile enabled.

Some of the Stop Codes I am getting are:
  • System Service Exception
  • KMOD EXCEPTION NOT HANDLED
  • CRITICAL STRUCTURE CORRUPTION

The timing of the memory is in spec with the documentation on the Corsair website, link below
https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/Catego...tab-tech-specs

It is worth noting that the even though the part number is the same the DRAM manufacturer (Hynix and Samsung) is different on each 2x 8GB pair. I have tried multiple configurations of the memory such as the list below but I continue to get BSOD's when the XMP is enabled.
  • 1x 8GB Samsung(Slots 1) both DIMMS
  • 1x 8GB Hynix(Slots 1)both DIMMS
  • 1x 8GB Samsung(Slots 2)
  • 1x 8GB Hynix(Slots 2)
  • 2x 8GB Samsung(Slots 2/4)
  • 2x 8GB Hynix(Slots 2/4)
  • 4 x8GB Samsung (Slots 2/4) + Hynix (Slots 1/3) and the other way around

I'm just about to pull out the rest of my hair as my memory is stuck at 2133Mhz in order to keep the system stable. Anyone have any suggestion on a resolution?


System Spec
Motherboard - Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master (Bios F6)
CPU - AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
GPU - Nvidia RTX 2070 Super
Memory - 4x Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 8 GB (CMW16GX4M2C3200C16W)
Storage 1 - Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500 GB M.2 NVMe
Storage 2 - Intel 660p 1TB M.2-2280 NVMe
PSU - Corsair AX1000
Latest AMD chipset drivers installed
XMP profiles don't always work. If you were having memory instability your OS may have become damaged after multiple BSOD's. Just my recommendation when possible use a test copy of Windows to avoid damaging your primary installation when troubleshooting memory issues.

In the case XMP doesn't work the typical solution is to use AUTO and manually configure your frequency, voltage, and timings. If you're only using two dimms then make sure they are in the primary channel typically slots A2 and B2.

I'm a little lost by your description. Generally you don't want to mix and match kits to avoid compatibility problems. Even when model numbers are the same it is possible for the manufacturer to switch IC's over time and it sounds like what you are observing between memory kits. With Corsair they typically have both model and version numbers from what I have seen. If you intend to mix kits you need to pay attention to both.

You may want to check that you have the latest BIOS/UEFI. If I recall correctly there was some issue among Ryzen boards (not sure if it was limited to x570) with NVMe errors and possibly a bios update may fix your issue if you have OS corruption caused by that.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-03-2019, 06:21 PM
Ragnarok1983 Ragnarok1983 is offline
Registered User
Ragnarok1983's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1020149
Ragnarok1983 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, I was having similar issues as OP but using Aorus Pro Wifi and leaving it on XMP.

1st set of Vengeance LPX 3200 4x8GBs Rev. 4.32 would BSOD and fail memtest. 2 sticks of 8GBs passed, while the other 2 failed.

Swapped it for set of 2x16GB Rev. 4.32 Vengeance Pro RGBs, was even worse, as it would fail straight away in memtest.

Came across this thread, ended up using Ryzen DRAM calculator with samsung OEM profile and has memtested stable for 4 passes overnight.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-03-2019, 08:55 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 193
POST ID # = 1020161
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragnarok1983 View Post
Hi, I was having similar issues as OP but using Aorus Pro Wifi and leaving it on XMP.

1st set of Vengeance LPX 3200 4x8GBs Rev. 4.32 would BSOD and fail memtest. 2 sticks of 8GBs passed, while the other 2 failed.

Swapped it for set of 2x16GB Rev. 4.32 Vengeance Pro RGBs, was even worse, as it would fail straight away in memtest.

Came across this thread, ended up using Ryzen DRAM calculator with samsung OEM profile and has memtested stable for 4 passes overnight.
Is the ram you mentioned you're using CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 (ver 4.32)?

If so I have published my complete ram configuration in the link below for several frequencies using AMD Ryzen Zen+ and Zen2 cpu. Knowing what works may help you tweak your settings better although it not clear to me if you have an Intel or AMD system.

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...=187175&page=2
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-04-2019, 03:02 AM
Ragnarok1983 Ragnarok1983 is offline
Registered User
Ragnarok1983's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1020183
Ragnarok1983 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Computer Guy View Post
Is the ram you mentioned you're using CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 (ver 4.32)?

If so I have published my complete ram configuration in the link below for several frequencies using AMD Ryzen Zen+ and Zen2 cpu. Knowing what works may help you tweak your settings better although it not clear to me if you have an Intel or AMD system.

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...=187175&page=2
Hello, I am using Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro Wifi with 3700X

Previously had 4 sticks of CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 - Rev. 4.32
2 sticks were okay, 2 would fail in memtest86 when testing each pair individually.

Wasnt sure after being out of O/C game for a long time, so I RMA'ed them and got CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 Rev.4.32 (plus its more bling bling)

The RGB Pros would fail straight away in memtest, using XMP profile and leaving everything on auto.

I came across the other thread on trying out Samsung OEM profile in Ryzen Dram calculator and setting it all manually. Memtested okay overnight after following the guide.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-05-2019, 09:26 AM
exclusivemuppet exclusivemuppet is offline
Registered User
exclusivemuppet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1020321
exclusivemuppet Reputation: 10
Default

After quickly playing around with the memory profiles I managed to get the system stable with the memory at 3133Mhz. Going to play around with the latency settings but it's a big step forward.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-15-2019, 02:42 AM
psygnosi's Avatar
psygnosi psygnosi is offline
Registered User
psygnosi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Youtube
Posts: 35
POST ID # = 1021315
psygnosi Reputation: 10
Default

Running Aorus x570 Master but I have match 4 sticks of Corsair Vengeance pro rgb ddr4(4x16) 64gb 3200Mhz ram. Using bios F7b and running 3200Mhz at 3400Mhz at 1.356v stable.

__________________
Corsair DDR4 Vengeance Pro RGB Ram rocks the house!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.