The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 252 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #91  
Old 10-24-2014, 06:59 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 737829
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
Just so you guys know, we see this and we think it's totally awesome.
What would be really awesome would be for Corsair to implement support for the Global\Access_CorsairLink mutex in CorsairLink.exe! We could then report the CL HW when CL is active.

It would make reporting the CL HW far easier if Corsair made the HW datsheets available. Maybe not public, but at least under NDA.

Last edited by red-ray; 08-31-2015 at 05:43 AM.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #92  
Old 10-25-2014, 09:28 PM
bmellesmoen bmellesmoen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 737983
bmellesmoen Reputation: 15
Default

I would totally agree with Ray as it's very annoying having to manually ensure only one app is accessing the Corsair HW.
Reply With Quote


  #93  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:42 AM
ioku ioku is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 740348
ioku Reputation: 10
Default

Hello, now there are multiple tools to handle controling H80i/H100i devices in Linux, but has anyone tested if it works with HX850i or any other product from HXi Series? Thank you
Reply With Quote


  #94  
Old 11-12-2014, 04:16 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 741403
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ioku View Post
Hello, now there are multiple tools to handle controling H80i/H100i devices in Linux, but has anyone tested if it works with HX850i or any other product from HXi Series? Thank you
I know my SIV (http://rh-software.com/) utility can report HX850i on Windows, so it must be possible to do this on Linux.
Reply With Quote


  #95  
Old 11-16-2014, 09:47 PM
Xtended Xtended is offline
Xtended
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 742229
Xtended Reputation: 10
Cool Corsair Linux equivalent

I would like to contribute on the build of the Linux equivalent of the Corsair mangment software. How were you able to view the data off of the usbe cable when I use Wireshark it wont attach to the USB port or are you reading the information through Windows.

From Xtended
http://forum.corsair.com/forums/images/icons/icon6.gif
Reply With Quote


  #96  
Old 11-17-2014, 03:39 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 742255
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

I did not use a USB analyser. I got some information from http://forum.corsair.com/forums/member.php?u=132093 and used this along with the PMBus specs to get the code working. I used SIV to dump all 256 PWM registers and then deduced most things. If you run SIV and dump any PSUs registers that will tell you all the registers I found.
Reply With Quote


  #97  
Old 11-18-2014, 03:48 AM
Lukeroge Lukeroge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 742411
Lukeroge Reputation: 10
Default

Heya!

New Corsair Link Mini purchaser here (wish me luck), also a python programmer who knows a little bit of Java, C# and a sprinkling of Linux knowlegde and HTML.

I'd like to offer any help I can as the Corsair Link hardware is really neat and I don't want it to die just because Corsair can't hire a proper software firm to make the damn software :P

I was planning to use the resources in the first post to hack up a simple hard-coded Python program to set my fan curves/etc and avoid the landmine that is Corsair Link 2.0, but it seems there are some promising projects in here that I really hope are successful but they need more traction to really pick up!

:^)

Last edited by Lukeroge; 11-18-2014 at 03:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #98  
Old 11-19-2014, 09:29 PM
tb01110100 tb01110100 is offline
Registered User
tb01110100's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 742684
tb01110100 Reputation: 10
Default

So, I've been trying to follow the development going on here, but I'm a bit out of the loop. Literally all I want to do is change the color of the LED on my h100i. Is it even possible to do this? My OS is Arch Linux 64bit.
Reply With Quote


  #99  
Old 11-20-2014, 02:05 AM
Lukeroge Lukeroge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 742703
Lukeroge Reputation: 10
Default

Well, it's not easy but certainly possible. It looks like the main devs here are a bit idle right now, but if you can write code in any language that supports HID it should be possible to write to the registers on the H100i using the data in the first post and change the colors!

There isn't quite an easy GUI tool for linux yet.
Reply With Quote


  #100  
Old 11-20-2014, 11:08 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 742741
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tb01110100 View Post
So, I've been trying to follow the development going on here, but I'm a bit out of the loop. Literally all I want to do is change the color of the LED on my h100i. Is it even possible to do this? My OS is Arch Linux 64bit.
I found doing this for the H100i, H80i and CL Mini was easy enough, but your code needs to allow for both the write and read not working. Before I added a 250 ms timeout to both of these once in a while there would not be a reply and SIV would stall and it needed to be aborted

SIV uses the Global\Access_CorsairLink to interlock access to the CL hardware and I would advise that all programs should also use this.
Reply With Quote


  #101  
Old 11-20-2014, 10:15 PM
Lukeroge Lukeroge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 742822
Lukeroge Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I found doing this for the H100i, H80i and CL Mini was easy enough, but your code needs to allow for both the write and read not working. Before I added a 250 ms timeout to both of these once in a while there would not be a reply and SIV would stall and it needed to be aborted

SIV uses the Global\Access_CorsairLink to interlock access to the CL hardware and I would advise that all programs should also use this.
You really want them to use your interlock, don't you? :D
Reply With Quote


  #102  
Old 11-20-2014, 10:22 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 742824
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeroge View Post
You really want them to use your interlock, don't you? :D
any help or positive gift of anothers skill is always welcome to users in need
Reply With Quote


  #103  
Old 11-20-2014, 11:02 PM
Lukeroge Lukeroge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 742827
Lukeroge Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
any help or positive gift of anothers skill is always welcome to users in need
Well, considering it's taken the Corsair software team 3 years to make this broken mess, I'd be surprised if they even knew what a mutex is :)
Reply With Quote


  #104  
Old 11-20-2014, 11:10 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 742829
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

there are users that the software works for but go to any forum and theres issues from made products,,its just the nature of software
this software is much more complicated than most realize
Reply With Quote


  #105  
Old 11-26-2014, 06:27 PM
Thatualle1970's Avatar
Thatualle1970 Thatualle1970 is offline
Registered User
Thatualle1970's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Dorchester, ON
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 743824
Thatualle1970 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeroge View Post
Well, considering it's taken the Corsair software team 3 years to make this broken mess, I'd be surprised if they even knew what a mutex is :)
Now now, be nice.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.