The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2018, 09:10 PM
kahless kahless is offline
Registered User
kahless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 966302
kahless Reputation: 10
Default 280X radiator and fan options

Hi,

I ordered a 280X and would like to place an M-Itx motherboard in it with an H115i Pro cooler.

Is it possible to have that radiator at the top with 140mm fans in the front and bottom?

I seem to find conflicting information when Googling what people are saying/doing.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-30-2018, 09:31 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,933
POST ID # = 966308
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Yes, I believe that you could. Although the front may be a better location for it.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-30-2018, 10:29 PM
kahless kahless is offline
Registered User
kahless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 966320
kahless Reputation: 10
Default

Why the front? Wouldn't that put alot of heat into the case?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-30-2018, 11:32 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,933
POST ID # = 966324
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

It would put heat in the case, yes. But it's less heat than the GPU puts out. Especially if you have a powerful GPU, you could wind up actually increasing your coolant temperatures because of GPU heat. The radiator heat won't be much of an issue with the bottom fans as well.

Additionally, there's more room in the front for mounting a cooler.

For the record, I do have a 280X with an H100i V2 front mounted. ;) (It's not the system in my specs.)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-30-2018, 11:56 PM
kahless kahless is offline
Registered User
kahless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 966327
kahless Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the suggestion I will consider it. Does it change your suggestion that I will be using a Titan X Pascal in it since it's the blower cooler.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-31-2018, 06:58 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,283
POST ID # = 966357
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 122
Default

You're right, that page is missing some details. I don't even see specific location fan compatibility. It certainly looks like two sets of holes/slots up top for 120/140mm. However, I do not see a lot of extra room around the side. That said, it sure looks like a H115i Pro in top on the product page and that was put on long before the H100i Pro was announced.

I was thinking front mount might look nice without making the top feel weighty and giving you an unblocked exhaust without resorting to small, buzzy fans on the back panel. However, I think the fit is going to be really close. 266/267mm on the Titan (P). +29mm on the radiator. Listed 300mm max GPU length. Not clear if the max length includes a front mounted 25mm thick fan, but it usually does and that matched my eyeballing of the stock photos with the Nvidia SLI at the bottom. That leaves the front H115i PRO with... 3-4mm? I don't know. There would be no moving parts on that side and airflow never did a whole lot for the cooling the top plate on the Titan, but I am not sure which way I would go either without getting my hands on the case. I suppose on the bright side it appears you can do either, so a short change over can be done either way.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-31-2018, 09:10 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,933
POST ID # = 966366
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

There really isn't room for fans in the rear ... nor mounts, IIRC. Top, bottom and front. This should give you an idea of how much space is in the case, front to back:
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-31-2018, 11:48 AM
kahless kahless is offline
Registered User
kahless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 966392
kahless Reputation: 10
Default

I think I will ultimately go with a top mount radiator since the amount of heat coming from the gpu into the case is minimal since its a blower cooler. I would like to keep the coolest air possible going to the gpu.

Someday, I will no longer have blower coolers then I would likely move the radiator to the front.

I had planned on putting a Z390 Strix-I itx motherboard in here with an i8-9700K 8 core cpu. But now it looks like none of that is launching until 1st quarter 2019.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:00 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,933
POST ID # = 966396
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahless View Post
I think I will ultimately go with a top mount radiator since the amount of heat coming from the gpu into the case is minimal since its a blower cooler. I would like to keep the coolest air possible going to the gpu.

Someday, I will no longer have blower coolers then I would likely move the radiator to the front.
OK. You may want to experiment as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahless View Post
I had planned on putting a Z390 Strix-I itx motherboard in here with an i8-9700K 8 core cpu. But now it looks like none of that is launching until 1st quarter 2019.
Where did you hear this???
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:17 PM
kahless kahless is offline
Registered User
kahless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 966399
kahless Reputation: 10
Default

New "leaked" Intel roadmap.

https://www.techradar.com/news/intel...-in-early-2019

Since you have the 280X case. I'm concenred with a 280mm radiator at the top will two 140mm fans fit in the front? I suspect its possible that the radiator would come in contact with part of the 140mm fan on the front of the case. Where as a 120mm would sit just below the radiator. What do you think?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:30 PM
tiessar tiessar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 966405
tiessar Reputation: 10
Default

Shouldn't be an issue with clearance between top rad and front fans if the rad fans are in push.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:34 PM
kahless kahless is offline
Registered User
kahless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 966407
kahless Reputation: 10
Default

Well here is where things get muddy and back to my original post as to why I only see conflicting information.

The downloadable documentation on the corsair site says a 280mm radiator at the top is fine. The overview page on Corsair shows a 280mm radiator at the top fits.

The Bit Tech, Overclock3d, and Tech Report reviews all say a 280mm radiator at the top is OK. But I still see some other reviews that state only 240mm at the top.

Looks like there is a 2mm difference in thickness between the H100i Pro and H115i Pro. The 115i being the thicker one.

Last edited by kahless; 07-31-2018 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:53 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 625
POST ID # = 966413
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahless View Post
Well here is where things get muddy and back to my original post as to why I only see conflicting information.

The downloadable documentation on the corsair site says a 280mm radiator at the top is fine. The overview page on Corsair shows a 280mm radiator at the top fits.

The Bit Tech, Overclock3d, and Tech Report reviews all say a 280mm radiator at the top is OK. But I still see some other reviews that state only 240mm at the top.

Looks like there is a 2mm difference in thickness between the H100i Pro and H115i Pro. The 115i being the thicker one.
Having done a custom loop in this case myself, I will tell you that a 280mm rad WILL fit, BUT it will be really tight, so be prepare for that, your memory need to be low-profile, as well as your motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 07-31-2018, 12:55 PM
kahless kahless is offline
Registered User
kahless's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 966415
kahless Reputation: 10
Default

Its going to be an ITX motherboard. I have some Trident Z RGB that I have for it already. You think the 280mm rad extends down to the memory modules?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-31-2018, 01:44 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,283
POST ID # = 966426
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 122
Default

From Dev's picture, it looks like the GPU length is slightly more generous than advertised, so the front mount should work at a later date.

I don't think the G.Skill are any larger the PRO RGB installed in most of these shots, but I suppose some board makers could shift their DRAM slots a little the wrong way.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.