The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:02 AM
peebee peebee is offline
Registered User
peebee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 396086
peebee Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to peebee
Default HX620 enough Power for Core I7/GTX 285 SLI

Hi there!

My system draws around 420W including my Screen (24" HP w2408h).

A second GTX 285 would not draw that much, that I must change my PSU wouldn´t it?

Rampage II Extreme
I7 @4,2GHz 1,44V Vcore
6GB Dominator 1600Mhz (3x2GB modules)
2 Laing DDC-Pumps
1 Fan Controller incl. Display
1 DVD-burner
1 HDD 500GB Samsung Spinpoint
9 Fans Yate-Loon 120mm

Thank you for your help.

peebee
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:38 AM
z999z3mystorys z999z3mystorys is offline
Registered User
z999z3mystorys's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 396096
z999z3mystorys Reputation: 10
Default

Well corsair's PSU calculator recommends 1000w for duel 285s with an i7, that said your monitor isn't normally run by the computer's PSU, so that's not really a factor unless you run into limits with the max your household circuit can handle. (normally with a Circuit breaker that will trip at about 1800w (15 amp) or 2400w (20 amp) in the US with up to date wiring)

All that said, is 420w what your system draws under load? in any case I'd go with at least 750w for duel 285s and a highly OCed i7, I can see that with a 620w that under load it might be too much for it to handle.

Also are you planning on OCing your graphics card too? That'll increase power demand as well, and sense your CPU is so highly OCed you might as well OC your cards a little too.

Personally, I'd go with an 850w for lots of OCing room and overhead, or if you want all that and a PSU that will last a LONG time with lots of upgrade room, the 1000w (though it does cost a fair bit more).

so in short, I wouldn't go SLI 285s with a 620w PSU, I'd want a 750w Min, 850 for the most bang for your buck, and 1000 if you want really good OCing room, Overhead, and longivity (as PSU slowly lose there output over the years)

In really short form, my recommendations:
620w: not recommend at all
750w: yes
850w: Very good
1000w: Possibly Overkill.
Over 1000w: don't even bother, triple+ graphics cards only
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:51 AM
peebee peebee is offline
Registered User
peebee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 396097
peebee Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to peebee
Default

Well I have a measure-tool for the wattage and my Monitor i also plugged into this, that is why I told the whole Wattage. So without the monitor I should be around 400W I think.

Hm so a HX620 should not be enough.

Didn´t think, that one GTX 285 can draw that much.
The Manufacturere alwas state more consumption, than in fact the products draw.

OC in SLI is not necessary I think. I do not run more than 1920 x 1200.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:56 AM
z999z3mystorys z999z3mystorys is offline
Registered User
z999z3mystorys's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 396098
z999z3mystorys Reputation: 10
Default

Could you test the power draw your getting underload? say run 3Dmark Vantage/06, a high end game, or whatever it is your planning on using the SLI 285s for and see what the wattage draw is then. Idle and Underload can very greatly.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-30-2009, 02:21 PM
peebee peebee is offline
Registered User
peebee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 396123
peebee Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to peebee
Default

Yes, I will check this after work. :)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-30-2009, 04:54 PM
peebee peebee is offline
Registered User
peebee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 396165
peebee Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to peebee
Default

3dmark Vantage was at Average 337W Jane Nash and the spaceship. With physx (airplanes) it raised for a little second to 406W but Average was at 360-377W.

So the higehst Peak was 406. The GTX 285 ran at 792/1620/1450, the I7 was @4,2Ghz (1,44V Vcore) QPI@1,35V

Even Crysis Warhead at 1920 x 1200 ran at 360-370W

Would a second GTX really need more than 220W?
Do I really have to change PSU before buying the GTX 285?

Last edited by peebee; 03-30-2009 at 05:21 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-30-2009, 06:30 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 396187
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The GTX285 will only pull up to 185 watts max, so I would suspect you would have no problems running two of those cards on the HX620.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-31-2009, 01:26 AM
peebee peebee is offline
Registered User
peebee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 396240
peebee Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to peebee
Default

How much Ampere did the HX620 deliver now?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-31-2009, 11:44 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 396282
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peebee View Post
How much Ampere did the HX620 deliver now?
50A on the 12v rail.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-06-2009, 03:54 AM
peebee peebee is offline
Registered User
peebee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 396925
peebee Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to peebee
Default

Hey guys,

it´s working fine!
Still below 600W with my 2 GTX 285 and the I7. But this Power supply is amazing anyways. The best I ever had.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-06-2009, 03:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 396970
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peebee View Post
Hey guys,

it´s working fine!
Still below 600W with my 2 GTX 285 and the I7. But this Power supply is amazing anyways. The best I ever had.
Thanks for the update, glad to hear everything worked out!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-07-2009, 02:51 AM
peebee peebee is offline
Registered User
peebee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 397027
peebee Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to peebee
Default

Yep, I also requested the 2x Y-Splitter PCI-Express Cables for the HX620 and they are sent out to me. When I have these cables, I will not need these adapters (2x4-pin Molex to 1x6-pin PCIe) anymore :)
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 04-09-2009, 02:17 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 397395
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Please let us know if you have any more questions!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.