The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 37 votes, 4.89 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:03 AM
Exalix Exalix is offline
Registered User
Exalix's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 260844
Exalix Reputation: 10
Thumbs down Asus P5W DH Deluxe & Twin2x2048 PC8500C5

Hi!

Am I the only one here who can't get the Twin2x2048 PC8500C5 to run at their rated speed/timings on the P5W DH Deluxe motherboard.
I simply can't get it to run stable at DDR 1067MHz (1:2)
How much voltage am I supposed to give the modules at their rated speed/timings? I've tried 2.2V but no luck.

Last edited by Exalix; 09-02-2006 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-02-2006, 07:37 AM
Exalix Exalix is offline
Registered User
Exalix's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 260894
Exalix Reputation: 10
Default

Am I really the only one?

Ok, I finally got the time to test the memory with memtest165.

My TWIN2X2048-8500C5 hits the wall at 1042MHz 5-5-5-15. memstest runs for approx. 5 sec. and the errors just continues on and on.

The best setting I can run these modules at, is 999MHz 4-5-5-15. That suckz, not exactly what I expected for these very expensive modules.

I run the modules at 2.2V.

Are these bad parts?

Or, should I return them(14 day return policy in Denmark), and get the TWIN2X2048-PC6400C3 modules instead?

According to Anandtech.com, PC6400C3 should be able to run even faster and with better timings.
http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2809

My current sys. spec.:

Intel Core2 Duo E6600 @ 3.0 (9*333)
Corsair Twin2x2048-PC8500C5 running 999MHz *(2:3) 4-5-5-15
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Gigabyte 7950GX2
Enermax Liberty 500W
SB X-Fi

My goal was, but not possible:
Intel Core2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2GHz (9*356)
Corsair Twin2x2048-PC8500 running 1067MHz *(2:3), RATED SPEED(WHAT I PAID FOR)

*The 2:3 is the divider for PC800 when running 266FSB

If you are about to ask me, if I can run 1:2 divider with FSB at 266, nope not possible either.
So with everything at stock speed, I'm NOT able to run a PC8500 system.

Last edited by Exalix; 09-02-2006 at 07:51 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-02-2006, 10:05 AM
Muttley59 Muttley59 is offline
Registered User
Muttley59's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 260898
Muttley59 Reputation: 10
Default

I have a very simaler setup

Intel Core2 Duo Extreme Edition X6800
Corsair Twin2x2048-PC8500C5
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
EVGA GeForce 7900 GTX 512MB GDDR3
Tagan TG1100-U95 1100W ATX2.01 Turbojet Quad SLi
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Its been over 3 years since i built a pc .... was told this was the best mem for this mobo ....... so i would be very interested to see if there is an answer to your problem

Last edited by Muttley59; 09-02-2006 at 10:08 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:24 PM
DSebring DSebring is offline
Registered User
DSebring's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 260959
DSebring Reputation: 10
Default

Well I have a similar problem.

P5W DH Deluxe
Core2 6600
2x CM2X1024-6400C4

I have tried everything and this RAM simply will not run stable at the rated speeds of 4.4.4.12 2.1v

Most stable setup I have been able to get so far is to use the BIOS overclocking at 1333FSB DDR2667, even that's had a few issues.

Every other manual config I have tried fails Prime very quickly or reboots the machine.

So far I am not very happy with this RAM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-05-2006, 04:01 AM
Exalix Exalix is offline
Registered User
Exalix's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 261088
Exalix Reputation: 10
Default

Would be reeeaaally nice if Ram Guy would take a look at my problem

Last edited by Exalix; 09-05-2006 at 09:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-05-2006, 12:58 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 261121
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We have not been able to hit 1066MHZ on the 975 chipsets only 965. About 1000MHZ>< is about average.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-05-2006, 02:58 PM
Exalix Exalix is offline
Registered User
Exalix's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 261148
Exalix Reputation: 10
Default

RAM Guy, thanx for the reply.

OK! That really surprises me!
What about all the websites who reviewed the 8500C5 dimms, they where able to hit speeds around and beyond 1100MHz. Are they lying? Most of them are using 975X based P5W DH Deluxe...
Heres an example:
http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2797&p=15

And those sites made my final buying decisions.

So what about the 6400C3 dimms? Aren't they able to hit the 1066MHz on 975X? Check the link before answer that question....
http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2809&p=4

Last edited by Exalix; 09-05-2006 at 03:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-06-2006, 07:12 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 261241
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Just verified with our LAB guys and ASUS peak on this motherboard is 1000MHZ><. You may want to email the reviewers on how they got their results, but this is our straight up honest answer.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-06-2006, 07:45 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 261260
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Just verified with our LAB guys and ASUS peak on this motherboard is 1000MHZ><. You may want to email the reviewers on how they got their results, but this is our straight up honest answer.
Code:
CPU Ratio                 | Memory Speed | Best Memory Timings / (Voltage) 
Highest Mem Speed (1:2)   |    1104 DDR2 |     5-5-5-15  2.35V
by voiding the warranty apparently :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-08-2006, 01:59 PM
eva2000's Avatar
eva2000 eva2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 175
POST ID # = 261473
eva2000 Reputation: 10
Default

simple fact Asus P5W DH needs a bios update to open up additional memory timings available in memset as the key to clocking memory and fsb higher in async dividers for core 2 duo is tRFC and tRD values and some more vMCH and vdimm volts in some cases.

take a read of my testing on P5W DH that Asus provided me at http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=3034 and divider testing http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?p=47177#post47177

good news is Asus are working on exactly such a bios to open up additional memory timings like they did for P5B DX board :)

I have no probs taking PC6400 Micron D9GMH based memory to 501-513mhz 4-4-4-8 at 2.2v or 540mhz 4-4-4-8 or 555mhz 5-5-5-5 at 2.4v on P5W DH with E6600 or E6700 after tweaking memset timings for tRD and tRFC

HTH

Last edited by eva2000; 09-08-2006 at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:51 PM
Placid666 Placid666 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 261541
Placid666 Reputation: 10
Default

This board really needs bios work as eva2000 posted.

The memory qualification info for the Twinx/XMS2-8500/C5 posted here
http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=52351
shows 1T/2T: 2T

On the asus p5w-dh when in by spd mode the cmd rate is always set to 1T per sisoftware sandra 2007 and same in manual timing mode with no way in in bios to change it.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-09-2006, 05:41 PM
Robolf Robolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 261602
Robolf Reputation: 10
Default

There seem to be many problems overclocking this board over those frequencys like the board is changing its bootstrap (not sure yet on what this is) as reported on the xtremesystems forum.

Maybe have a look there and/or post your problem, odds are the ram is fine but as yet with high FSB the board is doing something and trying to be clever which is causing the problem.

PS I take it disabling Hyper Path 3 doesnt make any difference?

Rob
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-10-2006, 12:24 PM
eva2000's Avatar
eva2000 eva2000 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 175
POST ID # = 261634
eva2000 Reputation: 10
Default

the P5W DH just needs some tender loving care and it clocks fine Not allowed please see the forum rules and Not allowed please see the forum rules

Last edited by RAM GUY; 09-13-2006 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-10-2006, 01:53 PM
Robolf Robolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 261637
Robolf Reputation: 10
Default

Thats pretty impressive mate.

Is that really 128C chip temp?

Rob
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:48 AM
Muttley59 Muttley59 is offline
Registered User
Muttley59's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 261664
Muttley59 Reputation: 10
Default

my question is what is the best ram to use with this mobo bearing in mind i am not overclocking just want it to be quick without muckin about with it .....as i have Rma'd my Corsair Twin2x2048-PC8500C5 and my knowlege with bois settings isnt good ,,,,,,, so if someone can recomend the best ram for the 6800 extreme and the P5W Dh Deluxe it would be realy great
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.