The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > General HoH Stuff > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-07-2006, 03:31 AM
Robolf Robolf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 177
POST ID # = 261294
Robolf Reputation: 10
Default

For those suffering from stability problems with the P5W DH board i would recommend you do your testing with HYPER PATH 3 disabled.

It does say in the help for this setting to disable if you are having stability problems, Im not sure but this probably is effecting the memory settings you are using (as has been known in the past for these memory enhancing features)

Anyway it is worth a try doing it and using the timings ram guy has given, if you get no memory errors in memtest then you are good !

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-20-2006, 02:55 PM
KainTFM KainTFM is offline
Registered User
KainTFM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 262808
KainTFM Reputation: 10
Default

Admittedly, I'm quite new to Overclocking. The information I'm about to give was gleened from a dozen other overclocking and help forums. The one thing I wish to share, because it is something I was never able to find myself, through Google or otherwise, is settings. It's easy to find different timings, but very difficult to find actual stable bios settings.

While using a different motherboard by ASUS, these settings should be (for the most part) compatible with the P5W. For the original posters problem, the ram timings and speed should be helpful. It's my understanding that the CAS Latency and the Address Mode are the most important factors for speeding up RAM, and dropping the speed down to 650 to be 1:1 with the FSB also allowed me to drop those two important timings down considerably. It should also be known that with my particular motherboard at FSB 1334 & Memory 667 failed to boot.

Hardware Configuration:
CPU: e6600 Core2
Motherboard: P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe
RAM: Corsair DDR2 800Mhz SPD Timings 5-5-5-18-22-2T
Video Card: ATI X1900XT 512mb x1
Power Supply: Antec Truepower2 550w
Case: Antec P180
Hard Drive: 2x 320gb Western Digital SATA 3.0gb Transfer
Sound Card: Soundblaster Audigy 4
DVD Burner: NEC 16x


This is the highest stable overclock I've managed to achieve.

JumperFree Configuration:
AI Overclocking: Manual
CPU VCore Voltage: Auto
FSB Termination Voltage: Auto
Memory Voltage: 2.10V
NB Chipset Voltage: 1.50V
SB Chipset Voltage: 1.60V

Performance Options:
FSB Optimize Mode: Disabled

Memory Optimize Mode: Disabled

System Clock Mode: Manual
FSB Clock (Mhz): 1300
Memory Clock (Mhz): 650

PCIE Frequency (Mhz): 100.0000

Memory Timings: Manual
CAS Latency: 3
tRCD: 3
tRP: 3
tRAS: 7
tRC: 10
Address Mode: 1T

CPU Configuration: All Disabled

Chipset:
Memory Remap Feature: Enabled
Primary Graphics Adapter: PCIE1->PCI->PCIE2
PEG Link Mode: Disabled
NB HyperTransport Frequency: 1000 Mhz
SB HyperTransport Frequency: 1000 Mhz

PCIPnP:
Plug And Play O/S: Yes
PCI Latency Timer: 32
Allocate IRP to PCI VGA: No

Hardware Monitor:
Smart Q-FAN Function: Disabled

Hope this will be helpful. While I haven't run any benchmarks, the real world applications (I frequently run encoders such as VirtualDubMod) have been noticably faster than when I was running with 800mhz 4-4-4-10-14-2T 2.1V Timings & Settings.

By the way, if any of my above assumptions are incorrect, please let me know. I'll be checking in on this thread from time to time.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-22-2006, 12:08 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 262977
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Those settings should be fine but the Address Mode should be set to Bios default!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 01-07-2008 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-05-2008, 08:01 AM
killerscamp killerscamp is offline
Registered User
killerscamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 325080
killerscamp Reputation: 10
Default Asus P5w Dh Deluxe - Cm2x1024-6400c4

Dear Sirs,

I'm so "happy" to hear that I'm not the only one having problems with the asus MB and CM2X1024-6400C4. I actually used aprox 50 hours to find out it was the momory that where causing low 5V voltage, lock ups, restarts even in bios mode. I thought it was the powersupply and motherboard which where the problem. Tested the ram in my freinds computer with memtest86 and it showed no problems, so ofcourse it could not be my memory.

The suppliers support forum told me it could be the combination of my RAM and the MB, that where the issue. So I used some money on some cheap Kingston dual speed kvr800d2n5k2 ram. Suddenly the system where 100% stable. Now I'm stuck with two Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4 DDR2 RAM Modules. I thought I tjeked your memory configurator for compability between my motherboard and the ram. The RAM I ordered is on your MC list.

So finally my question.

CM2X1024-6400C4 DDR2 RAM ver2.1 ram where supplied. I actually ordered:

Twin2X 2x1024MB DDR2, PC6400 DDR800, CAS 4-4-4-12.

Is this the same ram or should I contact the supplier and have him deliver new ram for me???????

Best Regards,

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-07-2008, 04:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 325336
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What did you have the memory Voltage set to? And did you test them one at a time with www.memtest.org to make sure one was not failing?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-08-2008, 12:13 PM
killerscamp killerscamp is offline
Registered User
killerscamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 325476
killerscamp Reputation: 10
Default

....ofcourse I set the voltage to 2,1 as specified for this type of ram, also tested each at a time. I'm not in doubt that the CM2X1024-6400C4 DDR2 RAM ver2.1 does not work with my MB. (Maybe the ones I recieved where not good, but I can see other people having problems with excactly this type of RAM.

The Twin2X 2x1024MB DDR2, PC6400 DDR800, CAS 4-4-4-12 is on your memory configurator list, not the CM2X1024-6400C4 DDR2 RAM ver2.1.

But again CM2X1024-6400C4 DDR2 RAM ver2.1 ram where supplied. I actually ordered, where Twin2X 2x1024MB DDR2, PC6400 DDR800, CAS 4-4-4-12.

Is this the same RAM or can I complain for not delivering what I ordered??

Look forward to hear from you, and thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-08-2008, 01:03 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 325484
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Twin2x2048-6400C4 /C4D /C4DHX uses the same memory based on version. Mostly Promos and will all perform the same And all kits are made with Two modules of CM2X1024-6400C4XXX. So yes they are the same part just slightly different package.

Now did you test them one at a time and what were the results in www.memtest.org?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-08-2008, 02:13 PM
killerscamp killerscamp is offline
Registered User
killerscamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 325513
killerscamp Reputation: 10
Default

Yes tested them one at a time. After approxemately 10 sec the test frooze on the Asus P5W DH Deluxe, with each one and two at a time. I used approx 60 hours on these rams, with alle settings possibilities found on the web and in the manual, for both the ram and the MB. Therefore I'm not in doubt, that I can not use the CM2X1024-6400C4 on my board.

So what you say is actually, since it is the same RAM but in a different packaging, I can contact the place I bought the RAM and get new because they are approved on your memory configuration list for the Asus P5W DH Deluxe??

Look forward to hear from you!!

Best Regards,

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:19 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 325544
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
With some MB's (Mostly ASUS) you have to disable legacy USB in the bios when running any memory test.
What were the exact BIOS settings you had set for both CPU and memory?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-08-2008, 04:58 PM
killerscamp killerscamp is offline
Registered User
killerscamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 325557
killerscamp Reputation: 10
Default

I tried a lot of settings

E6750@2,66 - Bios 2406 supporting this cpu and fsb 1333.

fsb: 1056, 1333, 1660 and some between.

Ram: 667, 800 and 834 and some between.

Even with default setting of the bios, the pc could close down
on me, in the middle of changing settings.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-08-2008, 07:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 325572
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That would suggest a thermal or voltage problem with the system and are you sure that MB will support that CPU?
According to the ASUS Spec page it will only support a Front Side Bus 1066/ 800 MHz.
EDIT: I do see where they list that CPU in the CPU support list.

But still shutting down like that would suggest some other problem, I would test the memory in another and MB if possible and check your CPU fan is properly installed.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 01-08-2008 at 07:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-09-2008, 02:07 PM
killerscamp killerscamp is offline
Registered User
killerscamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 325669
killerscamp Reputation: 10
Default

CPU Fan 100% ok installed.
Already tested the RAM in my freinds MB with all the same settings I tried with in my own motherboard ASUS P5W DH Deluxe, it the test memtest86 went well in two minutes, then we stoped. When I test, memtest86 freezes after 10 sec each time.

It is the CM2X1024-6400C4 that does not work together with my MB. The CM2X1024-6400C4 is not on your recommended list, but the CM2x1024-6400(excl C4) is and the Twin2x1048-6400C4 (see order number below) is also on your list. It confuses me that you say that it is excactly the same RAM.

Can you then tell me what the difference is between:

CM2x1024-6400 and CM2x1024-6400C4?????????????? Only difference is C4, what does the C4 stand for??.

And if it is the same, why is CM2x1024-6400C4 not on your memory configuration list???

I know for sure the RAM Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4 I have in my hand, DO NOT work together with my MB. And thats okay, because they are not on your recommended list (Memmory configuration list). But when I looked at your memmory configuation list before I ordered, I looked at Twin2x1048-6400C4 and found that at the supplier. So I expected they would work since they are on your memmory configuation list. But after recieved my order I had the CM2X1024-6400C4 in my hand.

I ordered one Kingston module KVR800D2N5K2/1G, just to se if they worked with my MB. This is the only RAM Kingston recommend for the Asus P5W DH Deluxe MB. This RAM works 100% okay and is totally stable with my MB. Unfortunately it runs with slow timings 5-5-5-5-18.

I would really like to have some Corsair ram with fast timings, atleast 4-4-4-4-12 Twin2x1048-6400C4 as I ordered, but did not get. (again what I got where 4-4-4-4-12 CM2X1024-6400C4)

Cant you see its hard for me to go to the place I bourgt the RAM www.shg.dk and say.......: Corsair recommend the below RAM you have on stock:

Order nr/part nr: 351066 - Corsair Twin2X 2x1024MB DDR2, PC6400 DDR800, CAS 4-4-4-12, TWIN2X2048-6400C4(Please check the order nr. your self SØG in Danish is the same as FIND in english:-) Just put in the part nr. and you have the details for the RAM I ordered)

You (you=www.SHG.dk) have send me some 4-4-4-4-12 CM2X1024-6400C4 which is not on Corsairs recommended list, which I DO KNOW not work on my ASUS P5W ... MB. Can't you see its hard for me, when you say it is excactly the same RAM.

Are you still sure it is the same RAM, have you investigated, do you really know???????
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-09-2008, 05:14 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 325712
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Did you have legacy USB Disabled when you ran www.memtest.org Ver 1.70?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-10-2008, 03:08 PM
killerscamp killerscamp is offline
Registered User
killerscamp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 325883
killerscamp Reputation: 10
Default

It was memtest 3.4 and yes I also tried that!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-10-2008, 06:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 325930
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please use www.memtest.org and make sure that Legacy USB is disabled and I would check for the TRC and its set to 24 and if that MB has Write to Precharge Delayy set it to 15.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.