The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 53 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2007, 02:46 AM
seanriddle seanriddle is offline
Registered User
seanriddle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 278466
seanriddle Reputation: 10
Default Vista 64 crash on D975XBX2 w/ latest BIOS

There are at least 2 of us trying to run Vista 64 on a Bad Axe 2 MB, but having difficulties when we flash the latest 2 BIOSes. Take a look here for more info: http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...0504&forumid=1

Apparently, Intel is saying that the crash is caused by the Corsair RAM.

Has Corsair tested RAM on the D975XBX2 with Vista 64?

Thanks-

Sean
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-17-2007, 03:01 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 278472
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

That's not exactly what Intel is saying in that quote within that thread. They're just saying that they won't guarantee memory running outside of the specs of the board. Status quo frankly.

Corsair Memory Compatible with the Intel D975XBX

NOTE: I'm not sure if that link's info is complete, as it only lists the DDR2 Value Select series, but it also lists performance reports for some of the Twin2X series.

Ram Guy, some clarification please?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-17-2007, 04:04 AM
seanriddle seanriddle is offline
Registered User
seanriddle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 278475
seanriddle Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
That's not exactly what Intel is saying in that quote within that thread. They're just saying that they won't guarantee memory running outside of the specs of the board. Status quo frankly.

Corsair Memory Compatible with the Intel D975XBX

NOTE: I'm not sure if that link's info is complete, as it only lists the DDR2 Value Select series, but it also lists performance reports for some of the Twin2X series.

Ram Guy, some clarification please?
Wired-

But I'm running my system within specs and have exactly the same problem.

Also, this is on the D975XBX2, not the D975XBX.

Thanks-

Sean
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-17-2007, 04:58 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 278476
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

From your posted Link...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel
After an extensive review of the integration and troubleshooting you have performed, we have only found one specific conflict, that might be the cause for the erratic behavior you are having.

Even though the memory tests you have performed have all passed, we are still led to believe that the erratic behavior on your system is related to the voltage of your RAM. The Intel(R) Desktop Board D975XBX2 supports system memory sticks with 1.8V and 1.9V only; and even if the system works with the 2.2V RAM that you are using, problems may appear when applications try to run with instructions stored in the upper areas of the RAM modules.

At this point, our best suggestion would be to test using different RAM, that matches all the compatibility requirements for the board:
1.8 V and 1.9 V DDR2 SDRAM DIMMs
Unbuffered, single-sided or double-sided DIMMs with the following restriction:
Double-sided DIMMs with x16 organization are not supported.
8 GB maximum total system memory
Minimum total system memory: 128 MB
ECC DIMMs and Non-ECC DIMMs
Serial Presence Detect
DDR2 800, DDR2 667, and DDR2 533 MHz SDRAM DIMM
http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...0504&forumid=1

What Intel is saying is that their boards conform to the JEDEC DRAM standards for DDR2 DRAM. 1.8-1.9v so those who want to use Corsair DRAM with Intel boards would do well to purchase DRAM that strictly follows these standards if they wish support from Intel. Now for Enthusiasts this is not good enough and almost all high end DRAM does NOT follow JEDEC voltages for DDRII. Basically 1.8-19v is not enough for 800MHz at 4-4-4-12 and often is not enough for 800Mhz at 5-5-5-15. As well, any other high end DRAM (almost all high end DRAM) that does not follow JEDEC voltages are not supported.

By not supported they mean that if issues arise due to higher voltages, they will not accept responsibility for those issues. There are no motherboard companies that do support outside of JEDEC standards.

Almost all high end DRAM with tight timings have need of higher voltages than JEDEC standards so those who purchase Intel boards had better research well prior to purchasing DRAM or they could likely have issues.

If you check the memory configurator:

http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair...or_search.html

You will see that the D975XBX2 is not even listed for compatibility. The D975XBX is listed and only Value Select 1.8-1.9v is listed.

Last edited by DerekT; 01-17-2007 at 05:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-17-2007, 02:18 PM
seanriddle seanriddle is offline
Registered User
seanriddle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 278553
seanriddle Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
If you check the memory configurator:

http://www.corsairmemory.com/corsair...or_search.html

You will see that the D975XBX2 is not even listed for compatibility. The D975XBX is listed and only Value Select 1.8-1.9v is listed.
Derek-

Hence my question in my original post. Corsair's info says that the memory has been "tested in an Intel-based motherboard at 800MHz" "at the low latencies of (5-5-5-12-T1) at 1.9V" which is exactly what I'm attempting.

I don't believe this is a RAM problem. My exact same system works fine with BIOS 2333 and lower, and I can RAM test all day long with the two problematic BIOSes. It's just when I try to boot Vista 64 with one of the 2 new BIOSes that there is an issue.

What I didn't see in Intel's response is "we have tested Vista 64 on a D975XBX2 with BIOS 2431 and cannot replicate your problem". I'd like to hear from someone who has.

Sean
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-17-2007, 05:17 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 278606
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanriddle View Post
Hence my question in my original post.

What I didn't see in Intel's response is "we have tested Vista 64 on a D975XBX2 with BIOS 2431 and cannot replicate your problem". I'd like to hear from someone who has.
I understand Sean. This is a new and very immature OS. Very few are using it on desktop platforms. There are groups currently beta testing it. You would have to join a Beta Test Group or peruse the MSDN forums for questions of this variety to be answered. I seriously doubt that you will find you answer here.

I will wait until the Vista OS is mature enough to do more than test it with virtualization.

Are you intending on using this OS for your main desktop system?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-17-2007, 05:47 PM
seanriddle seanriddle is offline
Registered User
seanriddle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 278613
seanriddle Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
I understand Sean. This is a new and very immature OS. Very few are using it on desktop platforms. There are groups currently beta testing it. You would have to join a Beta Test Group or peruse the MSDN forums for questions of this variety to be answered. I seriously doubt that you will find you answer here.

I will wait until the Vista OS is mature enough to do more than test it with virtualization.

Are you intending on using this OS for your main desktop system?
Derek-

Yes, this is my main personal desktop system. I've also got business boxes running XP and Server 2003 64, and an HTPC running MCE.

My issue is that Intel says this board will work with Vista, but when asked about the crashes experienced with the latest BIOSes, they point to the RAM, which in this case is Corsair. Maybe I'm mistaken, but I thought this was the official support forum for Corsair. Do you work for Corsair?

I don't think the RAM is the problem, but I need someone to validate that. Or else I can purchase RAM that Intel lists as compatible, and get rid of my Corsair RAM. Then either Vista 64 will work and the Corsair RAM *is* at fault, or it won't work and Intel is just finger-pointing.

Sean
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-17-2007, 07:19 PM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 278645
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanriddle View Post
Do you work for Corsair?
No. I just come here to help. I can see that you do not wish to read what I have to say, so I will just leave this thread. If you wish to see the above issue as DRAM related, then be my guest.

Good luck...
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-17-2007, 07:31 PM
seanriddle seanriddle is offline
Registered User
seanriddle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 278648
seanriddle Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
No. I just come here to help. I can see that you do not wish to read what I have to say, so I will just leave this thread. If you wish to see the above issue as DRAM related, then be my guest.

Good luck...
Derek-

I guess I'm confused- in every post I say I don't think my problem is RAM related. It's Intel that says this crash is RAM related. I don't have any other RAM to test on this system. If I purchase more RAM to test, it will be off Intel's list, which does not include Corsair, so they would be losing a sale. I assume Corsair purchases or borrows MBs to test their RAM on. If they have a D975XBX2, I'd like them to test Vista 64 under BIOS 2395 or 2341 and see if they have the same crash. If so, they are in a much better position to determine whether or not it is their RAM causing the problem, and seek a solution if it is. Intel does not have a system for end users to report problems with this MB, but I'm certain Corsair can communicate with them.

If I want resolution to this issue, then I need to inform the players of the problem- Intel, Microsoft and Corsair. That's why I posted here.

I know you do not have Vista 64, and I'm not sure if you have a D975XBX2. So I'm not sure there's much you can do to help anyway.

Thanks-

Sean
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-17-2007, 08:08 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 278663
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Sean
I am sorry the testing we do is O.S. Independent we are not software engineers, sorry. I would suggest testing your system with www.memtest.org and see if it will pass at least 2-3 passes.
And we have tested this MB and not seen any problems but you have to manually configure the Bios and over clock the CPU to get the memory stable on this MB if you are using 800 Mhz memory. Since officially the Intel I975 Chipset is speced at DDR667 and 800 Mhz would be over clocking. But you can test the modules one at a time and see if you have a failing module and I would set the memory voltage to 2.1 Volts and maybe increase the chipset voltage since you are over clocking at 800 Mhz.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-17-2007, 08:33 PM
seanriddle seanriddle is offline
Registered User
seanriddle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 278673
seanriddle Reputation: 10
Default

RAM Guy-

Thanks for the info. I immediately tested with MEMTEST-86, and see no problems. I don't think it's a RAM issue, but the point here is to satisfy Intel so that they look for the real issue.

I would prefer to test the RAM with no OCing, so Intel can't point to that as being the problem. Would it make sense then to set the RAM speed to 667 MHz in the BIOS and test each DIMM separately?

If I am able to get Vista 64 to boot with *some* BIOS settings, then I'll concede that there is a memory issue. If I can't boot using the most basic (and slow) settings, then I would still argue that it is not a memory problem.

Thanks-

Sean
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-17-2007, 08:36 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 278675
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would set the memory frequency at 667 MHz and then see if you still have the problems with the O.S. One step at a time would be best here. I know it takes more time but it will give you more clear information to solve the problem.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:21 AM
mike123abc mike123abc is offline
Registered User
mike123abc's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 278714
mike123abc Reputation: 10
Default

I have nearly identical setup. XBX2 QX6700 with 4 GB of XMS2 6400C memory. I tried all memory settings to see if this would clear up the problem. I even went down to 400MHZ 6-5-5-18 timings. I also tried 533 and 667. I also tried upping the voltage during these tests too.

I go back to the november bios (11/27/06) and it will boot up again. Have been running over a month with Vista on that BIOS without memory issues at stock 5-5-5-18 1.84 settings (BIOS defaults).

When booting vista RC1 in safe mode it always goes out at crcdisk.sys. I figured t was an SATA driver problem (I have all SATA 1 disk 2 DVD). It will also BSOD on the Vista installation DVD with the newer BIOS.

I have not tried to boot XP up.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:37 AM
mike123abc mike123abc is offline
Registered User
mike123abc's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 278717
mike123abc Reputation: 10
Default

Ok tested with the new BIOS and XP. XP installer seems to work, I did not actually do the install but it boots up to the install section, which has most of windows kernel actually running. I bet it is a driver problem in VISTA RC1 more than a memory problem.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-18-2007, 03:35 AM
seanriddle seanriddle is offline
Registered User
seanriddle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 278728
seanriddle Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike123abc View Post
I have nearly identical setup. XBX2 QX6700 with 4 GB of XMS2 6400C memory. I tried all memory settings to see if this would clear up the problem. I even went down to 400MHZ 6-5-5-18 timings. I also tried 533 and 667. I also tried upping the voltage during these tests too.

I go back to the november bios (11/27/06) and it will boot up again. Have been running over a month with Vista on that BIOS without memory issues at stock 5-5-5-18 1.84 settings (BIOS defaults).

When booting vista RC1 in safe mode it always goes out at crcdisk.sys. I figured t was an SATA driver problem (I have all SATA 1 disk 2 DVD). It will also BSOD on the Vista installation DVD with the newer BIOS.

I have not tried to boot XP up.
Mike-
Thanks a lot for the help. Is this Vista 64 or Vista 32? I've been trying 64.

I also tried many BIOS RAM settings tonight, including 667MHz and 533MHz, 5-5-5-12, 5-5-5-18, 1.84, 1.92, etc. Every time, BIOS 2431 blue screens.

Then I went back to 800MHz, 5-5-5-12, 1.84V and ran MEMTEST-86 for 1 hour 15 minutes with no errors.

Then I had an idea and disabled Core Multi in the BIOS. Sure enough, Vista 64 booted! I ran up CPU-Z (in no-driver mode) and it said 2 cores 2 threads. Normally it says 4 cores 4 threads. Then I tried OCing the CPU at 11x266, 10x300, 11x273 and 11x283, but I got the error message "System BIOS detected unsuccessful POST attempts" with 10x300 and 11x283. I had been running 10x300 just fine with BIOS 2333. I am currently up using 11x273 and everything is running fine (albeit fewer cores). Could you try disabling Core Multi in the BIOS and see if you can boot Vista?

Thanks-

Sean
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.