The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty and RMA Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2004, 12:39 PM
deepblack deepblack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 123478
deepblack Reputation: 10
Default my cmx512 pc3200c2 runs at cl3

hi, first of all i apologize for my bad english, i'm sorry.
now, here comes my problem. in octobre last year i bought a corsair ram cmx512 pc3200c2, together with an amd barton 2500+, i overclocked on fsb 200 and never had any problems, the board was an asus a7n8x deluxe. this year i bought another ram module of the cmx512 pc3200c2, to get 1 gig. the first the day before my second module arrived, my board went bad and asus gave me an a7n8x -e deluxe. since that time i had massive problems with overclocking, it just dind't work. besides the ram module was a bad one two, i had a lot of failures in memtest and other testing porgs.
i sent it back and got another one that worked. on my not oc settings with fsb 166 and cl3, don't ask me why, but the board didn't want more

now i've got a new board, a dfi lanparty ultra B and all overclocking is doing fine, but the ram refuses to work with cl2. my older module does it without probs, but the newer one doesn't do more than 200mhz and cl2.5
yesterday i installed some progs like aida32 and sandra, when i read out the spd i saw the problem, the first module supports cl 2 at fsb 166 or cl 2.5 at fsb 200. the 2. one only supports cl 3 at fsb 200.
this can't be meant by selling a module that should support cl2 at fsb 200

so what shall i do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2004, 05:10 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 123995
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The second module that you have is more than likely at 3200C2 Rev. 3.1 module that is rated at CAS 2.5 @ 200 Mhz on an AMD based system. This is listed on the spec pages for the memory. The modules that you have are built with two different IC's and will perform differently. Please let me know if you continue to have problems. Thanks!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2004, 08:41 PM
deepblack deepblack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 125593
deepblack Reputation: 10
Default

yeah i allready recognized that these are different modules, but besides the rev. they should be equal and the retailer sells them as cl2, so i want that thing to work on cl2.
say, is that normal, that it runs perfectly on cl2.5 with 200mhz although the spd says its a 200mhz cl3??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2004, 02:30 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 126166
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would suggest you use a different module then, either Twinx1024-3200LL or Twinx1024-3200XL will either one run at Cass 2 on Nforce2 chipsets!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CMX512 3200S **SERIOUS*** performance problems with Athlon64 3200+ Clasher Memory 1 06-17-2004 04:32 PM
KV8-MAX3 and Corsair XMS3200 (CL3) memory problem Sloi General Questions 2 06-01-2004 05:00 PM
2x CMX512 PC3200C2 & Shuttle SB75G2 Haenge Memory 6 03-10-2004 12:02 PM
CMX512 3200C2 vs CMX512 3200 (3338) capt_Bama General Questions 9 03-03-2004 04:52 PM
New PC3200C2 won't run at 400mHz. ScottyB General Questions 4 02-11-2004 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.