The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2019, 04:33 PM
lilbud lilbud is offline
Registered User
lilbud's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1005392
lilbud Reputation: 10
Default Corsair K55 Causing Other Software to Crash

Hello,

A few months ago, I purchased a K55 off of Amazon to replace my 10 yr old keyboard.

Ever since getting the K55, just the fact that it is plugged into my computer causes issues. Several software and games will stall for a long time and then crash and lock up my whole computer.

Software I have problems with (let me know if listing these is a no-no):
Retroarch
MAME
Other video game emulators.

The keyboard has been determined to be the root of the issue. Unplugging the keyboard resolves all these issues, which isn't the best option for playing many games in a row. Doesn't matter if ICUE is open or not, lights on or off, etc.

Plugging into a USB3 port seems to fix it, but that is hit or miss.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-22-2019, 05:06 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1005399
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilbud View Post
Hello,

A few months ago, I purchased a K55 off of Amazon to replace my 10 yr old keyboard.

Ever since getting the K55, just the fact that it is plugged into my computer causes issues. Several software and games will stall for a long time and then crash and lock up my whole computer.

Software I have problems with (let me know if listing these is a no-no):
Retroarch
MAME
Other video game emulators.

The keyboard has been determined to be the root of the issue. Unplugging the keyboard resolves all these issues, which isn't the best option for playing many games in a row. Doesn't matter if ICUE is open or not, lights on or off, etc.

Plugging into a USB3 port seems to fix it, but that is hit or miss.
Are you using a controller with the PC? What version of Steam is installed? What version of iCUE? Finally, what firmware is installed to the K55?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-22-2019, 05:17 PM
lilbud lilbud is offline
Registered User
lilbud's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1005404
lilbud Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Calico Jack View Post
Are you using a controller with the PC? What version of Steam is installed? What version of iCUE? Finally, what firmware is installed to the K55?
Okay, in order:

I occasionally use a Dualshock 4 over bluetooth, but it isn't connected that often.

Steam 5.5.99.96

ICue 3.15.101

Firmware 30.06
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-22-2019, 05:47 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1005414
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Install this: http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList...0series_w7.zip

And this: http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList....8.60.3561.zip

See if that helps. This board's a bit old and it might be some kind of issue with the USB chipset for it conflicting with W10. The latest compatibility update stopped at Windows 7.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-22-2019, 09:42 PM
lilbud lilbud is offline
Registered User
lilbud's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1005424
lilbud Reputation: 10
Default

The first file you linked installed perfectly.

The second one won't install at all because my computer, "doesn't meet the minimum requirements for installing this software."
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-23-2019, 01:09 PM
DavieWeegie DavieWeegie is offline
Registered User
DavieWeegie's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1005473
DavieWeegie Reputation: 10
Default

This has been happening for a few years now, theres no fix and Corsair dont seem intrested in fixing the issue.

search the forums for K55 and you'll find numerous threads about it causing problems with making games take ages to load, making games crash, not being able to use any other controllers connected, the leds for caps lock and num lock get stuck on when the problem occurs.

the keyboard needs a firmware update to solve these problems or its fundamentally flawed, but years later Corsair havent fixed it.

heres just some of the threads....

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=171318

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173987

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=187042

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=177336

Last edited by DavieWeegie; 05-23-2019 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.