The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2019, 07:06 AM
Pocah Pocah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 84
POST ID # = 1001823
Pocah Reputation: 10
Default PSU Outputs

Hello!
I want to take power from my PC to some external LEDs.
What I want to do is take 12V from an HDD connector outside of the PC.
This will turn on and off with the PC which is ideal.
Total load will not exceed one amp but what I want to know is should I connect a fuse inline just to be safe? Or is the PSU protected well enough that it isn't needed?
The PC is a media PC so it has a minimal PSU in it, a CX430 however I am considering replacing it with an RM550x.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-18-2019, 02:25 PM
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 288
POST ID # = 1001848
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

We wouldn't suggest powering anything with the PSU that wasn't designed to be powered by one. If you cause damage to the device or the PSU by using it outside of its intended use you would not be covered by the warranty.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-19-2019, 04:52 AM
Pocah Pocah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 84
POST ID # = 1001888
Pocah Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Notepad View Post
We wouldn't suggest powering anything with the PSU that wasn't designed to be powered by one. If you cause damage to the device or the PSU by using it outside of its intended use you would not be covered by the warranty.
So you are telling me it's not suitable to drive a PC led strip that is just outside the case instead of inside the case?
Sorry but I find that answer really annoying. All it's done is to sidetrack my thread and probably killed it now. I am not concerned about the warranty and I don't want to wander off in to a debate about suitability. All I wanted to know is if the 12V outputs on a Corsair PSU are protected or not. I mean why couldn't you just answer the question?
Whatever, I will fit a fuse. I mean I have four PC's and this is an unimportant one. I wouldn't even bother to return the PSU if it failed.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-19-2019, 01:09 PM
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 288
POST ID # = 1001924
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

You never said they were PC led strips you just stated external LEDs. But once again if you are using the PSU outside of its intended use and modifying it in anyway you void any warranty.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.