The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2014, 02:03 AM
aritzilla aritzilla is offline
Registered User
aritzilla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 705500
aritzilla Reputation: 10
Default Force GS 128 GB impossible secure erase after firmware update

Hi,

I have a SSD Force GS 128 GB, some months ago I did a secure erase without problems, but now I can´t.

I have the same computer and the same parted magic version and it doesn´t work. SSD continues frozen after sleep (some months ago it worked well). If I use the latest parted magic version, computer freeze after sleep it.

The only difference is that some months ago i updated SSD´s firmware, using Corsair SSD Toolbox, to 5.07 (before it was 5.05A).

What can i do to secure erase my SSD?

Here isn´t available 5.05a firmware for this SSD. is it possible to return to firmware 5.05A?

Thanks

My pc is:
Asrock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 bios 1.40 (latest)
AMD FX 6300
8 GB RAM Kingston
Sapphire r7 240 1 gb ddr5

Last edited by aritzilla; 04-15-2014 at 07:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-15-2014, 11:35 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 705665
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Have you tried a different SATA port and cable?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-16-2014, 07:05 PM
aritzilla aritzilla is offline
Registered User
aritzilla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 705774
aritzilla Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Have you tried a different SATA port and cable?
Yes, i have tried it but it hasn´t worked, Parted Magic sleep my computer and SSD continues frozen and i can´t secure erase it
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-16-2014, 08:56 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 705781
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Have you tried secure erasing with the SSD Toolbox?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-17-2014, 03:47 AM
aritzilla aritzilla is offline
Registered User
aritzilla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 705813
aritzilla Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
Have you tried secure erasing with the SSD Toolbox?
Ssd toolbox does not secure erase system drives and my ssd is a system drive.how can i use it to secure erase my ssd?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-17-2014, 12:16 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 705855
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Do you have a spare drive you can temporarily load with an OS? Or, do you have access to another system you could try to use either PM or the Corsair Toolbox?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.