The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2015, 02:22 AM
Combi Combi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 815692
Combi Reputation: 10
Default DIMM A1 and A2 not working -ASUS Z170

Hi All

I recently bought an ASUS z170 pro gaming motherboard along with corsair CMK16GX4M2A2400C14.

When installing ram on DIMM A2 and B2 i get a red dram led error. I then changed the position of the RAM and only DIMM B1 and B2 seemed to work.

Does anyone know if this is a CPU issue or just incompatibility of RAM with motherboard?

Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-22-2015, 03:19 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 815699
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Neither A1 or A2 work at all?

Then maybe you have bent pins in the socket or some other problem with the first memory channel.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-22-2015, 09:24 AM
Combi Combi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 815733
Combi Reputation: 10
Default

Hi emissary42 thanks for the reply...Perhaps i will re-sit the CPU before sending back the RAM, as perhaps they are not compatible with the motherboard.

Anything else i need to check?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-22-2015, 12:34 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 815757
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

It does not sound like a problem with the memory itself. If that was the case, one or both modules would not work in any slot at all. Since both modules seem to run just fine in the channel B slots, it is mot likely an issue with CPU or MB (of which bent pins is the most common one).
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-23-2015, 03:07 AM
Combi Combi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 815896
Combi Reputation: 10
Default

If i place then on DIMM B1 and B2, PC is working fine. Installed windows and programs and i was able to work with it. So i'm guessing CPU is functional.

Now the RAM I have (CMK16GX4M2A2400C14) are not included in pdf that ASUS certifies as compatible. So i will change them and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-28-2015, 10:42 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 816720
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

Have you tried using just one memory stick and installing it in each of the 4 slots, one after the other to see what, if any errors you get?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-29-2015, 03:08 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,317
POST ID # = 816998
Greybeard Reputation: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Combi View Post
If i place then on DIMM B1 and B2, PC is working fine. Installed windows and programs and i was able to work with it. So i'm guessing CPU is functional.
If you have done this, then there is a good chance the issue is originating from the MB.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-05-2015, 09:16 AM
juli6154 juli6154 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 818164
juli6154 Reputation: 10
Default

Hello, i am having exactly the same problem. Did you solve it?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-07-2015, 12:55 AM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 249
POST ID # = 818476
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

I'm using the exact same board and exact same DIMMs in A1 and B1 with no issues.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-08-2015, 10:46 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 209
POST ID # = 818815
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

definitely seems like a motherboard issue, asus has come up short more than a few times in my shop
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-30-2016, 07:08 PM
loiphin loiphin is offline
Registered User
loiphin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 864961
loiphin Reputation: 10
Default

I have exactly the same problem. This is some kind of incompatibility between the Asus Z170 Pro Gaming mobo and Crucial / Corsair memory. I had read reports that G.Skill are okay with the mobo.

In my case I have been testing with with Crucial Ballistix Sport 2400 and can either do a single 8GB DIMM in A1 or A2 if I remember right (didnt try any other combos) or 16GB in B1/B2. Testing the 16GB now as I write this and all seems okay. All settings are Auto in the bios (1904) and RAM is detected as 2400MHz.

There are tons of people complaining about the Asus Z170 Pro Gamer and Crucial/Corsair memory. Search for it on this forum and its a popular thread.

So it seems the options are single channel mode or 2133MHZ for now. I couldnt get them to work in A2/B2 at 2133Mhz so resorted to single channel mode.

Worst part is that I ordered some expensive Crucial LPX 2 x 8GB DDR4 3000 (which is on the Asus QVL), but still people are complaining about it that it only runs at 2133MHz and is dead in XMP.

What an absolute ballsup this whole Z170 memory thing is :(

I am not happy :(
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-18-2016, 04:08 AM
FireCulex FireCulex is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 882900
FireCulex Reputation: 10
Default

Same problem with G.Skill F4-2133C15D-16GRR A1 and A2 won't POST. Have to stick both dimms in B1 and B2 and use single channel mode and live with half the multicore read and write performance.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cpu, dimm, gaming, pro, z170

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.