The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2018, 02:37 PM
Honu Honu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 984008
Honu Reputation: 10
Default Feature Request - Screen Sampling

Hi,

I'd like to request a 'screen sampling' option for iCue. Basically, it would be an 'Ambilight' type feature that takes the output on screen and sets the RGB lighting to match. Some implementations take the 'average' color and set the RGB to this color, and others take a bitmap type image and set the hardware to match the pattern of the bitmap. Logitech calls this LightSync and there is also a 3rd party solution out there called Aurora that does this quite well.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2018, 09:19 PM
hastegag hastegag is offline
Registered User
hastegag's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northeast US
Posts: 896
POST ID # = 984089
hastegag Reputation: 20
Default

Darth Affe's SDK/cue.net written in c sharp works reasonably well, and is available here:

https://github.com/DarthAffe/CUE.NET

I hadnt used before but just tried it and it works great for keyboard and I was even able to add:

CueSDK.MouseSDK.Brush = ambilightBrush;
CueSDK.MousematSDK.Brush = ambilightBrush;
etc
but I am not sure if he has the fans and other things integrated yet, I may be misreading it and able to use his generic thing.

it also seemed that the brush for mousemat wasnt working as anticipated, but i was just using the keyboard brush and I am sure if i read through it thered be a better way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2019, 02:05 PM
logue1993 logue1993 is offline
Lacanian Wizard's Logue93
logue1993's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1005269
logue1993 Reputation: 10
Thumbs up Please take this into consideration!

Having just bought a commander pro, a corsair lighting node pro and 2 extra lighting kits, I think this is a really nice feature to take into consideration for future developments of iCUE. I have set ambilight for my monitor and to the side of my case in such ways that if iCUE was able to synchronize the color of my screen (as some sort of average) and also some spots of the screen (since the LED strips on my monitor are all around it (4 in total - 2 on the top, 1 on each side, since I have a 34" ultrawide), it'd be AMAZING to watch movies and TV shows here, as well as YT, Netflix and such. Also for gaming, it'd be 'hellalotmore immersive' (branding material for you guys to add as functionality of iCUE ). I mostly use VLC to watch stuff, but I imagine that if this were to be implemented, it'd be probably some low-level stuff, with more to do with the image sent by the GPU to the screen or something along those lines.

Anyway, just wanted to bump this up and see if we can hear anything about it being implemented in the future. Would that be possible, can we expect it, or it just out of question? If the latter, the only way around it would probably be implementing it myself?

Thnx in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2019, 11:10 AM
sargrvb sargrvb is offline
Registered User
sargrvb's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1015661
sargrvb Reputation: 10
Default

I've also been waiting on this for ages. This is literally the last thing keeping me from recommending Corsair over Phillips Hue when it comes to Ambient lighting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
feature request

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.