The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2018, 05:15 PM
Bynming Bynming is offline
Registered User
Bynming's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 979235
Bynming Reputation: 10
Default Corsair iCUE using CPU

Hello guys. So I suspect people have posted about this before but it's a bit of a concern of mine. I currently run iCUE on my PC because as far as I can tell it's the most effective way to control the light of my RAM and H115i RGB, as well as the fan curve of the radiator fans.

Unfortunately, it's a pretty hefty process to let run in the background, consistently hogging 4-5% of my 9900k through "Corsair service" and anothe 0.1-0.5% from the iCUE process itself. Now, 5% may not seem like much but these little things add up, between the antivirus, the various chatting/voice software, the motherboard RGB controls and the mouse management meme. Thankfully these other control programs usually use well below 1% of CPU. I know it's not a huge deal but I've tested it out and it does hurt my synthetics scores so it's not entirely without consequence. I gain an easy 50 points on Cinebench by turning off iCUE which, in turn, shuts down the Corsair.service. The downside is that then, the pump RGB starts doing its own thing :P

I don't know if there's anything I can do on my end or if perhaps Corsair should put a leash on that process ^^


Last edited by Bynming; 11-06-2018 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2018, 05:50 PM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 262
POST ID # = 979249
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

It is commonly acknowledged around here :)

Look at the thread with the most posts.

It can be 10% here (iCUE+Service)

Nothing I can feel while using the PC, only measure.

To me the worst is not the CPU usage, but the little bit of heat generated for no reason that keeps the coolant a couple degrees higher than what it should be.

I'm sure Corsair knows about it by now.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2018, 07:01 PM
Bynming Bynming is offline
Registered User
Bynming's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 979257
Bynming Reputation: 10
Default

It seems to be ongoing then, that's kind of disappointing :(
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2018, 01:09 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,276
POST ID # = 979301
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

They are working on it.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2018, 05:31 AM
Sacco Belmonte's Avatar
Sacco Belmonte Sacco Belmonte is offline
Registered User
Sacco Belmonte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 262
POST ID # = 979313
Sacco Belmonte Reputation: 10
Default

Are they for real? That would be great news if that's true.
__________________
Do NOT mix PSU cables.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2018, 09:01 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,276
POST ID # = 979321
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacco Belmonte View Post
Are they for real? That would be great news if that's true.
They are always working on iCue and its various aspects. And yes, that includes the performance.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2018, 02:17 AM
So1iton So1iton is offline
Registered User
So1iton's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 979590
So1iton Reputation: 10
Default

I seen the CPU usage change over the last few versions and it also seems to be dependent on the devices connected.
CPU usage under version 3.799 was fine until I installed a ST100 RGB. Corsair Services used ~1% and iCUE ~4.5%. After installing version 3.8.91, both came down to ~1%. And now version 3.9.93 seems to be even better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.