The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2003, 01:03 PM
embeejay embeejay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76558
embeejay Reputation: 10
Default MSI 865PE NEO2 LS & TwinX1024-3200LL stability issues

Hi all, I have just installed my new motherboard/ram/cpu which are as follows:

Mobo: MSI 865PE NEO2 LS
Ram: Corsair TwinX1024-3200LL
CPU: Intel P4 2.8GHz with 800MHz fsb and HyperThreading

I then installed a fresh copy of Windows XP Professional

I have not overlocked the cpu and have set the bios on "slow" setting (lowest chipset timings)

I have then disabled the SPD setup of the ram and set it manually.

I have tried every setting from 2-3-2-6 as the ram is build for up to 2.5-4-4-8

I have run memtest86 with the 2-3-2-6 setting and 2-4-4-8 and both ran without any errors.

now my problem is:

I experience lots of random crashes in WinXP, they happen no matter what but more frequestly when running tighter ram timings (at 2-3-2-6 WinXP tends to crash within 5 minutes of login)

the system seems pretty stable at 2.5-4-4-8 which is the slowest setting possible, but it doesn't seem right to me that i should have to run at this setting when i have paid alot of money for fast ram.

I have tried every voltage setting for the ram between 2.55 and 2.75 and it seems most stable on 2.7

but still the computer is far from stable unless I completely cribble the speed settings.

The rest of my system setup is:

Video card: MSI G4Ti4400-VTD (Nvidia TI4400)
2 * Promise Ultra100Tx2 PCI IDE controllers
11 120 GB harddrives seagate/Western Digital/Maxtor

A plextor plexwriter 24/10/40A

All drivers are the newest possible digitally signed version for every hardware unit

Ideas for making this system stable would be very appriciated

Regards

Martin
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-04-2003, 08:05 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 76665
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry that you are having trouble, but I would suggest that you try setting the timings to By SPD and set the DDR Voltage to 2.7 Volts and Disable USB Legacy support. If you still get errors I would test the modules one at a time with www.memtest86.com.
Ram Guy
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-04-2003, 08:17 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,527
POST ID # = 76671
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Also, I would do a search here at the HoH forums under the General, Compatibility, and Enthusiasts sections for MSI MOBOs. There have been several posters here with MSI 875 and 865 boards that have had various issues. Hopefully, someone has found a resolution that will help you.

Good luck, Mike.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-05-2003, 09:47 AM
embeejay embeejay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76770
embeejay Reputation: 10
Default

Hi and thx for your suggestions :)

I have no errors when running memtest at any settings - i never had usb legacy support enabled (i had already read throgh the forum before posting and seen the usual suggestions)

I have tried now to set by spd and voltage to 2.7 and the same thing - zero erros in memtest.

The things is that the ram seems to be working fine, i just cannot get the system to be stable unless i cribble the ramtimings - maybe i need to reinstall windows, although i am doubtfull to weather or not it will help. Maybe it is a problem with the motherboard?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-05-2003, 11:37 AM
babyface uk babyface uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76778
babyface uk Reputation: 10
Default

Hi there,

Same problem here, I got exactly the same setup as you and can only get a stable system on 2.5 cas, 2 cas is a no go, me thinks that msi boards have a LARGE problem with this ram,

anyone with any ideas on how we can fix this or are we stuck.

Babyface uk.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-05-2003, 11:45 AM
embeejay embeejay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76780
embeejay Reputation: 10
Default solution... maybe...

ok i went and did something seemingly futile, but it might just have worked...

My system has been running stable now for 2 hours on the following settings:

ram timings: 2-3-3-6
ram voltage: 2.8
fsb speed: 225
system setting: Turbo (there is a choice between slow, fast, turbo and ultra-turbo)

the reason i tried the overclocking was because i read somehwere that som msi boards has problems with tight ram timings at ceratin fsb settings so i figured "maybe mine has this problem at the default fsb setting"

so now i have a, seemingly, stable system that runs 3,16GHz and 900 Mhz on the fsb instead og 2.8Ghz with 800 MHz fsb... and pretty tight ram timings...

been running sisoft sandras burn-in test for 2 hours now without any stability problems... weird but hey, i'll take it ;)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-05-2003, 02:11 PM
babyface uk babyface uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76816
babyface uk Reputation: 10
Default

what ram speed does it say you run at in bios?? 400 or more/less?? plus in sandra whats your meg per sec in ram test??

Many thanks,

Babyface uk
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-05-2003, 02:17 PM
embeejay embeejay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76818
embeejay Reputation: 10
Default

i set the bios to auto detect (or is it default it is called?) so it is running 1:1 (or 400 if you wish)

sandra test: (i set the bus to 225 in the bios, not sure why the mobo makes it into 226)

Int Buffered iSSE2 (Integer STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 3377MB/s
Scaling : 3370MB/s
Addition : 3315MB/s
Triad : 3321MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes

Float Buffered iSSE2 (Float STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 3360MB/s
Scaling : 3353MB/s
Addition : 3339MB/s
Triad : 3334MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes

Test Status
Memory Used by Test : 512MB
SMP Test : No
Total Test Threads : 1
SMT Test : Yes
No Test SMT (per CPU) : 2
Dynamic MP/MT Load Balance : No
Processor Affinity : No

System Chipset
Model : Micro-Star International Co Ltd (MSI) Unknown (2570)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 226MHz (904MHz data rate)
Max. Bus Bandwidth : 7232MB/s (estimated)

Features
MMX Technology : Yes
SSE Technology : Yes
SSE2 Technology : Yes
HTT - Hyper-Threading Technology : Yes
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-05-2003, 02:54 PM
babyface uk babyface uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76825
babyface uk Reputation: 10
Default

heres mine with no o/cing


Int Buffered iSSE2 (Integer STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 3589MB/s
Scaling : 3586MB/s
Addition : 3562MB/s
Triad : 3593MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes

Float Buffered iSSE2 (Float STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 3570MB/s
Scaling : 3563MB/s
Addition : 3560MB/s
Triad : 3562MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes

Test Status
Memory Used by Test : 512MB
SMP Test : No
Total Test Threads : 1
SMT Test : Yes
No Test SMT (per CPU) : 2
Dynamic MP/MT Load Balance : No
Processor Affinity : No

System Chipset
Model : Micro-Star International Co Ltd (MSI) Unknown (2570)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 201MHz (804MHz data rate)
Max. Bus Bandwidth : 6432MB/s (estimated)

Features
MMX Technology : Yes
SSE Technology : Yes
SSE2 Technology : Yes
HTT - Hyper-Threading Technology : Yes


when i go to cas2 in bios then i can run sandra ( just ) and get a average mem bandwith near 4300 mb/sec, but then unstable, the ram don't get near the fsb limit that you up'd if anything your mb/sec ram bandwidth in a bit less than mine.

Babyface uk.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-05-2003, 03:04 PM
babyface uk babyface uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76831
babyface uk Reputation: 10
Default

then again if you have gone to a stable 3.16 gig, much better performance increase than uping the ram bandwith so i would not moan about it lol.

Out of interest do you have stock cooling and what temp is your processor running at, mines at 68 - 70 c. a little hot if you ask me.

Babyface uk.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-05-2003, 04:25 PM
babyface uk babyface uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76840
babyface uk Reputation: 10
Default

should of been clearer, 70 c on full load 50 c idle
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-05-2003, 05:50 PM
embeejay embeejay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76857
embeejay Reputation: 10
Default

mine runs at 36C idle 55C full load

i use stock cooling but with arctic silver II thermal compound between the heatsink and the cpu (i scraped off the goo that was at the bottom of the heatsink and cleaned it off with petroleum before i installed it)

my case also has loads of fans (mostly because of all the harddrives - it gets damn hot in there ;)

Right now i am just sorry i didn't buy faster ram than pc3200 since the cpu seems to be able to overclock like forever - i haven't even upped the cpu voltage from standard and it runs fine at 360MHz over standard...

i bet if i put in a better cooler, switched the northbridge cooler and put in some better ram this cpu would run 3.5 GHz without probs - prolly more :/

i have tried to go over the 225 tho and the ram fails, even at loose timings
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-05-2003, 07:22 PM
embeejay embeejay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 76879
embeejay Reputation: 10
Default yeeees now we are talking :))

it seems i had been daft enough to install my ram in the wrong memory banks, so it ran in single channel mode *yells DOH! homer style*

i now reinstalled the ram so it runs dual channel, rest is same setup as before, but behold the new benchmarks ;))

SiSoftware Sandra

Int Buff iSSE2 (Integer STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 5166MB/s
Scaling : 5166MB/s
Addition : 5351MB/s
Triad : 5393MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes
Bandwidth Efficiency : 73% (estimated)

Float Buff iSSE2 (Float STREAM) Results Breakdown
Assignment : 5152MB/s
Scaling : 5153MB/s
Addition : 5360MB/s
Triad : 5354MB/s
Data Item Size : 16-bytes
Buffering Used : Yes
Offset Displacement Used : Yes
Bandwidth Efficiency : 73% (estimated)

Test Status
Memory Used by Test : 512MB
NUMA Support : No
SMP Test : No
Total Test Threads : 1
SMT Test : Yes
Number of Test SMT (per CPU) : 2
Dynamic MP/MT Load Balance : No
Processor Affinity : No

Chipset 1
Model : Micro-Star International Co Ltd (MSI) 82865G\PE\P Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 226MHz (904MHz data rate)
Width : 64-bit
Maximum Bus Bandwidth : 7232MB/s (estimated)

Logical/Chipset 1 Memory Banks
Bank 0 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 2.0-3-3-6CL 1CMD
Bank 1 : 512MB DDR-SDRAM 2.0-3-3-6CL 1CMD
Channels : 2
Speed : 2x 226MHz (452MHz data rate)
Width : 64-bit
Performance Acceleration Technology : No
Maximum Memory Bus Bandwidth : 7232MB/s (estimated)

Features
MMX Technology : Yes
SSE Technology : Yes
SSE2 Technology : Yes
SSE3 Technology : No
HTT - Hyper-Threading Technology : Yes
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-05-2003, 07:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,267
POST ID # = 76882
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you all for sharing your info as it may be helpful to another user who has this MB. And it sounds like you have them up and running. If there are any questions please let me know. Either by PM or start a new thread.
Ram Guy
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-26-2003, 04:49 PM
deegan deegan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 80885
deegan Reputation: 10
Default

Guys.

THis thread has been invaluable as I have the exact same configuration. I have a question for you though. What setting do you guys have for dynamic overclocking. I notice that the higher up the ranks I go (i.e. Corporal, Captain, Colonel), the worse my memory benchmark seems to be. I was thinking of setting it to the lowest setting (Private) and see how it goes.

Also, it was my understanding that the MAT/PAT technology built into this motherboard could only be activated on Ultra Turbo mode. I dont know about both of you, but I cant even get the system to POST under that mode. The settings you have Embeejay, work great in my machine.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TwinX PC3200LL & MSI 865PE Neo2 FIS2R Streifenkarl Memory 9 06-07-2004 10:17 AM
TWINX 512 PC3200 / MSI 865PE Neo2 /P4 2.66 colorchangin General Questions 1 05-02-2004 01:04 AM
MSI 865PE Neo2 FIS2R and TwinX 3200LL TJNut Memory 5 03-09-2004 08:19 PM
MSI 865PE Neo2 + Corsair XMS TWINX3200C2PRO Problem Atmospherian Memory 1 02-25-2004 10:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.