Corsair Community

CRC Error on new built computer CMT12GX3M3A2000C9

FredrikLindahl

Hi Ram Guy,

So I built a new computer which worked like a charm until a begin some unpacking and installing some larger files.

Note, I'm no big expert on computers and overclocking. I rarley overclock my computer unless I really need that extra power.

The problem:

CRC errors when unpacking large data files, such as ISO or installing large files. I tried to redownload the files as I suspected it might be corrupt but still CRC.

Addition to the Specs: I have 4x4GB of CMT12GX3M3A2000C9 installed. It's a set of 3 plus 1 extra, all have same labeling, version and number.

What I have tried so far:

- Maked sure all drivers are up to date, including BIOS.

- Tried unpacking and installed the files to a separate standard HDD, still CRC error.

- Run HD-tune test on my SSD to check for faults. No errors found.

- Changed the RAM around, tested with 3, 2 and finally only 1 stick in the correct slots according to MOBO manual. Still CRC.

- Memtested all 4 sticks and individual checks, shows no errors on the RAM

- Tested RAM at BIOS default latency and voltage. 1333mhz 7-8-7-20 1.5 v

- Tested the recommended latency as per the labeling of the RAM 2000mhz (running 1866mhz) 9-10-9-27 1.65v

- Increased the voltage to 1.25v on VCCIO (was recomended by someone on this forum to give it some extra power)

I have not yet reinstalled OS which will be the next step if nothing else works.

So what can I do further? Any advice?

Can it be the SSD?

Is my PSU to weak?

I have later discoverd that the my RAM is not on the recommended list for my MOBO, could it simply be a compability problem?

Since the RAM and MOBO was gifted I did not had a chance to check the compability, I could probably get them changed but it would be quite a process.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Fredrik

. I rarley overclock my computer unless I really need that extra power.