The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2018, 12:19 AM
macmuchmore macmuchmore is offline
Registered User
macmuchmore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 949628
macmuchmore Reputation: 10
Default installed H150i PRO RGB and now CPU is dead

Hi - As the title says, my i7-7700k is now dead after installing the H150i PRO RGB. I carefully removed the noctua heatsink I had been using on my 3 month old pc, then installed the H150i PRO RGB. When I booted the first time, I got the code from my motherboard that there was a hardware fault. After removing all components except the cpu, ram, video card, and boot drive, I tried again and received the same error. I changed motherboards to a new Asus Strix z270e, and got the same error. I then removed the video card and the boot drive - and I got the same error as well. That leaves it to be either RAM or CPU. Since the motherboard has a different code for memory problems, I am pretty sure the CPU is bad. I installed the H150i PRO RGB according to the instructions and I would like to know how it could have killed mu CPU... Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-11-2018, 12:25 AM
gamingking3 gamingking3 is offline
Registered User
gamingking3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 949630
gamingking3 Reputation: 10
Default

did u used the right amount of compound paste? and did u connect the pump header to the right area i make that mistake n almost fried my CPU
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-11-2018, 03:46 AM
mondenath mondenath is offline
Registered User
mondenath's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 165
POST ID # = 949650
mondenath Reputation: 10
Default

it cant be. These boards are very sensitive when the cpu fan is 0 it wont even power up the pc . Check if something wrong else where .
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-11-2018, 08:14 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 949669
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

Did you have something (either the small fan cable from the cooler or a fan) plugged into the CPU_FAN header on the motherboard? If you didn't you will get a hardware error and it will not boot.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-11-2018, 08:24 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,184
POST ID # = 949673
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

You are probably looking for something else. Current kills. Heat usually does not and CPUs don't melt in 5 seconds or 5 minutes.

What is the Q-code?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-11-2018, 11:08 PM
macmuchmore macmuchmore is offline
Registered User
macmuchmore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 949821
macmuchmore Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snapper69 View Post
Did you have something (either the small fan cable from the cooler or a fan) plugged into the CPU_FAN header on the motherboard? If you didn't you will get a hardware error and it will not boot.

OMG I feel like an idiot. I plugged the AIO (my first btw) into the fan header marked specifically for AIOs and did not plug it into the CPU fan header. Switched it to the CPU fan header and all is well... Thanks for the advice. In all my years, I have never had this happen..... sigh.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-12-2018, 04:46 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 949851
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

We all make mistakes, said the hedgehog climbing off the hairbrush.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-12-2018, 05:42 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,029
POST ID # = 949856
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmuchmore View Post
OMG I feel like an idiot.
We all make mistakes at times dude... a least you was man enough to own up to it :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by snapper69 View Post
We all make mistakes, said the hedgehog climbing off the hairbrush.
LOL!
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-12-2018, 06:01 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,184
POST ID # = 949858
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I think the board makers can share in the blame on this. They know full well something has to be on CPU fan to boot, but did not make a bypass when using the aio header. And there is the heart of the issue: an AIO header on Asus boards is just a CHA/case fan header set to 100% by default. No other special qualities and it isn’t always in a useful place for that purpose. The manual likely says nothing about this and the name would lead you to believe that’s where it should go.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 04-12-2018, 09:56 PM
macmuchmore macmuchmore is offline
Registered User
macmuchmore's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 949956
macmuchmore Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
I think the board makers can share in the blame on this. They know full well something has to be on CPU fan to boot, but did not make a bypass when using the aio header. And there is the heart of the issue: an AIO header on Asus boards is just a CHA/case fan header set to 100% by default. No other special qualities and it isn’t always in a useful place for that purpose. The manual likely says nothing about this and the name would lead you to believe that’s where it should go.
This is SO TRUE! If the bleeping manual had had the correct information in it, I would not have tried to use the AIO header. Anyways, thanks for the help. :-)

Now I am going to start another thread about why the pump really only fits with the logo upside down. :-(
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 04-18-2018, 07:32 AM
will_s will_s is offline
Registered User
will_s's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 116
POST ID # = 950875
will_s Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
I think the board makers can share in the blame on this. They know full well something has to be on CPU fan to boot, but did not make a bypass when using the aio header. And there is the heart of the issue: an AIO header on Asus boards is just a CHA/case fan header set to 100% by default. No other special qualities and it isn’t always in a useful place for that purpose. The manual likely says nothing about this and the name would lead you to believe that’s where it should go.

But you can go into the BIOS and under monitor change it to ignore


I had plugged my one into the CPU Opt header........so changed it to ignore and no problems
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 04-18-2018, 12:42 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,184
POST ID # = 950938
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by will_s View Post
But you can go into the BIOS and under monitor change it to ignore


I had plugged my one into the CPU Opt header........so changed it to ignore and no problems
While that ultimately may put you in a functional state, you are bypassing the safety feature which is in place for a reason. If your pump does not start on AIO, W_Pump, or CPU Fan (ignore), you won't know until the temps hit the limit and the PC shutdown. The boot warning is useful for some people.

Additionally, it does not change the fact that on Asus boards, these AIO or Water Pump headers are a less functional version of a Chassis fan. You didn't get extra headers. They took CHA fans away and put a AIO header in its place. You could already set the CHA to run 100%, so this really is not a gain in control options. It is often less.

If you have an Asus board, the OPT header mimics the CPU header, so you still need to properly disable CPU fan control or you won't get the required power on coolers that draw from that source.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.