The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2012, 03:48 AM
BF3Addict BF3Addict is offline
Registered User
BF3Addict's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 558879
BF3Addict Reputation: 10
Default Fans not working when connected to link

I installed the link and hooked up five different fans (3 X 200, 1 X 220 and 1 X 120) to the fan node. The H80 radiator fans remain connected to the waterblock, but I connected the waterblock to the main link unit. I also installed the lighting node and three LED strips.

When I turned the computer on, the case fans briefly lit up and started spinning, but then they all died. The computer itself continued to boot normally. Since the CPU fans for the H80 were still connected to the motherboard thru the H80 waterblock/pump they continued to work properly so I let things continue.

My first thought was I was drawing too much power thru that node, but the fans only draw about 0.3A each so that shouldn't be a problem.

Yes I checked all my power connections to make sure the plugs were all properly seated. I also doubled checked to see if all the rest of the connections were correct. The LED's work great.

Anybody else have a problem like this? I had to plug all the fans back into the mobo for now.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-01-2012, 08:54 PM
GTXJackBauer's Avatar
GTXJackBauer GTXJackBauer is offline
Liquid Cooling Addict
GTXJackBauer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 290
POST ID # = 559053
GTXJackBauer Reputation: 16
Default

I think you might be over drawing too much power from the fan node and might need another fan node cause those big fans + 120 suck up a lot of power. Don't forget that each fan node can only handle up to 4 amps total. You might have gone past 4 amps. Those big 200s could be anywhere from .60 amps to 1 amp per alone and you got 3 on it plus the other fans. My fans (120) are .20 amps each. I highly doubt all the fans are the same amp cause size does matter and highly doubt again that all your fans are .3 amps each or you meant to say .30 amp amps.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:26 PM
BF3Addict BF3Addict is offline
Registered User
BF3Addict's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 559071
BF3Addict Reputation: 10
Default

I thought that at first too. Here's the summation of the fan power draw.

200mm: 0.28A max, 3.36W (times 4 is about 1.2A, 13.2W)
120mm: 0.35A (no watts given)

Total amperage is only 1.6A (rounding up). I can't get to the 220mm to check its power draw, so I just assumed it was the same as the 200mm fans. But even if it's twice the 200mm fan that still leave plenty of margin.

I'll have to double check it, but I don't think it was able to drive even a single fan.

I'd love to talk to tech support about it, but there is no tech support number to call. Hence my post here.

Last edited by BF3Addict; 02-01-2012 at 10:30 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-01-2012, 11:07 PM
GTXJackBauer's Avatar
GTXJackBauer GTXJackBauer is offline
Liquid Cooling Addict
GTXJackBauer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 290
POST ID # = 559080
GTXJackBauer Reputation: 16
Default

hmmm interesting.....well I went around and saw a guy named Corsair George on another post in this forum stating this and hope this info helps ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair George View Post
Corsair Link's fan controller attempts to determine the minimum and maximum true RPM of a fan. The fan controller is actually PWM, so it sets a duty cycle for any fan plugged into it. With the 200mm fans, their speed is fairly slow (900-1100 RPM range) to begin with, and larger fans are easier to stall typically (since the motors are not exactly propeller turbines).

As a result, setting the fan speed down low to one of the larger 200mm fans is likely to stall it, and Corsair link will up the duty cycle until it's confident that the 200mm fans are not being stalled out. Based on component variance, this can be anywhere from around 700RPM to 900RPM.

Most of the time, it's in the 900s, as the 200mm fans are running with very slow speeds on a very slow duty cycle and occasionally the tach signal isn't received within the appropriate window, causing C-Link to think that the fan has stalled out and up the duty cycle again.

Your fans stalling could be the root of your problem and not being PWM (assuming).

Last edited by Wired; 02-02-2012 at 01:24 AM. Reason: linked quote back to original post
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-02-2012, 01:23 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 559106
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

BF3Addict: Their phone number is on the website.
GTXJackBauer: Corsair George is the Product Manager for a couple of Corsair's product lines.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-07-2012, 10:34 PM
BF3Addict BF3Addict is offline
Registered User
BF3Addict's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 560372
BF3Addict Reputation: 10
Default

I opened a case on this last week and was promised a response either by phone or on this forum. So far I haven't heard anything back. Unfortunately, I misplaced the case number.

Right now I spent $139 for an expensive LED controller. Would be nice if I could get it to control the fans like it was intended.

Tech support where art thou?!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-11-2012, 12:17 AM
BF3Addict BF3Addict is offline
Registered User
BF3Addict's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 561027
BF3Addict Reputation: 10
Default

Any Corsair support care to respond here? 1 1/2 weeks gone since I was promised some response. Have I been forgotten?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-14-2012, 05:58 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 561734
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry for the delay, and to be clear you still cannot get the fans to work when connected to Corsair Link? is that correct? And what fans are you using?
And have you tried connecting the fans to one of the fan headers on the MB to be sure they are working?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:34 PM
BF3Addict BF3Addict is offline
Registered User
BF3Addict's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 561786
BF3Addict Reputation: 10
Default

All the fans work when plugged into the mobo. That's how I have it right now. The link is only driving the LED's and thermal sensors.

The list of fans I'm attempting to drive is in the first post on this thread (standard CM HAF X LED case fans). What is notable is when I first powered on the computer after installing the link, all of the fans appeared to power up for about a second then they all went dark and stopped spinning. I plugged all the fans back into the mobo except for one (a 120mm non-led fan) and the cooling node still wouldn't power that single fan. I've also tried to plug that fan into different slots in the cooling node to see if it might be a specific port, but I get the same result in all ports.

The software appears to be working normally, but doesn't show any fan info except for the fans on the H80 cooler. I suppose that's to be expected since it's not going through the cooling node.

Could it be a bad cooling node? It does transmit thermal sensor info. It just won't power the fans.

Last edited by BF3Addict; 02-14-2012 at 09:44 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-15-2012, 10:41 AM
randolla randolla is offline
Registered User
randolla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 161
POST ID # = 561881
randolla Reputation: 10
Default

I would look at the molex pin on the node. One of the metal pins may not be making contact with the metal sockets in the plastic. This is a common issue with Molex plugs and sockets. You could try jumping them with a short piece of wire to test it. I would also test it with a different digital connection wire and in a different socket in the Commander.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 562025
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Currently the Corsair Link in optimized for our Fans and we would need the list of fans to see if they are available and can add them in future releases. But for now the fans we suggest using with this will be our fans, sorry!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:49 AM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 432
POST ID # = 562091
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Currently the Corsair Link in optimized for our Fans and we would need the list of fans to see if they are available and can add them in future releases. But for now the fans we suggest using with this will be our fans, sorry!
Ram Guy,

Did the product manager give you this statement? If so, you need to tell the product manager that people often use "third-party" fans, especially in water-cooling setups. If we all understand the "positioning" of this marvelous case, it is optimized for water-cooling.

x509
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:42 PM
BF3Addict BF3Addict is offline
Registered User
BF3Addict's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 562205
BF3Addict Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randolla View Post
I would look at the molex pin on the node. One of the metal pins may not be making contact with the metal sockets in the plastic. This is a common issue with Molex plugs and sockets. You could try jumping them with a short piece of wire to test it. I would also test it with a different digital connection wire and in a different socket in the Commander.
Thanks for your suggestion. I'll double check on the connector.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-16-2012, 04:12 PM
randolla randolla is offline
Registered User
randolla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 161
POST ID # = 562210
randolla Reputation: 10
Default

I would also try it with the Corsair fans and see if they work.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-16-2012, 04:14 PM
BF3Addict BF3Addict is offline
Registered User
BF3Addict's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 562211
BF3Addict Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Currently the Corsair Link in optimized for our Fans and we would need the list of fans to see if they are available and can add them in future releases. But for now the fans we suggest using with this will be our fans, sorry!
Ok, here's the detailed list of fans I'm plugging into the link cooling node:

230 x 30 mm blue LED on/off fan x 1 (No P/N available)
200 x 30 mm blue LED fan x 3 (Cooler Master P/N R4-LUS-07AB-GP)
120 x 25 mm x 1 (Corsair fan that came with the H80 CPU cooler - using it in the GPU shroud)
Note: all fans are 3-pin

There are two other fans that are connected directly to the H80 waterblock and they run fine. They are Cooler Master 120mm X 25mm blue LED fans (P/N R4-BCBR-12FB-R1).

The only fan I'm now trying to drive with the link is the 120mm Corsair fan. All of the others have been plugged back into the mobo.

So are you saying that non-Corsair fans won't work with the link at all or are you saying that to get best performance from the fans they should be Corsair? Right now I'd settle for it just turning the fan. Optimization comes later. First I have to get the fans to work.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.