The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2015, 09:50 AM
Dr John Dr John is offline
Registered User
Dr John's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 773583
Dr John Reputation: 10
Default K70 RGB does not light at bootup

I have a new K70 RGB keyboard, and so far everything works, but most of the time it does not light at bootup (lights stay off). I have tried USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports. The only fix that I have found so far is to stop the CUE software and restart it. Then the default light scheme starts. Is there some way to fix this? Would uninstalling and reinstalling CUE have any effect?

While I like the keyboard overall, it is much glitchier than the Rosewill lighted mechanical keyboard that it replaced.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-19-2015, 01:26 PM
ArtGranda ArtGranda is offline
Registered User
ArtGranda's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 199
POST ID # = 773598
ArtGranda Reputation: 12
Default

You probably inadvertently saved a blank (all lights off) profile to the keyboard memory slot. Save a static profile to the onboard memory and that will light upon power to the USB bus (during boot), overwriting the blank one.

I had a persistent problem with CUE not initializing the keyboard on bootup, forcing me to manually close CUE and restart it to make the connection. However, since installing another spyware/adware scanner the other day, my boot order was switched around and now CUE initializes promptly every time without fail.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-24-2015, 07:19 AM
Dr John Dr John is offline
Registered User
Dr John's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 774534
Dr John Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks, but I went though and there are no blank profiles, and the default profile is the one I set up to use most of the time. The problem is intermittent. Some days it initializes after Windows logon, but sometimes it does not. I would really like it to come up in default mode before I log on because sometimes it is dark out and I would like to be able to see the keyboard better when I log in with my password.

Does anyone know if there is a way to get the default mode to light up as soon as the computer starts, and before I log into Windows?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-24-2015, 08:10 AM
JalYt_Justin's Avatar
JalYt_Justin JalYt_Justin is offline
The Outsider
JalYt_Justin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 183
POST ID # = 774544
JalYt_Justin Reputation: 12
Default

Mine does totally fine. Although, you might have a profile set up with a bunch of effects instead of having all of the keys set to one color, with effects on top of that. That might be why you're only seeing blank, because the keyboard doesn't light up the colors of effects, but will light up the background colors that are set to the keys individually, with no effects on them.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-24-2015, 08:30 AM
Kommando Kodiak's Avatar
Kommando Kodiak Kommando Kodiak is offline
Keyboard Kommando
Kommando Kodiak's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 774551
Kommando Kodiak Reputation: 10
Default

the next time you start up your computer spam the delete key to get into Bios set USB from Partial Initialization to Full Initialization. If theres a section named Boot itll be in there.

edit: Let us know if that fixes it.

Last edited by Kommando Kodiak; 04-24-2015 at 08:35 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-25-2015, 02:22 PM
Dr John Dr John is offline
Registered User
Dr John's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 775177
Dr John Reputation: 10
Default

I did not see that option under the USB section of the BIOS. I installed the new CUE version today, and the new firmware, and now the keyboard lights immediately, well before Windows finishes booting up, but it is not the default option, and in fact is not one of the profiles I set up. The problem now is that every time I boot it says that the keyboard is not detected. I again have to shut down and then restart CUE, at which point it immediately recognizes the keyboard and goes into the default lighting mode. So what would make the software not see the keyboard until I restart CUE? Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-25-2015, 03:20 PM
Dr John Dr John is offline
Registered User
Dr John's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 775191
Dr John Reputation: 10
Default

I played around some more, and by deleting all profiles, editing the default profile, and then adding back profiles, now the computer boots into the default profile properly before the Windows log on, but again, I can't switch modes and it says "device not detected". I have to shut down CUE, and restart it, and then everything works immediately.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-26-2015, 09:26 AM
Dr John Dr John is offline
Registered User
Dr John's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 775371
Dr John Reputation: 10
Default

OK, it looks like the updates did actually fix the problems. I was restarting rather than doing a cold boot. Now, when I boot the computer it comes up with the default lighting profile quickly, well before the Windows log on, and the profile switching works just fine without having to stop and restart CUE. So as far as I can tell, all the problems I was having are fixed. Good job on the updates Corsair!
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-27-2015, 01:41 AM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,451
POST ID # = 775588
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr John View Post
OK, it looks like the updates did actually fix the problems. I was restarting rather than doing a cold boot. Now, when I boot the computer it comes up with the default lighting profile quickly, well before the Windows log on, and the profile switching works just fine without having to stop and restart CUE. So as far as I can tell, all the problems I was having are fixed. Good job on the updates Corsair!
Im glad to have read this as I really wanted to know the extent of the issues that will be solved with this update. Thanks for sharing!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.