The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2011, 05:55 PM
Citizen Crazed Citizen Crazed is offline
Registered User
Citizen Crazed's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 526111
Citizen Crazed Reputation: 10
Default Where is the "intelligence" in the Link system?

Apologies if this has been explained or answered elsewhere, if it has, haven't seen it yet! Anyway...

Corsair peeps (or someone else who knows), I was wondering exactly where the brains of this system is: Is the Link Commander a self-contained microcontroller capable of functioning without a continuous interconnect with the Link software application (and therefore the host system's CPU), or...

Is the commander a relatively "dumb" component, permanently reliant on the host system (and the Link software) to do the calculations necessary to instruct fans/pumps/lighting etc according to the user-set zones?

In addition, will the software be able to monitor, log and control fans/lighting etc in response to data from other system hardware - for example, system monitor chips/digital thermal sensors etc?

Thanks for any info! :)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-08-2011, 04:11 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 526341
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I am sorry but at this time we do not have the answers to these questions or any that I can reveal but once it come closer to release there will be more information available, for the time being most of these questions can be answered on the Product page..
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 12:14 PM
Jaspreet Jaspreet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 558704
Jaspreet Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Citizen Crazed View Post
Apologies if this has been explained or answered elsewhere, if it has, haven't seen it yet! Anyway...

Corsair peeps (or someone else who knows), I was wondering exactly where the brains of this system is: Is the Link Commander a self-contained microcontroller capable of functioning without a continuous interconnect with the Link software application (and therefore the host system's CPU), or...

Is the commander a relatively "dumb" component, permanently reliant on the host system (and the Link software) to do the calculations necessary to instruct fans/pumps/lighting etc according to the user-set zones?

In addition, will the software be able to monitor, log and control fans/lighting etc in response to data from other system hardware - for example, system monitor chips/digital thermal sensors etc?

Thanks for any info! :)
Need answers for these questions. As it has been released, can I get someone to respond to this?

I second this question. Running a triple boot system and interested in using the Corsair link with my H80 and hopefully the 550D when it comes out; however, are the profiles saved to the link commander so they work prior to OS, or are they Windows dependent (running a Windows (main), hackintosh, and Linux triple boot).
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-05-2012, 01:46 AM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 432
POST ID # = 559773
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaspreet View Post
Need answers for these questions. As it has been released, can I get someone to respond to this?

I second this question. Running a triple boot system and interested in using the Corsair link with my H80 and hopefully the 550D when it comes out; however, are the profiles saved to the link commander so they work prior to OS, or are they Windows dependent (running a Windows (main), hackintosh, and Linux triple boot).
I would also like this info. I'm planning a major water-cooling upgrade of my 700D case, that will include a "popular" pump that includes the number "6", plus other non-Corsair fans, reservoir, etc. However, I really like the idea of a USB link to the motherboard, so that I might not need an external fan controller. Ideally, I can record and track system temps over time, so that I can endlessly tweak my new setup.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-05-2012, 04:34 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 559783
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

x509, you can say the name of the pump.

Jaspreet, your duplicate posts have been removed as posting the same thing 3 times serves no purpose.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)

Last edited by Wired; 02-05-2012 at 04:39 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-05-2012, 12:12 PM
Jaspreet Jaspreet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 559838
Jaspreet Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
x509, you can say the name of the pump.

Jaspreet, your duplicate posts have been removed as posting the same thing 3 times serves no purpose.
Is it possible to get an answer then, I've PM'ed admins, I have respectfully left messages and waited for answers, but no response? So, I asked the same question in two earlier threads (that pretty much asked the same question as I did) as well as created a new thread with the same question.

I did not create 3 separate threads asking the same question. Instead of chastising me, can we not just get an answer?

A similar question was also asked in this thread: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=99637

But again, no response.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-05-2012, 02:36 PM
Ensor Ensor is offline
Registered User
Ensor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 72
POST ID # = 559850
Ensor Reputation: 10
Default

I have no idea how the system works, but a few things you can safely assume:

If you're using the 'on board' sensors of your MB, you ARE going to need the software at least so that the Commander gets the necessary data. If the software is not running the only way it's going to know anything is if that data is provided by a "CorsairLink" sensor.

If I look at the behavior of my system, I see that when booting the lights go to some kind of "default" and only after starting the software do they go to the "profile" I've set for them. So apparently that "lighting profile" at the least is not saved into the Commander.

If I exit the software while the system is running, I see no change in the lighting, so if the Commander should time out after a while I figure that time-out is longer than a minute or so.

I have not tried whether the Commander will still follow the set profile, although obviously as I've pointed out above it will no longer get updates from the MB sensors.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-05-2012, 05:07 PM
Jaspreet Jaspreet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 559879
Jaspreet Reputation: 10
Default

It was my understanding that the CorsairLink plugged into a USB header, so is it not possible to pull environmental values, etc, straight from the motherboard (via the SMBIOS). Don't know anything about programming at the hardware level, so if that seems like a silly question, I apologize in advance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ensor View Post
I have no idea how the system works, but a few things you can safely assume:

If you're using the 'on board' sensors of your MB, you ARE going to need the software at least so that the Commander gets the necessary data. If the software is not running the only way it's going to know anything is if that data is provided by a "CorsairLink" sensor.

If I look at the behavior of my system, I see that when booting the lights go to some kind of "default" and only after starting the software do they go to the "profile" I've set for them. So apparently that "lighting profile" at the least is not saved into the Commander.

If I exit the software while the system is running, I see no change in the lighting, so if the Commander should time out after a while I figure that time-out is longer than a minute or so.

I have not tried whether the Commander will still follow the set profile, although obviously as I've pointed out above it will no longer get updates from the MB sensors.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-05-2012, 05:37 PM
Ensor Ensor is offline
Registered User
Ensor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 72
POST ID # = 559885
Ensor Reputation: 10
Default

Well, the USB interface is just a serial interface from the system. It is not directly connected to anything in the computer.

So SOMETHING has to read the SMBIOS info and output that in an appropriate format to the USB, either by itself or on request. There is no way to "pull" information on a HW level.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-12-2012, 05:26 PM
Jaspreet Jaspreet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 561325
Jaspreet Reputation: 10
Default

So, to be clear, then, the Link commander is useless without the Windows software? Can I get a Corsair employee to respond?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 561744
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I have asked the product manager to help us with these questions sorry for the delay but please give us some time to give you a more accurate answer.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:52 AM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 432
POST ID # = 562093
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I have asked the product manager to help us with these questions sorry for the delay but please give us some time to give you a more accurate answer.
And tell the product manager to release enough info about the hardware or firmware that third-parties can control Link. Imagine how much more you would sell if HWInfo or similar programs could either send commands to Link or get readouts of temp data. And not just for Windows, also for Linux.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:16 PM
oyoy oyoy is offline
Registered User
oyoy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 562923
oyoy Reputation: 10
Default

I installed the software under Win7, and configured custom fan profiles.
I then powered off, and booted Linux. Fan profiles still intact, at least for the fans on my H100.

The sensors directly connected to the Link still work as configured.
I also run Win7 virtually under Linux (presenting the USB-device of the Link controller to the virtual machine) When I installed the Link software on the virtual machine, it shows my custom profiles are still active. Of couse, the virtual machine can not read the temp of the motherboard, CPU and GPU, so no adjustments can be made based on those temps.

Hope this answers part of your question. :)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.