The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 02-16-2012, 05:20 AM
Kl2amer Kl2amer is offline
Registered user
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 562109
Kl2amer Reputation: 10
Default

wow, just wow.

Guess I'll disconnect my H100 from the link kit tomorrow and see if it still works. when I installed the software it installed Firmware 1.1.12 to the H100. Seems like it's working fine, but I can't select any of the profiles from the actual H100 when the link is plugged in, figured that was because the link was overriding it.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:29 AM
randolla randolla is offline
Registered User
randolla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 161
POST ID # = 562146
randolla Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
At this time I would not suggest you update the firmware on our H100. We will release an update as needed and post a link to get the correct version.
Quote:
Originally Posted by randolla View Post
What??? Are you saying that we SHOULD NOT update the H100 firmware as the software tells us to???

What if we already did?

Why is something that important not posted at the top of these forums and instead is buried at the bottom of one?

More points aganst you Corsair. And do not forget to answer my questions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
randolla
I am sorry that you feel that way and I am sorry for the trouble it caused you but if you are not happy with your Corsair Link please consult your reseller, if they will not or cannot help you then please use the link on the left and request an RMA then contact our customer service for other options. Is all I can suggest at this time...
Ramguy,

It is not so much I am unhappy with the link. I am unhappy with the level of support, documentation and answers that Corsair has given this product. I thought I had made that clear during our conversation. I am glad that at least now someone from Corsair is finally reading this forum. But why should I have had to call you up and complain about it when people have been posting here for WEEKS without any response from Corsair. You or someone should have been reading this all along.

Why did Corsair release a product and then forget about it? That is the inexcusable part. READ YOUR OWN FORUMS!!! How hard is that? You just release a product that had been delayed for months and then NOTHING? No support. No answers. No post regarding really important things like DON'T FLASH YOUR FIRMWARE IT MIGHT BRICK YOUR H100. I might expect that from some other company but not from Corsair. Do I have a right to feel this way? I think I do. I have spent well over a $1000 on Corsair products over the last 1.5 years and I feel I have earned the right to expect something so radical like good support. Telling me to RMA the link if I am not happy is a cop out. Please have a manager at Corsair contact me to work this out.

Last edited by Wired; 02-16-2012 at 04:55 PM. Reason: added BBCODE - please learn how to use it
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 02-16-2012, 11:48 AM
MrFizzbin MrFizzbin is offline
Registered User
MrFizzbin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 562162
MrFizzbin Reputation: 10
Default

This is getting confusing, and more than a little bit worrisome. The Link software upon installation, instructed me to update the firmware on my H80, as it was being recognized as an H60 (or something to that effect). It also advised me that there was a firmware for the Link unit as well. I flashed both.
May I respectfully suggest that we need to know in a prompt and clear manner:
1). will the new firmware, (which we are told now NOT to use), cause any performance or worse, damage the units in question.
2). I yes to the above question, can Corsair provide a firmware upgrade to bring it back to it’s previous state. (I don’t relish the thought, nor the downtime, of doing another RMA to Corsair).
Corsair should take full responsibility as to the instructions it's software is directing the customer to do. Especially in light of the poor documentation provided and the slow and unclear after sales service on the newly launched product.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:06 PM
randolla randolla is offline
Registered User
randolla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 161
POST ID # = 562181
randolla Reputation: 10
Default

+1 MrFizzbin.

Corsair needs to get it's act together regarding this product. To flash or not to flash . That is the question. What is the answer? And what happens if you do flash the firmware? RMA? Reflash to an older firmware?

Please answer us Corsair. And please put it as a sticky at the top of this forum, not burried and the end of this thread.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 02-16-2012, 05:08 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 562229
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Fizz:
1) RG stated that according to his tests there is no firmware for the H80/H100 that comes with the Corsair Link software, so it's not that it's new firmware, it's that the software's saying it's updating the firmware, so there's nothing to update to. So the real questions are:

What's the firmware of the H80/H100 BEFORE this "update"?
Is it really flashing anything? If so, is it just showing the update screens, but nothing's really happening, or is it flashing the same firmware?

randolla: RG has already stated NOT to flash, and until the afforementioned questions are clarified / answered, yours cannot be answered.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:00 PM
randolla randolla is offline
Registered User
randolla's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 161
POST ID # = 562259
randolla Reputation: 10
Default

Wired,

I know Ramguy has told us not to flash but it was only after begging for some support here and finally a phonecall. But it is too late for many of us that have already followed the software's instructions and flashed the firmware already. I have several posts regarding this subject including one that should be a sticky telling people NOT to flash.

What is inexcusable is the lack of knowlege and support for their own product from Corsair.

Why is there not a sticky warnig us all about not to flash?

Why was the software released in such a state that it tells you to do something that may brick your cooler?

Why isn't anyone at Corsair reading these forums? I finally had to call tech support who then connected me with Ramguy who then caught my wrath. Yesterday , he finally started reading these forums and that is when we all found out (sort of off the cuff I might add) for the first time that we should not flash the firmware.

Since then we have been trying to find out the ramifications of having already flashed it. Still no answer about that one.


Why has this question (what to do if we have already flashed) not been answered yet?

If there is a problem having already flashed, can we flash back to what it should be and if so HOW?

These are the things we all need to know. And for each person posting and reading these threads, there must be dozens more just scratching their heads trying to figure this whole thing out.

All in all a really bad launch of a potentially great product.

Please fix it Corsair.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 02-17-2012, 06:36 PM
MrFizzbin MrFizzbin is offline
Registered User
MrFizzbin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 137
POST ID # = 562443
MrFizzbin Reputation: 10
Default

Link software does download a file that it supposedly uses to flash the hardware ("CorsairLinkHydroFW_1.1.12.s19"). Now whether this file is benign or really flashes the unit, I cannot say. But Corsair should, and that's the whole point. Moreover, we're talking about firmware here: which is a pretty important piece of programming. It shouldn't take days to get a simple response as to whether it is or isn't flashing the hardware.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.