The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2004, 09:44 PM
mjs1231 mjs1231 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 157250
mjs1231 Reputation: 10
Default Nf7-s Rev 2.0 | Corsair Pc3200 Xl Cmx-2x512

I recently purchased corsair xms pc3200 XL 1 gig dual kit, The memory was unstable at default settings, bsod's, games hard locked or rebooted pc.
I ram memtest86 v 3.2 and was greeted with red screen with the word failure all over. I rma'ed the ram back to newegg and reveived the new ram back. I imediatly installed and ram memtest again and it ran for a few minutes and again greeted with failures

system specs

Antec sl350 smartpower
abit nf7-s rev 2.0
amd 2500 + @ 1.7 v
ddr @ 2.8 v @ 400 fsb @ 5 2 2 2.0 optimal
fx 5900 xt @ 1.7 v
wd raptor sata drive
Am I missing some thing

thank you
consumer
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-28-2004, 09:17 AM
mjs1231 mjs1231 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 157317
mjs1231 Reputation: 10
Default pc3200 xl 1024

Ya I baught a gig of corsair memory over a month ago and sent it back twice and and now the ram still fails memtest on multiple motherboards.

even after 1 month and over 450 dollars because of shipping and loss from taking time off work and I still do not have a working set of ddr, this is VERY DISAPOINTING

I can not recomend using newegg ever again,
I ordered 1 gig 2x512 of corsair xms pc3200 XL and two fx 5900 xt video cards and every part was blown/ bad/fried/failed

Then they give me the run around and treat me like I did something wrong, very disapointed.

I have left multiple messages with corsair and left emails and no one has called me or replied to my emails,

I have to say this is the worst service I have ever delt with in my life, I spent over 800 dollars and I feel totaly ripped off, but maybe i am imagining the whole thing, ya right

online nightmare ......................
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-28-2004, 09:46 AM
mjs1231 mjs1231 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 157324
mjs1231 Reputation: 10
Default here are my system specs

abit nf7-s rev 2.0 bios 2.6 newest
Antec sl350 smartpower psu
corsair XMS pc 3200 XL 2x512 but unusable @ 2.8 v @ 400 fsb @ 5 2 2 2.0
2500 + cpu @ 1.7 v
fx 5900 xt finnaly got a working one from newegg
now using 3 2x256 1x512 512 in slot 3 lol mixed chips @ 333 @ 11 2 2 2.5 @ 2.8 v memtest passed on them no errors
raptor hard disk
no other devices in pc no pata disks no cd drives no flopies


xp pro sp2

all usb disabled
bios and video caching disabled

trust me I build water cooled Enthusiast pc's for $$$ since i have been laid off ( outsourced ) from my feild in Information technology 3 times is last 3 years.
yes I am a bush hater but what can you do except vote against someone that gives tax breaks to the wealthy and ganks the middle class. 20 % 12%



If you think I have missed something please let me know.

thanks
consumer
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-28-2004, 12:28 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 157364
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

The 2500+ only has a FSB of 333 Mhz.
XP CPU Specs

Running that CPU with that mem would either require you to OC the CPU to have a FSB of 400 Mhz, or to underclock the memory to 333 Mhz. If you run the FSB and memory asynchronously, then it can and will cause problems.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-28-2004, 05:33 PM
mjs1231 mjs1231 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 157453
mjs1231 Reputation: 10
Default fsb

I know the difference between fsb 333 and 400 and yes the 2500 + is a pre week 34 and is fully unocked and runs on air stable @ 2.5 ghz @ 1.875 v

I will also asume you read my statement, tested on multiple motherboards.

I also ran memtest86 3.2 on that cpu @ 2.5 ghz while i had OCZ 2x256 pc 3500 overnight and zero issues. I can accept that the cpu is is fine at any speed.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-28-2004, 05:46 PM
mjs1231 mjs1231 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 157455
mjs1231 Reputation: 10
Default i just need a RMA

Can u assist me in getting a rma from corsair ?

I know enough not to run AMD systems async

and yes the cpu is over clocked but @ 3200 + or 2200 mhz just by changing the multiplier to 11

which is not realy a overclock at all, these chips run perfect @ 400 and everyone knows it. plus my brothers cpu is a true 3200 + and the ram failed on it with in 2-3 minutes so I know for a fact the ram is failing because he has 2x512 Kingston pc3500 with ramsinks and runs 440 fsb and ran memtest86 3.2 over a entire weekend zero failures,

I do have a question. If I get the next pair directly from corsair will they test them before shipping to me ?


thanks
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.