The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 33 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 05-06-2011, 07:59 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 501366
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please just post the case number sorry but no one can PM me except other Admins. I used to do that but it defeats the purpose of the forum. And it was just to many for me to handle.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #62  
Old 05-07-2011, 10:25 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 501519
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
If you have that issue please use the link on the left and request an RMA and then let me know the Case number I will email you special instructions to get this corrected
I requested RMA and the Case number is 2036897. They've already issued a RMA number. Anxiously awaiting your email before I do anything.

Thanks.

Last edited by ritaylor; 05-09-2011 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #63  
Old 05-09-2011, 12:54 AM
SkyRyder's Avatar
SkyRyder SkyRyder is offline
Registered User
SkyRyder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 501616
SkyRyder Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritaylor View Post
I requested RMA and the Case number is 2036897

Thanks.
Postal Service is getting rich with us batting these packages across the continent!

My replacement set shows UPS label created on May the 5th, but no sign of it being posted yet. So I don't know when modules will arrive. I guess I shouldn't be surprised when I plug them in either. I'm wondering what the 'Super Secret Set of Instructions' might contain.

Three is a Charm! Good Luck!

Last edited by SkyRyder; 05-09-2011 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #64  
Old 05-09-2011, 03:53 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 501694
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyRyder View Post
Postal Service is getting rich with us batting these packages across the continent!

My replacement set shows UPS label created on May the 5th, but no sign of it being posted yet. So I don't know when modules will arrive. I guess I shouldn't be surprised when I plug them in either. I'm wondering what the 'Super Secret Set of Instructions' might contain.

Three is a Charm! Good Luck!
No word from Ram Guy yet.
Reply With Quote


  #65  
Old 05-09-2011, 06:18 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 501714
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyRyder View Post
Postal Service is getting rich with us batting these packages across the continent!

My replacement set shows UPS label created on May the 5th, but no sign of it being posted yet. So I don't know when modules will arrive. I guess I shouldn't be surprised when I plug them in either. I'm wondering what the 'Super Secret Set of Instructions' might contain.

Three is a Charm! Good Luck!
My (1st) RMA also showed up on UPS as label created for a couple of days and then all of a sudden it was out for delivery! Just keep checking the UPS site.
Reply With Quote


  #66  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:16 AM
SkyRyder's Avatar
SkyRyder SkyRyder is offline
Registered User
SkyRyder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 502479
SkyRyder Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritaylor View Post
No word from Ram Guy yet.
Well, I’ve got the new set of Vengeance modules installed, and as I said, I’m not at all surprised! Different lot numbers, save version and same unresolved issue! Although I am surprised that no one thought to confirm this complaint before simply tossing a replacement package into the mail that has resulted in an absolute waste of time and money. The RMA cured nothing and I'm not returning this set until there's a definitive answer.

If anyone is curious, just look at the CPU-Z SPD images I posted on the first page of this thread. Except for the module lot numbers on the RAM label, all other info within the three images is exactly the same: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=94782

So, what is it, an incorrectly programed SPD within these Corsair memory modules, or a ‘variety’ of motherboards incorrectly interpreting the module’s SPD? If the later, could a BIOS intervention remedy the problem, or is the motherboard in need of RMA?

I too am a very unhappy camper!

Please let me know what sort of secret solution you find in your email response, so I can make a determination of whether or not another RMA is worth the extra ex$pen$e.

Last edited by SkyRyder; 05-15-2011 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #67  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:27 AM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 502480
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

on second and subsequent RMAs postage is paid both ways by Corsair so there is no cost to you anymore.

Quote:
OK, I talked my friend into letting me borrow his Vengeance modules. His reads the same on my machine as they do on his. Profile 1 is 9-9-9-24 2N 1.50v 1.35v and profile 2 is 9-9-9-24 2N 1.50v 1.20v. Odd that the profiles are reversed. I would use profile 2 if I had his set. By the way, his is version 5.11 lot number 10470602.
just asking, did you try YOUR modules in HIS board? im curious of the outcome.
if you dont want to bother i understand.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #68  
Old 05-16-2011, 01:47 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 502666
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthohol View Post
on second and subsequent RMAs postage is paid both ways by Corsair so there is no cost to you anymore.


just asking, did you try YOUR modules in HIS board? im curious of the outcome.
if you dont want to bother i understand.
No, I did not think of trying that.
Reply With Quote


  #69  
Old 05-16-2011, 02:00 PM
ritaylor ritaylor is offline
Registered User
ritaylor's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mt.Washington, Ky.
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 502669
ritaylor Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyRyder View Post
Well, I’ve got the new set of Vengeance modules installed, and as I said, I’m not at all surprised! Different lot numbers, save version and same unresolved issue! Although I am surprised that no one thought to confirm this complaint before simply tossing a replacement package into the mail that has resulted in an absolute waste of time and money. The RMA cured nothing and I'm not returning this set until there's a definitive answer.

If anyone is curious, just look at the CPU-Z SPD images I posted on the first page of this thread. Except for the module lot numbers on the RAM label, all other info within the three images is exactly the same: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=94782

So, what is it, an incorrectly programed SPD within these Corsair memory modules, or a ‘variety’ of motherboards incorrectly interpreting the module’s SPD? If the later, could a BIOS intervention remedy the problem, or is the motherboard in need of RMA?

I too am a very unhappy camper!

Please let me know what sort of secret solution you find in your email response, so I can make a determination of whether or not another RMA is worth the extra ex$pen$e.
Sorry I've been gone so long. My daughter-in-law had emergency surgery and I've been kinda pre-occupied.

There was no secret email solution. RAM GUY called me at home!

They do know that there is an issue with the SPD on some modules. I don't know how many. They are sending me a new set (tested first). Corsair is paying shipping both ways.

This is absolutely the best customer service I have ever had. The best thing is for you to call customer service. I'm sure they will work with you.
Reply With Quote


  #70  
Old 05-16-2011, 05:27 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 502707
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

sorry to hear about your son's wife. hope she is doing well.
glad you called CS, thats what we try to tell everybody with particular issues but most dont want to pay for a phone call. its always worth it.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #71  
Old 05-17-2011, 02:10 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 502848
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Or if I have not contacted you please post your case number in TSX or RMA# and I will personally call you by phone no matter where you are except maybe if you live on Mars that might be a call I cannot make!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #72  
Old 05-18-2011, 11:33 AM
SkyRyder's Avatar
SkyRyder SkyRyder is offline
Registered User
SkyRyder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 502991
SkyRyder Reputation: 10
Default 2nd RMA Request

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Or if I have not contacted you please post your case number in TSX or RMA# and I will personally call you by phone no matter where you are except maybe if you live on Mars that might be a call I cannot make!
Okay RAM GUY, I've submitted request for 2nd RMA of incorrectly programmed SPD Profile.

RMA NUMBER: 1230187 has been issued and CASE NUMBER is: 2053004....Awaiting your instructions.

PS.

I've noticed that under 'Computer Memory' from 'Select Product From List' within drop-down list there is no selection for module package: CMZ24GX3M6A1600C9 So I went the route: RAM GUY has already helped me.

THANKS!

Last edited by SkyRyder; 05-19-2011 at 08:54 PM. Reason: RMA # Inclusion
Reply With Quote


  #73  
Old 05-18-2011, 02:10 PM
SkyRyder's Avatar
SkyRyder SkyRyder is offline
Registered User
SkyRyder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 503014
SkyRyder Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritaylor View Post
Sorry I've been gone so long. My daughter-in-law had emergency surgery and I've been kinda pre-occupied.
-snip-
They do know that there is an issue with the SPD on some modules. I don't know how many. They are sending me a new set (tested first). Corsair is paying shipping both ways.
-snip-
ritaylor: Thanks! And best wishes to your Daughter-In-Law for a speedy recovery!!!
Reply With Quote


  #74  
Old 05-20-2011, 04:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 503304
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

SkyRyder
We just spoke on the phone if you have any more questions please let me know!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #75  
Old 05-23-2011, 11:22 AM
SkyRyder's Avatar
SkyRyder SkyRyder is offline
Registered User
SkyRyder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 503659
SkyRyder Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
SkyRyder
We just spoke on the phone if you have any more questions please let me know!
Waiting for the issuance of UPS shipping label.

Thanks for all of your help!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.