The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 30 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 02-01-2012, 08:05 AM
kyle0r kyle0r is offline
Registered User
kyle0r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 558905
kyle0r Reputation: 10
Default

Hey peanutz, mind if I ask how you're hitting 4.5 on your 920? Is it an unlocked one?
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 02-02-2012, 10:25 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 559184
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Yeah sure, here's my settings. It's not an unlocked chip, but i do have a my system under water. That made it possible for me to keep the CPU cool enough to keep it stable at that frequencie. . I also have a RAM water block that covers all 6 dimms. :)

Ai Overclock Tuner.....................[Manual]
CPU Ratio Setting......................[21.0]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech............[Disabled]
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode...........[Enabled]
BCLK Frequency.........................[215]
PCIE Frequency.........................[100]
DRAM Frequency.........................[DDR3-1505MHz]
UCLK Frequency.........................[3448MHz]
QPI Link Data Rate.....................[Auto]

CPU Voltage Control....................[Manual]
CPU Voltage............................[1.41250]
CPU PLL Voltage........................[1.80]
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage..................[1.45]
IOH Voltage............................[1.14]
IOH PCIE Voltage.......................[1.50]
ICH Voltage............................[1.20]
ICH PCIE Voltage.......................[1.50]
DRAM Bus Voltage.......................[1.64]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHA...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHA...........[Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHB...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHB...........[Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHC...........[Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHC...........[Auto]

Load-Line Calibration..................[Enabled]
CPU Differential Amplitude.............[800mV]
CPU Clock Skew.........................[Delay 300ps]
CPU Spread Spectrum....................[Disabled]
IOH Clock Skew.........................[Auto]
PCIE Spread Spectrum...................[Disabled]

C1E Support............................[Disabled]
Hardware Prefetcher....................[Enabled]
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch...........[Enabled]
Intel(r) Virtualization Tech...........[Disabled]
CPU TM Function........................[Enabled]
Execute Disable Bit....................[Enabled]
Intel(r) HT Technology.................[Disabled]
Active Processor Cores.................[All]
A20M...................................[Disabled]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech............[Disabled]
Intel(r) C-STATE Tech..................[Disabled]

Keep in mind you have a different MB and every CPU is different. Your 920 may not be able to hit 4.5 like mine does. Actually i have seen very few 920's run stable above 4.2. So i guess there is a bit of luck involved as well!

And if you notice i had to underclock the RAM just a wee bit. But it doesn't make any noticeable difference. It smokes through anything i do with it. All in all im still pretty happy with it even being two years old.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 02-02-2012, 10:48 AM
kyle0r kyle0r is offline
Registered User
kyle0r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 559188
kyle0r Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for sharing dude.

When you say "under water" that is just a figure of speech right? Or do you have some of that crazy new mineral oil submersion shizzel going on?
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 02-02-2012, 10:59 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 559192
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

He either means water cooling or submersed in some type of oil. I'm assuming the latter.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 02-02-2012, 11:01 AM
kyle0r kyle0r is offline
Registered User
kyle0r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 559193
kyle0r Reputation: 10
Default

Will be interested to learn more...

I hear ultra modern data centers are going with submersion, of entire racks! Like swimming pool datacenters.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:17 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 559277
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Just a custom water loop. I have seen those submerged systems in mineral oil...I'm just not that brave! :)
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:26 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 559280
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Baaawk Baaawk,
Just kidding Peanut!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 02-03-2012, 01:33 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 559486
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Baaawk Baaawk,
Just kidding Peanut!
ROFLMBO Yeah I am! But if your willing to supply the components i'll submerge one in Italian dressing if ya want!

I just cant get that mental image of the guy rinsing his brand new components under the bath tub faucet from the PSU forum!

Water going in the fan side of the PSU and rinsing through the back! Just to cleen things up after a hardware issue. / CRINGE

Last edited by peanutz94; 02-03-2012 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 02-03-2012, 02:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 559497
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Yea I know what you mean I saw that and was like WTF??? but you know some people either don't know so they dont have those basic limitations instilled in them. Or they are just running through life with "No fear"!


Attached Images
File Type: jpg 60.jpg (31.9 KB, 310 views)
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.