The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-20-2019, 10:13 PM
Aliti_308 Aliti_308 is offline
Registered User
Aliti_308's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 82
POST ID # = 1018877
Aliti_308 Reputation: 10
Default

My only issue is that my ST100 RGB lighting doesn’t working Unless Icue is running in the background.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-21-2019, 12:14 AM
RetroRambler RetroRambler is offline
Registered User
RetroRambler's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1018880
RetroRambler Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The only CPU issue we see is when DRAM has software lighting enabled. This does cause the CPU usage to increase. To resolve this, we've done two things:

1.) We deployed a new driver to control DRAM lighting in iCUE v3.19. This will pave the way to manage the lighting on the modules to be much more efficient.

2.) We are currently working on a new firmware for Vengeance RGB PRO and Dominator RGB to take advantage of this new driver. Once we are ready to deploy, we should be able to significantly reduce the CPU overhead.

In the meantime, if users feel their CPU usage is too high (avg 10-20% depending on CPU), then we recommend to disable software control for DRAM until our new driver is ready.
I can only hope that Corsair does not go so far in the direction of software control that we lose the ability to store a profile we like in hardware and not need a piece of software or a driver to use it.

Why? Couple reasons I can think of:

1. Performance hit. I didn't build a 9980XE system because I am OK with donating half of its cores and performance to poorly written software and drivers. It may sound a little different but this is the same basic thing people complaining about the stutter/lag/FPS hit/interrupt overhead in games and elsewhere on their systems are saying.

2. Please don't impose an OS on me. I run that evil penguin OS much of the time and there isn't going to be any iCue for Linux. And I am OK with that, so long as when I am in Windows I can still store something besides the cheesy rainbow swirl default on my DIMM's that will start running as soon as I power up from a cold boot into Linux (or whatever other OS I choose to run on MY system).

Which is to say, please do not make lighting control of your DIMM's completely dependent on a driver.

Thank you for the improvements, which 3.20.80 seems to have by the consensus of early reports here. I am still on 3.19.120 for now.

Last edited by RetroRambler; 09-21-2019 at 08:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-21-2019, 03:05 AM
emsir emsir is offline
Registered User
emsir's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 1018889
emsir Reputation: 10
Default

I last did an update to 3.19.120 from 3.14.104 and then my framerates went down to 25-28 fps in games and benchmarks. I was frustrated and didn't knew what to do. Maybe my GTX 1080 TI was failing or a RAM issue....CPU going bad. Then I did a system restore before updating Icue and everything went back to normal. But when i booted my machine next day the issue came back....
I uninstalled Icue with Iobit with no leftover in registry or system. Restarted and installed Icue version 3.14.104. No problem since then
I am not going to update Icue...why? Don't fix what is not broken. I will stay on 3.14. 104 as long as it takes. I have a question to Corsair. Why is it always us (customers) being beta testers for your software? Don't you have a test center for your software before relasing it? If you have, they are doing a terrible job.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-21-2019, 03:49 AM
swarfega's Avatar
swarfega swarfega is offline
Registered User
swarfega's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1018890
swarfega Reputation: 13
Default

You should update to this one as it fixes the framerate issue.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-21-2019, 08:57 PM
donalgodon donalgodon is offline
Registered User
donalgodon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 130
POST ID # = 1018929
donalgodon Reputation: 10
Default

Still doesn't support Ryzen 3000
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-21-2019, 09:26 PM
battlestations battlestations is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1018930
battlestations Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andeeh View Post
No mention if the CPU issues in this thread have been fixed or not?: https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=189897

Guess it's up to us to test it......
I'd like to know this as well. iCue is one of the software/monitoring apps that causes the Ryzen 3000s to run at boost/high idle voltages. Once you shut down the Corsair service in the background, my Ryzen 3700x goes from approx. 1.45 volts/4.3 ghz at idle to 0.9 volts/3.6 ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-22-2019, 04:55 AM
HughWattmate HughWattmate is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1018950
HughWattmate Reputation: 10
Default

* Releases new build, has no patch noes.
* New build brakes allot of peoples systems to the point they return hardware / reinstall windows.
* Ignores everyone's feedback
*Refuses to pull the update that is causing people hell.
* Another new build comes out, cba to even make its own patch notes.
* Totally ignores the HUGE issues people had/downplays them as "minor".

Business as usual heh? End of the month gotta stay on that release scheduled even if the last update was broken. Please fire whoever is in charge of the software team and get some competent person in there place.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-22-2019, 08:26 AM
TheMaskedShadow TheMaskedShadow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1018963
TheMaskedShadow Reputation: 10
Default Still a no-go for me. Back to 3.18.77

First, all my corsair items are external items, such as K70 RDG MK.2 SE, M65 RGB ELITE, VOID PRO USB, MM800 RGB POLARIS, ST100 RGB. I don't have any Corsair items inside my case (no corsair fans, cpu cooler, nor memory)

The first issue I encountered was that the VOID PROD USB driver crashed.. *badly*. There was absolutely no sound coming out from the headset. Although Windows would still detect the headset, nothing would be able to play out of them. Windows 10 default music player, Windows Groove, would stop with an error (forgot to snapshot the error) but would work if it was playing on any other sound device. Rebooting the computer multiple times did not fix the issue. When this issue was happening, there was also no sound working on the ST100 sound plug either.

Then, not sure if it was related since it was after the Void usb driver crash, I will still getting some sort of stuttering **even on the Windows Desktop**.

Again, rebooting the computer multiple times did not fix the issue.

Reverting back to 3.18.77 did not initially work. I had to uninstall and have the uninstaller remove *everything* to get it to work again cleanly in 3.18.77.

Last note, I do not use any monitoring/sensor logging at all, be it in iCue or not.

So, I'm back to 3.18.77 with everything working okay for now and will wait until I read that a newer version is completely stable.

EDIT: Added ST100 sound problem

Last edited by TheMaskedShadow; 09-22-2019 at 08:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-22-2019, 02:06 PM
Mapantz's Avatar
Mapantz Mapantz is offline
Registered User
Mapantz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Wareham, Dorset - UK
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 1018982
Mapantz Reputation: 10
Default

I wonder how long it takes to fix the 'pong' lighting mode? It must be a record by now.

And before I get replies regarding fan orientation, no, that's not the problem! The fans were put in correctly from the beginning, and it works fine with Link.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-23-2019, 11:52 AM
Shadowman Shadowman is offline
Registered User
Shadowman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 1019051
Shadowman Reputation: 10
Default

the flickering on the h115i platinum is still there...
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-23-2019, 01:00 PM
akynxs akynxs is offline
Registered User
akynxs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1019056
akynxs Reputation: 10
Default

https://i.imgur.com/W49wtFy.jpg

[iCUESetup_3.20.80_release.msi]

Extremely High CPU Consumption
The program is open in the Windows task manager but does not open the screen.

Already removed with Revo Unistaller
I already removed the drivers
I already formatted the computer
I do not use antivirus
I used a firewall, even turning it off or on makes no difference


The [iCUESetup_3.19.120_release.msi] version also has the same problem.

Version [iCUESetup_3.18.77_release.msi] is working normally.

Last edited by Technobeard; 09-25-2019 at 10:45 AM. Reason: Changed to link
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:47 PM
makaveli6103 makaveli6103 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1019165
makaveli6103 Reputation: 10
Default

I still am having issues with the update. Previously 3.18.77 was only using 1-2% CPU. Avoided 3.19.120 due to the documented issues. 3.20.80 is using 8-15% cpu consistently. Loos like I will be downgrading back to 3.18

Last edited by makaveli6103; 09-24-2019 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-24-2019, 03:27 PM
Blackworms Blackworms is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1019167
Blackworms Reputation: 10
Default

I am having problems as well. 3.18 was using 1-2% like above user told, and now it's more than 3-5% all the time. Additionally and I think more importantly, when you enable full software RGB control for Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB, CPU usage spikes to 20-30% and stays like that all the time. Disable and now it is again 3-5%. Does anyone have the same problem?

Last edited by Blackworms; 09-24-2019 at 03:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-24-2019, 06:49 PM
BlaiseP's Avatar
BlaiseP BlaiseP is offline
Registered User
BlaiseP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 185
POST ID # = 1019188
BlaiseP Reputation: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackworms View Post
I am having problems as well. 3.18 was using 1-2% like above user told, and now it's more than 3-5% all the time. Additionally and I think more importantly, when you enable full software RGB control for Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB, CPU usage spikes to 20-30% and stays like that all the time. Disable and now it is again 3-5%. Does anyone have the same problem?
Did you read James' post?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The only CPU issue we see is when DRAM has software lighting enabled. This does cause the CPU usage to increase. To resolve this, we've done two things:

1.) We deployed a new driver to control DRAM lighting in iCUE v3.19. This will pave the way to manage the lighting on the modules to be much more efficient.

2.) We are currently working on a new firmware for Vengeance RGB PRO and Dominator RGB to take advantage of this new driver. Once we are ready to deploy, we should be able to significantly reduce the CPU overhead.

In the meantime, if users feel their CPU usage is too high (avg 10-20% depending on CPU), then we recommend to disable software control for DRAM until our new driver is ready.

Last edited by BlaiseP; 09-24-2019 at 11:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-24-2019, 08:29 PM
Enigma776's Avatar
Enigma776 Enigma776 is offline
Registered User
Enigma776's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 1019195
Enigma776 Reputation: 10
Default

This version is still broken, it don't even load just sits in the task manager no icon in the system tray either and eating 30% cpu.
__________________
No Tears Please Its A Waste Of Good Suffering.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.