The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2011, 06:39 PM
guitrein guitrein is offline
Registered User
guitrein's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 494434
guitrein Reputation: 10
Default "raw read error rate" should I be concern about it?

Hi,

I have been monitoring my drive for a while now and I notice some questionable data on SMART attributes.



Should I be worried with these values?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-20-2011, 06:49 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,187
POST ID # = 494436
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

No. Read the sticky, but long story short, SMART isn't standardized and as such it doesn't attribute the values correctly. Somehow I doubt your SSD's been powered on for 18 billion years :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-20-2011, 07:01 PM
guitrein guitrein is offline
Registered User
guitrein's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 494438
guitrein Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
No. Read the sticky, but long story short, SMART isn't standardized and as such it doesn't attribute the values correctly. Somehow I doubt your SSD's been powered on for 18 billion years :)
Thank you very much for the answer. I've just update SMART Utility software and now it shows the following result:



It seems more realistic now. But I'm concern about the attribute "Raw Read Error Rate". It says 105 and labels its type as ''Pre-Fail". But anyway, maybe it is just what you said, no standard for SMART attributes.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-23-2011, 01:06 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 494900
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would not worry too much about it. Every SSD is designed different meaning the software can read multiple different things and can be completely wrong unless that software was designed for that exact SSD.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-23-2011, 01:09 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 494901
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Somehow I doubt your SSD's been powered on for 18 billion years :)
LOL. Smart doesnt work for SSDs yet indeed. It needs to be standardized at some point.
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-28-2011, 03:01 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 495642
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Somehow I doubt your SSD's been powered on for 18 billion years :)
God I feel old!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.