The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 220 votes, 4.98 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 06-02-2011, 10:30 AM
ricka ricka is offline
Registered User
ricka's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 505286
ricka Reputation: 10
Default

Hey guys, offering a data point and help if I can.

I loaded Windows 7 on my box a couple of days ago on one of these SSD's and I haven't seen any issues beyond it reporting that my drive is running at 128 degrees C when it's cool to the touch.

--Rick
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 06-04-2011, 01:20 AM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 505697
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricka View Post
Hey guys, offering a data point and help if I can.

I loaded Windows 7 on my box a couple of days ago on one of these SSD's and I haven't seen any issues beyond it reporting that my drive is running at 128 degrees C when it's cool to the touch.

--Rick
I'm assuming you're using a Force drive. Unfortunately firmware 2.0 of the Force series broke the code that interprets the temperature, so it is always reported incorrectly.

We as customers have it on our wish-list of things to fix with the next update, so hopefully it is addressed.
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 07-08-2011, 06:31 PM
riverspiv riverspiv is offline
Registered User
riverspiv's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 49
POST ID # = 511979
riverspiv Reputation: 10
Default

I just got a 40GB SSD. Attached is the screenshot from within Fedora 14. I read this thread regarding wacky SMART readings, but wanted to post here to see if the Read Error Rate is at all concerning...
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:56 PM
Sti4N Sti4N is offline
Registered User
Sti4N's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 524309
Sti4N Reputation: 10
Default

Mine is still going great :D
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 11-25-2011, 01:56 PM
garycal garycal is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 543478
garycal Reputation: 10
Default

I'm having a different S.M.A.R.T. issue, in that the S.M.A.R.T. data in CrystalDisk and HD Tune looks fine, but the bios and Windows 7 x64 are both telling me that S.M.A.R.T. is reporting that my CMFSSD-256GBG2D is bad. Bios does that "your drive is bad, click F1 to continue to boot" thing, and Windows throws a window warning me to immediately back up my data since my drive is about to fail. I understand all the discussion about utilities not understanding S.M.A.R.T. data since it isn't standardized, but I have to assume that at minimum the binary "drive good" vs "drive bad" bit is pretty standardized, and corsair's firmware is reporting that bit as "drive bad".

My question is whether there is some known glitch in the CMFSSD-256GBG2D version VBM19C1Q firmware that causes the drive to report bad in S.M.A.R.T. incorrectly, and if so, if there is a way to correct it. If crystaldisk or HD Tune had reported any bad data, I'd be pretty sure there was a problem, but the absence of any reported problem in those utilities makes me wonder if the S.M.A.R.T. error is itself in error.

Here are the screenshots from the S.M.A.R.T. data screens in the utilities:









I've asked for an RMA already, but if the drive is actually working fine, I'd rather reset the S.M.A.R.T. status (if possible). I've got almost two years left on the warranty, so if it is actually defective, it will have plenty of time under warranty to fail again and get RMA'd.

Also, I note that the older version of Crystaldisk appears to warn about the wear leveling count. Maybe that is the piece that is failing.

Here is the windows error message:


Here is the bios error message:

Last edited by garycal; 11-25-2011 at 03:58 PM. Reason: add note about wear leveling count, windows error message, bios error message
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 11-29-2011, 01:07 AM
LexaR LexaR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 544152
LexaR Reputation: 10
Default

Hello. I am need Corsair Nova 2 S.M.A.R.T. attributes description. Who knows?
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 02-22-2012, 03:29 AM
goretsky's Avatar
goretsky goretsky is offline
Registered User
goretsky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 563184
goretsky Reputation: 10
Send a message via MSN to goretsky Send a message via Yahoo to goretsky Send a message via Skype™ to goretsky
Default help interpreting ActiveSmart 2.9 results with F120GB2

Hello,

I have a Corsair CSSD-F120GB2 Force Series SSD (firmware v2.0) attached to an Asus P6T Deluxe V1 motherboard (X58 chipset, BIOS v2209) running Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate Edition x64 SP1. The SSD is attached to the motherboard via the ICH10R Southbridge (e.g. not the on-board Marvell controller).

I ran a trial version of Ariolic Software's Active SMART v2.9.0.716 against my system, and it reported the following incidents against the SSD in its log file:
Date;Time;Model;Serial;Type;Message
2012/02/20;22:37:00;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};INFO;"Monitoring started"
2012/02/21;01:41:13;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (01 - Raw Read Error Rate). Old value: 102, New value: 120"
2012/02/21;01:41:13;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (C3 - Hardware ECC recovered). Old value: 102, New value: 120"
2012/02/21;21:46:15;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (01 - Raw Read Error Rate). Old value: 120, New value: 100"
2012/02/21;21:46:15;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (C3 - Hardware ECC recovered). Old value: 120, New value: 100"
2012/02/21;21:52:22;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (01 - Raw Read Error Rate). Old value: 100, New value: 102"
2012/02/21;21:52:22;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (C3 - Hardware ECC recovered). Old value: 100, New value: 102"
2012/02/21;22:34:46;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (01 - Raw Read Error Rate). Old value: 102, New value: 104"
2012/02/21;22:34:46;Corsair CSSD-F120GB2;{redacted};ALERT;"SMART attribute changed: (C3 - Hardware ECC recovered). Old value: 102, New value: 104"
I am not particularly familiar with how S.M.A.R.T. data from an SSD is interpreted, and was wondering if someone could explain whether this report means an error condition has been flagged or whether this is normal behavior for the system. I did look through this message thread, but did not see any reference to the 01 and C3 flags.

Please note that I removed the SSD's serial number from the log file. If this information is needed, please let me know and I will re-post with it.

Also, any suggestions about what actions (if any) to take would be most welcome.

Thank you very much for the assistance.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 02-22-2012, 03:18 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 563277
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goretsky View Post
I am not particularly familiar with how S.M.A.R.T. data from an SSD is interpreted, and was wondering if someone could explain whether this report means an error condition has been flagged or whether this is normal behavior for the system. I did look through this message thread, but did not see any reference to the 01 and C3 flags.

Please note that I removed the SSD's serial number from the log file. If this information is needed, please let me know and I will re-post with it.

Also, any suggestions about what actions (if any) to take would be most welcome.

Thank you very much for the assistance.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky
You need to ask the people that make the software what their software is indicating.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:46 AM
goretsky's Avatar
goretsky goretsky is offline
Registered User
goretsky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 563414
goretsky Reputation: 10
Send a message via MSN to goretsky Send a message via Yahoo to goretsky Send a message via Skype™ to goretsky
Default

Hello,

Thank you for the prompt reply! I have contacted the developer and will let you know the results.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
You need to ask the people that make the software what their software is indicating.
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 03-22-2012, 04:01 AM
Nocturnal_ru Nocturnal_ru is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 568480
Nocturnal_ru Reputation: 10
Default

Hello. Yesterday I'be bought Corsair Force GT 90GB. I have installed win7 and some soft and then decide to estimate SMART of my ssd. I get some strange data:



Can you advice me, do I have to worry about C3, C9, CC?

Last edited by Nocturnal_ru; 03-22-2012 at 04:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:10 AM
Olegichgug Olegichgug is offline
Registered User
Olegichgug's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 569040
Olegichgug Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal_ru View Post
Hello. Yesterday I'be bought Corsair Force GT 90GB. I have installed win7 and some soft and then decide to estimate SMART of my ssd. I get some strange data:



Can you advice me, do I have to worry about C3, C9, CC?

Nocturnal_ru, I have the same situation. I have the drive "Corsair Force GT 120GB". When the turn on the PC, SMART in lines 01, C3, C9, CC shows zero. After about half an hour all four indicators are beginning to increase steadily. On the next start the PC all over again. Maybe this is normal?
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 05-05-2012, 02:11 PM
Rangga Rangga is offline
Registered User
Rangga's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 576559
Rangga Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same S.M.A.R.T. problem on my Corsair Force GT 120 GB, especially on 01, 09, C3, C9, CC which keeps rising every time i click refresh on both CrystalDiskInfo & PassMark DiskCheckup.

Screenshot : http://i48.tinypic.com/opvli.jpg

I also have posted on this thread : http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=106555
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 05-05-2012, 03:00 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 576567
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
In the last few weeks, I have spent quite a bit of time looking at the SMART data from a variety of Corsair SSDs...
...So what does all of this mean to end users? As stated above, we don't believe that the current SMART tools are completely accurate in their reporting. Our suggestion is to use performance as read by ATTO as a tool to determine if your drive is functioning properly...
i would ignore it.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 07-06-2012, 08:27 PM
dark_sat dark_sat is offline
Registered User
dark_sat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Santa Rosa, Brazil
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 588899
dark_sat Reputation: 10
Default

Hello guys.

Today I've installed Windows just to check my drive's health and do a benchmark (I have a MBP and use OS X Lion).

I've noticed that it has almos 1000 power cycles, but i rarely do reboot or turn off my computer (but it sleeps a lot).

Is the power cycles accurate for my drive? I though it didn't count when the computer is under sleep as a power cycle, since it goes under stand-by and is not turned off completly (I imagine). Correct if I'm wrong.

Also, power cycling this much can affect my drive's health?

Screenshot (click to enlarge):

Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 07-06-2012, 08:31 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 588900
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

Self-Monitoring, Analysis and Reporting Technology is stupid when it comes to SSDs ignore it. once ALL the manufacturers come to a single standard one day it may change.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.