The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-18-2009, 07:55 PM
dancane dancane is offline
Registered User
dancane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 417182
dancane Reputation: 10
Default Still having issues... After hours with Adaptec support

Team,

I;ve spent a few HOURS with Adaptec Sr. Support. They are **awesome** by the way. They want to see this work. Their most senior tech looked at a serious amount of logging I generated and came to the conclusion that the logs were the "cleanest" he has ever seen. Great, but that doesnt solve the performance problem.

I'm not upset at all - the drives are amazing, but I'd like to work with someone to figure out why performance drops off at larger sizes. I'm uploading ATTO benchmarks and the complete logs for my system.

RAMGUY *(or whomever) what's the next step to work on this? it's in everyones best interest to see what we need to do to make Win 7 - Adaptecs Blazing Fast 5805 - and 4 of your studly P128's sizzle.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:02 PM
dancane dancane is offline
Registered User
dancane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 417184
dancane Reputation: 10
Default

Links to ATTO Benchmarks:

http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0Aa...azN0cWc5&hl=en
http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0Aa...Z3F0cGZk&hl=en

Detailed System Specs:
http://docs.google.com/fileview?id=0...MGJlMzFi&hl=en



Link to support logs:
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:03 PM
dancane dancane is offline
Registered User
dancane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 417185
dancane Reputation: 10
Default Adaptec 5805 Logs

Logs Files (again, the Adaptec Support said these were the cleanest logs she'd ever seen)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Support.zip (47.1 KB, 163 views)
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:41 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 417193
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What was the cluster size for the raid and what did you set the allocation size to on the format?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 09-18-2009, 09:54 PM
dancane dancane is offline
Registered User
dancane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 417213
dancane Reputation: 10
Default Config (5th Attempt)

After a TON of reading I settled on 128k stripe and default allocation size. I have tried stripe sizes of 256 and 512 (see earlier in the thread). I can't remember what the default Win7 allocation size is since I've been horsing around with things for a month. :)



Logical device..................0
Logical device name.............PHOTON2
RAID level......................0
Data space......................476.549 GB
Parity space....................0 MB
Date created....................08/25/2009
Stripe size.....................128K
Interface type..................Serial ATA
State...........................Optimal
Read-cache mode.................Enabled
Write-cache mode................Enabled (write-back)
Write-cache setting.............Enabled (write-back)
Partitioned.....................Yes
Protected by hot spare..........No
Bootable........................Yes
Bad stripes.....................No
Power Status....................Disabled
Power State.....................Active
Reduce RPM timer................Never
Power off timer.................Never
Verify timer....................Never
Segment 0.......................Present: controller 1, connector 0, device 0, S/N 09300579-9810366
Segment 1.......................Present: controller 1, connector 0, device 1, S/N 09300579-9810395
Segment 2.......................Present: controller 1, connector 0, device 2, S/N 09300579-9810397
Segment 3.......................Present: controller 1, connector 1, device 0, S/N 09300579-9810386

....


Type............................Disk drive
Vendor..........................Unknown
Model...........................CORSAIR CMFSSD-1
Serial Number...................09300579-9810366
Firmware level..................VBM18C1Q
Reported channel................0
Reported SCSI device ID.........0
Interface type..................Serial ATA
Size............................119.242 GB
Negotiated transfer speed.......3.00 Gb/s
State...........................Optimal
S.M.A.R.T. error................No
Write-cache mode................Write back
Hardware errors.................0
Medium errors...................0
Parity errors...................0
Link failures...................0
Aborted commands................0
S.M.A.R.T. warnings.............0
Phy 0...........................3.00 Gb/s
Power State.....................Full rpm
Supported power states..........Full rpm, Powered off
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 09-18-2009, 10:01 PM
dancane dancane is offline
Registered User
dancane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 417215
dancane Reputation: 10
Default .. and when it doesnt stutter it SAILS

I hit a good patch and got sick (in a good way) benchmarks.. now do to get rid of the large file stutter...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CrystalDisk.jpg (67.1 KB, 226 views)
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 09-21-2009, 11:40 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 417443
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I have not ever seen a problem with the Samsung based drives with shuddering or stutters, I would suspect there is some other issue from what you have posted. What controller are you using and do you have all four drives setup as one Raid array?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 09-21-2009, 12:01 PM
dancane dancane is offline
Registered User
dancane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 417449
dancane Reputation: 10
Default Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I have not ever seen a problem with the Samsung based drives with shuddering or stutters, I would suspect there is some other issue from what you have posted. What controller are you using and do you have all four drives setup as one Raid array?
The setup is the same as described above (I know you are busy, so I'll repost it here)

Adaptec 5805 (Most current BIOS)
4 P128 in a RAID 0 Stripe
128k Stripe Size
Windows 7 RTM - Formatted allocation as "Default"

Again, if you can take a look at the earlier screen shots in the thread. Performance SIZZLES up to larger block sizes, then peters out.

Dan
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 09-21-2009, 01:56 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 417484
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Just to test the drives can you set up the drives one at a time on the MB S-ATA controller and you will need to delete the Raid array in the Adaptec controller and then Quick format the drives and run ATTO on them one at a time, lets make sure one of the drives is not causing this?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 09-21-2009, 03:51 PM
dancane dancane is offline
Registered User
dancane's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 417510
dancane Reputation: 10
Default .. I did before I began ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by dancane View Post
Ok team,

I've been using the first gen ******** (ack!) SSD's for a few months with some success, but after much research on the matter settled on my "real" upgrade to 4x Corsair P128's in RAID 0 running on an Adaptec 5805.

At first I built it as a secondary array off of a windows 7 install and ran some initial benchmarks. Everything looked peachy. So, I took the plunge and attempted to make it my primary OS target. Install went smooth.

It's only been 24 hours and I'm already seeing tremendous signs of stuttering. I'm sure its a configuration issue (me hopes), but I'm 12 hours into my 2nd reinstall and I can't get rid of the stutter.

Where I am now, is a clean Win 7 install. Updated the drivers on the Adaptec to the latest. I've disabled indexing.

When it runs - it runs GREAT ~1000Mb/sec when looking at 512k blocks. But as you can see I hit < 1Mb/sec and the whole system seems to hang.

h e l p

RG -

I already did before I had the problems. When it was NOT the system disk all was well. When I rebuilt it as the system drive It went to pot.

Some other changes - When i first built the array (same RAID 0, Adaptec,) it was Win7Beta not Win7RTM. It was also an earlier BIOS (I upgraded it to see if that resolved the problem.)

Besides that, the only difference was adding a "slow" 1.5 TB media drive to the adaptec controller on it's own channel. I'll TRY removing that.

Any other thoughts?

Dan
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:51 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 417625
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

For sure remove the other drive that is not part of the Raid to test and if that solves the issue I would work with Adeptec to try and resolve that.
But when you tested the drives one at a time what was the performance of all of the drives, did any of the show to slower than the others?
Also what is the firmware version printed on the drives labels?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.