The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2019, 11:42 PM
firefoxdude firefoxdude is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1008584
firefoxdude Reputation: 10
Default Power for an External Lighting node pro?

Hi,

I'm interested in powering some Corsair LEDs outside of my case.

Would the following power adapters be good enough to power an external lighting node pro? I only plan on using 4-6 strips for some additional desk lighting

Thanks

110v AC to DC 12v Power Supply with 4pin Molex (5000mA)
https://www.amazon.com/110v-Power-Su.../dp/B002TJNDU4

CRJ 4-Pin Male Molex to 15-Pin Female SATA Power 12" Sleeved Adapter Cable
https://www.amazon.com/CRJ-15-Pin-Fe...dp/B077PWL768/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2019, 12:49 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,246
POST ID # = 1008591
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Nope. The Molex power supply only provides the 12V rail. The NoPro needs only the 5V rail; it doesn't use the 12V rail at all.

Most of us use a small PSU just for it with a switched jumper.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2019, 03:05 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,876
POST ID # = 1008594
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Same here. I use an externally mounted pc psu with a switched pin jumper cable.. i also have a tplink smart plug in place so alexa can switch desk lighting on and off
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.