The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2018, 08:29 PM
almostcraig almostcraig is offline
Registered User
almostcraig's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 947338
almostcraig Reputation: 10
Question Future Vengeance RGB Lighting Support?

I just made the switch to iCue to see that Vengeance RGB is half supported by the new software. Lighting can be manually adjusted, but does not currently support the lighting link functionality nor does it work in Far Cry 5, this is a disappointment as RAM is almost the center of any build.

Are there any efforts to make Vengeance lighting functions work like other products in the future versions of iCue?

[Bonus bug - Timings settings for ram display no options and a blank box too, see screenshot]
Attached Images
File Type: png 2018-03-28 20_25_35-Corsair Utility Engine.png (2.15 MB, 410 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2018, 09:20 PM
RevolverHound RevolverHound is offline
Casual Gamer
RevolverHound's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 947346
RevolverHound Reputation: 10
Default

From what I understand, it'll more than likely make its way in a future build of iCUE, but nothing is certain at the moment, trust me I too was slightly disappointed that just the regular Vengeance LED ram supports Lighting Link.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2018, 10:22 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,446
POST ID # = 947353
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Vengeance RGB isn't capable of supporting our dynamic lighting effects because of hardware limitations due to the SMBus sadly. The interface can't keep up with the amount of data we require to have lighting play quickly and fluidly.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2018, 10:29 PM
gmoneda gmoneda is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 947354
gmoneda Reputation: 10
Default I wish

I am also very bummed that the vengeance memory (the largest part of my rgb platform investment) is not fully compatible with the rest of the rgb products. I understand the limitations of SPD memory access to change colors (not USB etc) This is why lighting link never worked with it. Someone posted feature request about at least instant lighting compatibility, but true sync is not supported by the architecture. I do wish it had been clearer on the RGB memory as it insinuates it is "linked" via the Corsair LINK software.

There is another product line in the boat but I can't recall it.

Overall I'm pleased with the line and the good comms in the forum from Corsair and community do a lot to help the mitigate the issues.

The Far cry animations and sequences are really a showcase for what is possible. IMHO You need to add the flag as a Icue effect.

Nice work
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2018, 10:42 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,446
POST ID # = 947356
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmoneda View Post
I am also very bummed that the vengeance memory (the largest part of my rgb platform investment) is not fully compatible with the rest of the rgb products. I understand the limitations of SPD memory access to change colors (not USB etc) This is why lighting link never worked with it. Someone posted feature request about at least instant lighting compatibility, but true sync is not supported by the architecture. I do wish it had been clearer on the RGB memory as it insinuates it is "linked" via the Corsair LINK software.

There is another product line in the boat but I can't recall it.

Overall I'm pleased with the line and the good comms in the forum from Corsair and community do a lot to help the mitigate the issues.

The Far cry animations and sequences are really a showcase for what is possible. IMHO You need to add the flag as a Icue effect.

Nice work
Thanks for the kind words. We're always looking into ways to improve performances.When Vengeance RGB was designed, it was before we did a lot of these lighting synchronization effects. Now that we understand there is a real demand for these complex sequences, we'll continue to research new solutions so we can provide what users like yourself desire.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2018, 10:44 PM
gmoneda gmoneda is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 947357
gmoneda Reputation: 10
Default

A good work around is if you use a notification trigger "Trigger all RGB LED's" it does change ALL colors including vengeance! So there maybe a way to at least get instant. If you set multiple colors layers for different temps and had a way to "change" the temp values I think you get at least "color change" lighting link update.

Using the vengeance as a visual temp monitor at least give is reason to not match the rest of the beauty. Even as a wortk around seeing them all the same color is glorious.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2018, 10:50 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,446
POST ID # = 947361
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

The problem is not all SMBus works the same way so if we were to implement a universal solution, it doesn't apply the same for everyone. Sadly, SMBus differs from motherboard vendors even with the same chipset in place.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2018, 12:22 AM
SkinUpMonkey SkinUpMonkey is offline
Registered User
SkinUpMonkey's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 947371
SkinUpMonkey Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The problem is not all SMBus works the same way so if we were to implement a universal solution, it doesn't apply the same for everyone. Sadly, SMBus differs from motherboard vendors even with the same chipset in place.
Is it still possible to use them with Asus Aura while Cue is running?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-29-2018, 01:05 AM
almostcraig almostcraig is offline
Registered User
almostcraig's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 947376
almostcraig Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
Thanks for the kind words. We're always looking into ways to improve performances.When Vengeance RGB was designed, it was before we did a lot of these lighting synchronization effects. Now that we understand there is a real demand for these complex sequences, we'll continue to research new solutions so we can provide what users like yourself desire.
Okay, so it's a hardware issue. Shoot. Hopefully we see a V2 for RGB Ram down the line that's designed with icue compatibility in mind. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
feature request, icue, rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.