The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2011, 08:07 AM
_scott _scott is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 535825
_scott Reputation: 10
Default 120GB Force 3 (Sudden Power State Change)

Hey All,

I'm wondering if this is a SSD problem. I did a quick scan via search and either overlooked or didn't find any information regarding this crash.

I was surfing the web a few minutes ago and my screen went completely blank and my monitor reported that it had lost a signal. My speakers also made the "power down popping sound". It seemed like the computer just suddenly went to sleep (fans still running and lights ons) and the only way to wake it up was to reboot the computer.

The only error in the logs that I could find was ...

The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.

Proc: AMD 3.4GHz (OC to 4.0GHz)
RAM: 8GB DDR2 1066
VID: eVGA 560ti (OC'd)
MB: Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
SSD: Corsair 120GB Force 3 w/ the latest Firmware.
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Anyone else have a problem like this? I don't want to immediately indict the SSD when this could be a video / PSU / OS issue.

Last edited by _scott; 10-19-2011 at 08:51 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-19-2011, 09:08 AM
FoLmEr FoLmEr is offline
Registered User
FoLmEr's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 294
POST ID # = 535833
FoLmEr Reputation: 10
Default

Could be anything from the description.

Did the SSD disappear from BIOS requiring a power cycle to reappear? If it didn't I wouldn't think it's the SF bug being at play here.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-19-2011, 09:27 AM
_scott _scott is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 535834
_scott Reputation: 10
Default

Nope, the computer booted just fine after I power cycled it and the SSD was listed and available. Good point. I'll start to investigate the other components that I listed and maybe tweak my OC.

Thanks again!

_scott
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-20-2011, 01:25 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 535998
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

It might be power saving features.

When the system goes to sleep and the fans and lights are still on this is S1 Sleep.

I would read the motherboard BIOS manual and adjust or turn off some power saving features.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.