The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-08-2008, 11:21 PM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375290
L4d Reputation: 10
Thumbs down Dominator fans

I am using the Dominator fans.
At ~2.4 volts it will boot with 3-4-3-9-22 CR T2. However once in Windows it restarts by itself.

I wonder about the voltage of my other ram; DDR1 400 2-3-2-5. It's voltage runs ~2.70! No fan. It has no problems, why does 2.4 on this newer ram (Dominator) with a massive heatsink have issues with .3 less volts?
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 11-09-2008, 12:04 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375299
L4d Reputation: 10
Default 4-4-4-12-22 CR T2 ~2.4 volts

Stable as of yet. Playing Warcraft3 Frozen Throne without hiccuping or freezing.

I don't agree with 2.4 volts at these clocks. What is a good voltage for them now? 2.1 volts? I will mess with them until it freezes, restarts or has errors.
SuperPi mod will still say errors and not respond but I can play games?
SuperPi mod had errors at 5-5-5-18-22 CR T2 1.8 Volt.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 11-09-2008, 12:07 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375300
L4d Reputation: 10
Default

Memory timings.jpg

Much slower than Synthohol.

Last edited by Wired; 11-09-2008 at 06:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 11-09-2008, 03:21 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 375324
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L4d View Post
[ATTACH]4506[/ATTACH

Much slower than Synthohol.
Of course it is. You have an AMD and they ARE MUCH slower than Intel.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 11-09-2008, 04:35 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375334
L4d Reputation: 10
Idea 1360

5-5-5-18-23 CR T2 ~2.37 volts I got ddr2 800 up to 1360 stable.
Lowered ht to 800 and cpu multiplier to 10.
I might have higher clock speeds with x2 64 6000+ 89 watt versus 5600+ 89 watt.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 11-09-2008, 05:24 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375336
L4d Reputation: 10
Default

SuperPi best time 1M.jpg

New OC.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 11-09-2008, 05:38 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375337
L4d Reputation: 10
Excited Tight timings higher oc!

I was able to tighten timings to 4-4-4-12-22 CR T2 and max at 234 fsb!
This will be my best OC so far.SuperPi best time 1M.jpg
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 11-09-2008, 06:05 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 375340
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

For your AMD system, that's quite a good clocking, both on the CPU/DRAM but also superpi.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:45 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375833
L4d Reputation: 10
Idea 2.352 volt max

My Foxconn A7DA-S can max voltage at +6 whatever. It reads 2.352 under the BIOS. So, I can OC with relaxed settings 5-5-5-15-22 at 2.352 volts and get 1360 for ddr2 800 ram or use 4-4-4-12-22 with 2.1 volts and under? Even CAS4 will OC around 1000.

I'm hoping to get another motherboard that can run 2.4 volts. If I do I'll post my results. Might get 1T CR too!
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 11-12-2008, 01:58 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 375834
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

My advice?

Sell that AMD board and cpu. Buy a Core 2 E5200 and a P5K motherboard. Clock that puppy up to 3.4 - 3.6Ghz.

Then you will see what speed really is, and it's cheap. Ramp that DRAM up to it's true speed and have a machine that can really use it.

E5200 =$82.99
P5K-E Pro =84.99

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131278

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116072

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JcUqHZdviEA
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (45.2 KB, 188 views)

Last edited by DerekT; 11-12-2008 at 02:16 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 11-12-2008, 04:41 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375845
L4d Reputation: 10
Default 4-4-4-9-22 CR2T 2.1 volts stable NO OC

Thanks all for your time.
I use these settings for now.

My plan with this build is 4 gigs of DDR2 c5 1066 with 2.1 volts and a Phenom 9950BE once prices go down on the processor. This board is best for overclocking the Phenoms I read. I have a Radeon 3470 on the way. I read about the 3 way Hybrid Crossfire possiblity for the 790GX. So far I believe there is no support from AMD yet. Only 1 3470 at the moment. 2 would be cool!

I'm looking for possibly a PCI-E 2.0 x1 slot motherboard for this 5600+ Windsor and a 4870 1gb toxic (That new vapor heatsink technology is awesome, if they make one) for my roommate to play WoW.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 11-12-2008, 04:46 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375846
L4d Reputation: 10
Default Unbelievable

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekT View Post
My advice?

Sell that AMD board and cpu. Buy a Core 2 E5200 and a P5K motherboard. Clock that puppy up to 3.4 - 3.6Ghz.

Then you will see what speed really is, and it's cheap. Ramp that DRAM up to it's true speed and have a machine that can really use it.

E5200 =$82.99
P5K-E Pro =84.99

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131278

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116072

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JcUqHZdviEA
How is a 2.5ghz Intel twice as fast to AMD 2.8ghz with superPI??
It's like the days of Athlon xp!
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 11-12-2008, 06:09 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,168
POST ID # = 375847
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L4d View Post
How is a 2.5ghz Intel twice as fast to AMD 2.8ghz with superPI??
It's like the days of Athlon xp!
There is no reason for anyone to be purchasing AMD right now unless they do not want to go with the Intel processors since they wish to support the underdog.

http://www.behardware.com/articles/6...-duo-test.html

You can buy a low end 45nm 5200 with 2MB Cache and pump up the jam.

For cheap. Then that DRAM will be spending more time working than it is now. :)

Xeon 3110 @ 4.0Ghz with 8GB @ 1000Mhz and 11.0 Second SuperPi.


Last edited by DerekT; 11-12-2008 at 06:13 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 11-13-2008, 11:16 AM
L4d L4d is offline
Registered User
L4d's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 75
POST ID # = 375950
L4d Reputation: 10
Default 4-4-3-9-22 cr t2

Beaten like a dead horse.
I cannot get 3 cas stable.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 11-13-2008, 04:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 375990
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Can you tell me our modules part# (How To Read the Memory Label)?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.