The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2007, 10:56 AM
n1smo n1smo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 303316
n1smo Reputation: 10
Default XMS2 PC2 8500 (2X1gb) & Asus P5W DH Deluxe

Hi There,

I'm sorry if this question has been asked before.... I did a quick search on the forums but i couldn't see the answer.

I've been running the PC2 8500 memory with the P5W DH deluxe at the Corsair tested settings (1066MHz @ 5-5-5-15 @ 2.2V). This has been running stabily (in terms of running applications and OS, but I haven't ever run memtest) for just under a year. A few days ago, however, both memory modules inexplicably died during a shutdown-restart cycle (where I had to remove the power cable from the PC). Both modules are now completely dead.

My first guest was that the culprit was the power supply (I was using a 600W Akasa supply), so I have swapped in another (Thermaltake Toughpower 600W).

My question is this:

Was this a problem with the memory (ie, a bad pair of modules), or was it an issue with the memory/motherboard compatibility?

The BIOS allows me to set the memory to this speed, and 2.2V, so I assume that it is capable of running this setup. Shall I purchase the same memory and use the same settings, or will this just cause the memory to be destroyed/damaged again? Has the XMS2 PC28500 been tested by Corsair on this particular MB?

Thanks in advance for your help, and I'm sorry again if this has been asked before.

Cheers,

Tom

Last edited by n1smo; 07-23-2007 at 11:06 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:42 PM
n1smo n1smo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 303338
n1smo Reputation: 10
Default update

Ok, I tried going ahead with the 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15, 2.2V setup.

Boots up fine from the bios into windows, and everything seems to be running fine. However, if I restart the PC i get a warning message:

'Overclock or overvoltage failure' and I need to go back into the BIOS in reduce the speed/voltage.

Currently I'm running at 800Mhz with the auto-setting for the other settings. Everything fine, no problems in startup.

I guess the MB just doesn't like this speed.

Does anyone know if this has been changed in a BIOS update?

Cheers,

Tom
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-23-2007, 05:36 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 303394
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

This MB will not support 1066 memory with Default CPU speeds the fastest we got this MB to was about 1030 MHz on the memory with over clocking the CPU.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.