The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2007, 01:06 PM
Earnman Earnman is offline
Registered User
Earnman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 302670
Earnman Reputation: 10
Default Asus P4P800 & CMX512-3200C2

I recently swapped memory on my Asus P4P800-E Deluxe board from 2 512mb sticks of Kingston KVR400 (value ram) to 2 512mb sticks of Corsair XMS CMX512-3200C2 (v5.1).

The BIOS is set to auto for memory (which is probably the root of my issue).

The issue...Everest reports nearly identical performance from both brands of memory and it identifies the Corsair as CL3 when it should be CL2. In order to maximize performance of the Corsair memory, should I be manually setting the BIOS timings/volts/etc? If so, what is recommended? Is it typical of Corsair memory to require manual BIOS settings?

If I decide to overclock the CPU...how will this affect the memory settings?

Many thanks for any and all input and advice.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-18-2007, 01:09 PM
Earnman Earnman is offline
Registered User
Earnman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 302872
Earnman Reputation: 10
Default

No opinions yet eh?

Well, after digging into this situation a bit, I've discovered a few things. First, i'm not a memory expert by any stretch of the imagination; second, this memory is tested to 2-3-3-6; and third, in one of the stickys I found 'testing parameters' for a different Asus board, but which I assume to be the settings I should use:

SDRAM Bank cycle time (or tRAS): 6
SDRAM Bank Interleave: 4
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 3
SDRAM RAS-to-CAS Delay (rRCD): 3
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2

So in theory I should just make my BIOS settings match those above.

Problem is...my BIOS doesn't have quite the same descriptions so I'm a bit confused as to what goes where. Can anyone enlighten me?

My BIOS entries and available choices:
DRAM CAS# Latency (2, 2.5, 3)
DRAM RAS# Precharge (4, 3, 2)
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay (4, 3, 2)
DRAM Precharge Delay (8, 7, 6, 5)
DRAM Burst Length (4, 8)

Memory Acceleration Mode (auto, enabled)
DRAM Idle Timer (auto, 64T, 16T, 8T, 0T, infinite)
DRAM Refresh Rate (auto, 64 usec, 7.8 usec, 15.6 usec)

Anyone wanna take a stab at this?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-18-2007, 08:18 PM
Earnman Earnman is offline
Registered User
Earnman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 302936
Earnman Reputation: 10
Default

RAM GUY...can I get your input...please?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-18-2007, 08:23 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 302940
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please follow the link in my signature for the tested setting and set the Voltage to 2.75 Volts.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-18-2007, 08:37 PM
Earnman Earnman is offline
Registered User
Earnman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 302944
Earnman Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks RAM GUY, but the info from your sig link is the very same info I quoted in my second post, which I obviously already have.

The problem is...as previously stated...I don't know which of those settings correspond to what's in my BIOS. Can you help with some interpretation please? I'm not a memory expert and I don't understand the terms.

These are the 'tested settings' you refer to:
SDRAM Bank cycle time (or tRAS): 6
SDRAM Bank Interleave: 4
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 3
SDRAM RAS-to-CAS Delay (rRCD): 3
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2

And these are the entries available in my BIOS:
DRAM CAS# Latency (2, 2.5, 3)
DRAM RAS# Precharge (4, 3, 2)
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay (4, 3, 2)
DRAM Precharge Delay (8, 7, 6, 5)
DRAM Burst Length (4, 8)
Memory Acceleration Mode (auto, enabled)
DRAM Idle Timer (auto, 64T, 16T, 8T, 0T, infinite)
DRAM Refresh Rate (auto, 64 usec, 7.8 usec, 15.6 usec)

What goes where?

Last edited by Earnman; 07-19-2007 at 01:43 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-19-2007, 03:27 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 303024
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

In Jumper Free set the memory Voltage to 2.75 Volts then set these settings:
Performance Mode: Auto
DRAM CAS# Latency (2)
DRAM RAS# Precharge (3)
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay (3)
DRAM Precharge Delay (6)
DRAM Burst Length (Default or 4)
Memory Acceleration Mode (auto)
DRAM Idle Timer (auto)
DRAM Refresh Rate (auto)
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-19-2007, 04:19 PM
Earnman Earnman is offline
Registered User
Earnman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 303031
Earnman Reputation: 10
Default

Perfect! I'll try those tonight!

THANKS!!!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-19-2007, 05:04 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 303045
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Please let me know how you make out!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:02 PM
Earnman Earnman is offline
Registered User
Earnman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 303100
Earnman Reputation: 10
Default

I'm a little surprised and disappointed that there doesn't seem to be any difference between my 'cheap' ram on auto and the Corsair with custom settings.

Using Everest Home edition, I ran a benchmark test on the 'cheap' ram, the Corsair set to auto, and the Corsair with custom settings and 2.75v.

'cheap', auto:
read: 5310
write: 1864
latency: 114.8

Corsair, auto:
read: 5276
write: 1863
latency: 115.0

Corsair, custom:
read: 5267
write: 1921
latency: 115.6

Unless something else is causing these results, the performance of the XMS memory, according to Everest, is no different than the 'cheap' stuff. Unless...hmmmm...maybe what I thought was 'cheap' memory, might actually be as good as the Corsair!

Any thoughts?

Last edited by Earnman; 07-19-2007 at 11:05 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-20-2007, 04:25 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 303177
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Did you load setup defaults before you made the changes in the BIOS?
And I would check that with www.memtest.org and see if there is any difference they also provide a memory benchmark.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.