The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2019, 05:46 AM
Sprinkaloid Sprinkaloid is offline
Registered User
Sprinkaloid's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1014258
Sprinkaloid Reputation: 10
Default Hydro X + 9 ML120 Fans W/ CoPro help

I've been working on trying the new Hydro X series Pump/res and GPU block. I have 9 ML120 Fans with the Pump/res and GPU block, attempting to use 1 CoPro + 2 LED fan hubs. I hadn't planned on using the Hydro X water cooling stuff until afterwards which has lead me to this, haha. I'm looking for help on how I can configure this, as I don't believe I can daisy chain the pump/res into the GPU and then into an RGB Hub and since they're not using 4-pins like the fans I can't plug them into the RGB hubs directly either.

I have access to the following:
  • CoPro
  • RGB hub x 3
  • NoPro x 3

I am currently using 3 PWM Y splitters for the fans on the CoPro, realizing I may actually need a 4th due to the Pump/res connecting to the #6 on the Copro. I haven't looked into the whether CoPro can handle that many connections yet either. Do I need a second CoPro? can I somehow run the Pump/res and GPU Daisy off of a NoPro through the CoPro USB header?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

I've looked at all of Zotty's content in this post,
https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...73880&t=173880

I've been referencing this diagram the most due to the 9 fan layout.



Thanks in advance for any and all assistance,
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2019, 06:16 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,087
POST ID # = 1014260
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi bud... beware,, i wouldnt go over 9 fans in total on the copro and never more than 2 on a header.. i personally wont go over 8

You could use a PWM Repeater hub? such as the one from the Corsair 678c

https://www.corsair.com/uk/en/Catego...r/p/CC-8900355

you could also use Pirate Dog Techs RGB hub splitters so you could run 2 hubs off of one channel.

as seen used in this Diagram



that would open up another channel on your commander pro for the Hydro X RGB

Last edited by Zotty; 08-10-2019 at 06:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2019, 01:49 PM
Sprinkaloid Sprinkaloid is offline
Registered User
Sprinkaloid's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1014286
Sprinkaloid Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Zotty,

Thanks for the swift reply, sorry for my slow response, sadly today is a work day.

The PWM repeater looks like an amazing idea that I'm sad I didn't even think of, haha.

Regarding the RGB Splitter though, would it work/be better just to wire up a NoPro I have on hand through the CoPro? The RGB splitter cable is $20 (after shipping w/o tax) through Pirate Dogs store, which unfortunately doesn't seem quite like a purchase I can justify in this instance for a single RGB splitter cable if I have something on hand that can resolve it.

Thanks,
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2019, 01:58 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,087
POST ID # = 1014287
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Yes you could do that dude. Just plug it in to one of the usb headers on the commander pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2019, 02:11 PM
Sprinkaloid Sprinkaloid is offline
Registered User
Sprinkaloid's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1014288
Sprinkaloid Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Zotty,

I've never used a NoPro before, thanks for confirmation on that.

Thanks for the swift reply again,
Allen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2019, 05:53 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,087
POST ID # = 1014306
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

No Worries man.. Good Luck on your quest
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.