The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2017, 09:49 PM
Slashee the Cow's Avatar
Slashee the Cow Slashee the Cow is offline
Beefy Miracle
Slashee the Cow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 913743
Slashee the Cow Reputation: 10
Default [solved] K95 RGB lights up but keys do nothing, not recognised by CUE

Solved: Toasted pointed out below that it was in demo mode (which I didn't even know it had) and how to set it back to normal: Hold ESC while plugging it in.

So last night my K95 RGB was working fine, this morning I installed a new SSD (which is probably unrelated) but I turned my computer back on and my K95 RGB isn't working. It lights up but I couldn't access the BIOS and it's not recognised by Windows (in that the keys continue to do nothing) and it's not recognised by CUE (updated to the latest version). Seems to be switching through random lighting patterns (none of which I set). Num lock/caps lock/scroll light lights aren't on and pressing their respective keys doesn't do anything. Pressing the brightness or Windows key lock buttons also do nothing.
  • Tried unplugging it and plugging it into a different USB 3 port on the back, a USB 3 port on the front, and a pair of USB 2 ports on the front, same thing.
  • Tried plugging it into the USB 3 port on my Surface Pro 2, same thing,
  • Tried plugging it into a USB 3 port on my old gaming laptop (Dell XPS L1702X), same thing.
  • Tried switching the BIOS/polling rate switch to different settings (including BIOS), didn't seem to do anything.

Edit: Tried connecting through a USB 3 hub connected to my main PC - the board receives power and lights up but the LEDs on the hub indicating the connected device is communicating with the PC don't illuminate.

System specs:
Motherboard: ASUS Strix Z270F Gaming (BIOS 0906)
CPU: Intel Core i7 7700K @ stock clocks
Memory: 2x Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 8GB (CMU16GX4M2C3200C16)
GPUs: 1x GeForce GTX 1080ti (MSI Gaming X), 1x GeForce GTX 780ti (ASUS DirectCU II), both at stock clocks, latest drivers
OS: Windows 10 Pro x64 1703
Storage: 250GB Samsung Evo 850 SATA SSD (main system drive), 250GB Samsung Evo 960 NVMe M.2 SSD (just installed, not in use), 4x Seagate Barracude 4TB HDDs (in RAID 5)
Keyboard: Korsair K95 RGB (red switches) - (currently typing this on my old Roccat Isku)
Mouse: Logitech G700

(If I'm forgetting anything in these specs - let me know and I'll update it)

Last edited by Slashee the Cow; 07-29-2017 at 09:51 AM. Reason: Solved!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-29-2017, 03:59 AM
Comet ☄'s Avatar
Comet ☄ Comet ☄ is offline
Witch
Comet ☄'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California
Posts: 877
POST ID # = 913761
Comet ☄ Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Comet ☄
Default

Explicitly set CUE in advanced (or basic) mode, and turn off CUE SDK if you are not using it.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-29-2017, 04:38 AM
Slashee the Cow's Avatar
Slashee the Cow Slashee the Cow is offline
Beefy Miracle
Slashee the Cow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 913766
Slashee the Cow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comet ☄ View Post
Explicitly set CUE in advanced (or basic) mode, and turn off CUE SDK if you are not using it.
No difference. CUE (and Windows) still don't detect any devices connected and input from the keyboard still doesn't work (nor does things which should only affect the keyboard, like the brightness button or M buttons), it just lights up and cycles through the built in lighting schemes (Rainbow wave, mostly red with G keys WASD and arrows white, mostly white with G keys QWERDF red, and letters/G keys blue with everything else white).
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-29-2017, 09:28 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 913803
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Sounds like demo mode.

To reset the keyboard, unplug it, hold the ESC key down while plugging it back in.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-29-2017, 09:49 AM
Slashee the Cow's Avatar
Slashee the Cow Slashee the Cow is offline
Beefy Miracle
Slashee the Cow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 913813
Slashee the Cow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Sounds like demo mode.

To reset the keyboard, unplug it, hold the ESC key down while plugging it back in.
That was it! A zillion thanks to you!

Just out of curiousity, any idea how it would have gotten into demo mode in the first place?

Last edited by Slashee the Cow; 07-29-2017 at 09:51 AM. Reason: removed line break that somehow got in there
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-30-2017, 09:29 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 913956
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

If i recall correctly, Demo mode will activate when the device receives power but no USB enumeration.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.