The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2017, 04:44 PM
-)-MAILMAN- -)-MAILMAN- is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 898578
-)-MAILMAN- Reputation: 10
Unhappy Created profiles being completely deleted with no user input

At random times when I right click on the systray icon and selcet to bring the CUE software to the foreground I find that all of the profiles that I created and saved have disappeared/been deleted with no input from me.

Strafe RGB Keybord
Void RGB Headphones
Windows 7 64 Bit

This is the only program that has this problem. This has happened since the lastest CUE update.

Any explanation or fixes for this problem?

It acts like CUE resets itself randomly to initial settings. It even unchecks the box to only show devices connected.

Last edited by -)-MAILMAN-; 04-08-2017 at 04:56 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-09-2017, 10:58 AM
R1031 R1031 is offline
Registered User
R1031's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 898647
R1031 Reputation: 10
Default

Same with me, happen today my lighting profile just went away. This new CUE is so buggy. I want the old one back.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-10-2017, 08:19 AM
vhexs's Avatar
vhexs vhexs is offline
Custom User Title
vhexs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: England
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 898753
vhexs Reputation: 12
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by -)-MAILMAN- View Post
At random times when I right click on the systray icon and selcet to bring the CUE software to the foreground I find that all of the profiles that I created and saved have disappeared/been deleted with no input from me.

Strafe RGB Keybord
Void RGB Headphones
Windows 7 64 Bit

This is the only program that has this problem. This has happened since the lastest CUE update.

Any explanation or fixes for this problem?

It acts like CUE resets itself randomly to initial settings. It even unchecks the box to only show devices connected.
Has your computer bluescreened at all between setting up profiles and them being deleted? Mine does the same sometimes, and usually (not always) it happens after a BSOD.

Next time you set up profiles, close CUE completely (right-click systray icon -> Quit) then restart it. I've heard that, for some reason, CUE won't save profiles properly until it's been restarted like that. I also highly recommend exporting all your profiles to a folder (I keep mine under "Documents\CUE Profiles"). It's a long and tedious process, and I wish they'd add a "Bulk Export/Import" feature, but if your profiles get deleted again at least you'll have a backup.

The software is still terrible on anything less than perfect machines. It needs rewriting from scratch without the "gamer"-style UI (which takes FOREVER to load on my sh*tbox).
__________________
I do stuff.

Discord

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-06-2017, 12:53 PM
-)-MAILMAN- -)-MAILMAN- is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Maine
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 902211
-)-MAILMAN- Reputation: 10
Default

No my computer did not blue screen. CUE HAS DELETED THE DEFAULT PROFILE AND ONE OTHER PROFILE.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-06-2017, 01:22 PM
vhexs's Avatar
vhexs vhexs is offline
Custom User Title
vhexs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: England
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 902213
vhexs Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -)-MAILMAN- View Post
No my computer did not blue screen. CUE HAS DELETED THE DEFAULT PROFILE AND ONE OTHER PROFILE.
Yeah, it does that. There have been numerous complaints on the forum already and no one knows any way around the issue. I wrote a script that I run after I set up new profiles or modify my current ones - it has options to backup and restore. If you'd like it I can put it on Github and send it to you, though I'll be rewriting it with multiple file support soon.

Corsair really need to hire some competent developers. I really hope CUE is improved by the time I buy my K95.
__________________
I do stuff.

Discord

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-09-2017, 09:37 AM
Hyncharas's Avatar
Hyncharas Hyncharas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 118
POST ID # = 902517
Hyncharas Reputation: 12
Default

I, for one, would like your script to backup the file, given Corsair clearly don't want to provide the feature.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-09-2017, 10:13 AM
vhexs's Avatar
vhexs vhexs is offline
Custom User Title
vhexs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: England
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 902540
vhexs Reputation: 12
Default

I've uploaded it to Pastebin, rather than GitHub as it's easier to do it that way. I'm currently working on a new version with more features, such as multiple backups and a proper GUI, but it may be a while before that's finished.

Link to the script: https://pastebin.com/HCSW8WzB
Feel free to modify it to your liking - it's written in Batch.

If you're restoring profiles from it, make sure you close CUE completely first (either right-click the statusbar icon and Quit, or go into Task Manager and force close it).
__________________
I do stuff.

Discord

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-09-2017, 01:17 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,454
POST ID # = 902578
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

The moment anyone realizes they lost their profiles, send me the CUE logs (via PM) and I'll pass it to our devs for review.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-09-2017, 01:37 PM
vhexs's Avatar
vhexs vhexs is offline
Custom User Title
vhexs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: England
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 902583
vhexs Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The moment anyone realizes they lost their profiles, send me the CUE logs (via PM) and I'll pass it to our devs for review.
Could you also pass on the message to fix the Check for update button?

Where do we find CUE's logs?
__________________
I do stuff.

Discord

Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-09-2017, 02:05 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,454
POST ID # = 902584
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vhexs View Post
Could you also pass on the message to fix the Check for update button?

Where do we find CUE's logs?
Its already fixed in 2.13. I uploaded it yesterday.

Logs are here: %Appdata%/local/Corsair/CUE/logs
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-11-2017, 03:37 PM
vhexs's Avatar
vhexs vhexs is offline
Custom User Title
vhexs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: England
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 902838
vhexs Reputation: 12
Default

Default profile just got deleted out of nowhere, and my profile folder got deleted too (profiles are still there, just in the wrong order).

Logs

- 11/05/17: https://pastebin.com/7qisQ5CH - Booting in the morning.
- 13/05/17: https://pastebin.com/S7aLXvfD - Booting in the morning.
- 13/05/17: https://pastebin.com/GfuTiQJu - After rebooting from Arch Linux.
- 14/05/17: https://pastebin.com/j8N1eyAK - Cold boot, Media profile randomly got deleted... but everything else is fine. What is going on?

I'll add more logs when (not if) it happens again.
__________________
I do stuff.

Discord


Last edited by vhexs; 05-14-2017 at 02:41 PM. Reason: added more.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-13-2017, 07:42 AM
R1031 R1031 is offline
Registered User
R1031's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 903029
R1031 Reputation: 10
Default

Same with me, I've report it a few months ago.

Something to think about for the devs, yesterday I was trying to run a prog from desktop and it kept being deleted same as my profile. I found Avast AV was doing it, I added that prog to exclusions and it run fine, today the same with my profile and even library gone. I added to Avast "D:\Program Files (x86)\Corsair\Corsair Utility Engine\CUE.exe" to test but this may be whats going on.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-13-2017, 07:50 AM
vhexs's Avatar
vhexs vhexs is offline
Custom User Title
vhexs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: England
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 903031
vhexs Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R1031 View Post
Same with me, I've report it a few months ago.

Something to think about for the devs, yesterday I was trying to run a prog from desktop and it kept being deleted same as my profile. I found Avast AV was doing it, I added that prog to exclusions and it run fine, today the same with my profile and even library gone. I added to Avast "D:\Program Files (x86)\Corsair\Corsair Utility Engine\CUE.exe" to test but this may be whats going on.
It's not, unless Windows Defender touches CUE's files too. I don't run antivirus on my PC, only the stock windows stuff.
__________________
I do stuff.

Discord

Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-13-2017, 08:04 AM
vhexs's Avatar
vhexs vhexs is offline
Custom User Title
vhexs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: England
Posts: 46
POST ID # = 903035
vhexs Reputation: 12
Post

I've posted another log from this morning - the time is off by about -12 hours as my PC clock doesn't work while it's powered off.

CUE decided to delete my profile folder (called "Games") and jumble the order of my profiles (however it didn't seem to delete any actual profiles this time), AND for some reason it keeps running my Media profile on boot.

Screenshot today: http://i.imgur.com/Obr5X0E.jpg
Screenshot of my backup: http://i.imgur.com/Vq3ygrW.jpg

This is getting more frustrating by the day. Hopefully the logs help in fixing this.
__________________
I do stuff.

Discord

Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-02-2017, 07:35 AM
QuiKS1lv3R QuiKS1lv3R is offline
Registered User
QuiKS1lv3R's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 921873
QuiKS1lv3R Reputation: 10
Default

I have just booted my PC and all of my profiles have gone and currently my keyboard, mouse and mouse pad are all in rainbow spiral mode which I've never used :/

I have just PM'd James my logs
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.